Trinity College vs. Northern Illinois
Deciding between Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences and Northern Illinois University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences
Northern Illinois University
-
Overview
- Trinity College
- Northern Illinois
- Location
-
Trinity College Rock Island, IL
-
Northern Illinois Dekalb, IL
-
-
- Setting
-
Trinity College Small City
-
Northern Illinois Small Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Trinity College 65
-
Northern Illinois 15,414
-
-
- Type
-
Trinity College Private 4 Year
-
Northern Illinois Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois #498
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Trinity College -
-
Northern Illinois -
-
-
- Status
-
Trinity College Non-profit
-
Northern Illinois Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Trinity College trinitycollegeqc.edu
-
Northern Illinois niu.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois
-
-
-
Cost
- Trinity College
- Northern Illinois
- Tuition (In State)
-
Trinity College $24,989
-
Northern Illinois $13,248
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Trinity College $24,989
-
Northern Illinois $13,248
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Trinity College $8,256
-
Northern Illinois $14,160
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Trinity College -
-
Northern Illinois $14,243
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Trinity College $0
-
Northern Illinois $14,387
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Trinity College 0%
-
Northern Illinois 98%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Trinity College
- Northern Illinois
- Applied
-
Trinity College -
-
Northern Illinois 23,651
-
-
- Admitted
-
Trinity College -
-
Northern Illinois 16,505
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois 69.8%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois 12.1%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois 1060
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois 22
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Trinity College 3.42
-
Northern Illinois 3.3
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Trinity College B+
-
Northern Illinois B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Trinity College Unavailable
-
Northern Illinois Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois Low
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois 19/25
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois 940/1170
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Trinity College Not reported
-
Northern Illinois Test-free
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Trinity College
-
Northern Illinois Aug 1, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- Trinity College
- Northern Illinois
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Trinity College 3:1
-
Northern Illinois 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Trinity College
- Health Professions (100%)
-
Northern Illinois
- Business (18%)
- Health Professions (15%)
- Social Sciences (11%)
- Education (9%)
- Communication (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Trinity College
- Northern Illinois
- Graduation Rate
-
Trinity College -
-
Northern Illinois 56%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Trinity College $47,300
-
Northern Illinois $47,600
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Trinity College 78%
-
Northern Illinois 61%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Trinity College $19,500
-
Northern Illinois $23,859
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Trinity College $201
-
Northern Illinois $246
-
-
-
Diversity
- Trinity College
- Northern Illinois
- % Men
-
Trinity College 18%
-
Northern Illinois 45%
-
-
- % Women
-
Trinity College 82%
-
Northern Illinois 55%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Trinity College Low
-
Northern Illinois High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Trinity College No
-
Northern Illinois No
-
-
- % White
-
Trinity College 82%
-
Northern Illinois 57%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Trinity College 2%
-
Northern Illinois 5%
-
-
- % Black
-
Trinity College 4%
-
Northern Illinois 16%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Trinity College 6%
-
Northern Illinois 15%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Trinity College 0%
-
Northern Illinois 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Trinity College 0%
-
Northern Illinois 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Trinity College 5%
-
Northern Illinois 3%
-
-
- % International
-
Trinity College 0%
-
Northern Illinois 2%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Trinity College 1%
-
Northern Illinois 1%
-
-
-
Students
- Trinity College
- Northern Illinois
- % In-State
-
Trinity College -
-
Northern Illinois 91%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Trinity College -
-
Northern Illinois 7%
-
-
-
Campus
- Trinity College
- Northern Illinois
- Campus Housing
-
Trinity College No
-
Northern Illinois Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Trinity College No
-
Northern Illinois No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Trinity College No
-
Northern Illinois Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Trinity College No
-
Northern Illinois No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Trinity College Yes
-
Northern Illinois Yes
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences in Rock Island, IL with Northern Illinois University in Dekalb, IL on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Northern Illinois University is larger than Trinity College based on total student enrollment (15,414 students vs. 65 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is located in Rock Island, IL (Small City setting); Northern Illinois University is in Dekalb, IL (Small Suburban setting).
- Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Northern Illinois University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences 3:1; Northern Illinois University 15:1.
Trinity College vs. Northern Illinois Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Trinity College or Northern Illinois? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences are 41.7% lower than at Northern Illinois University ($8,256 vs. $14,160).
- Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is 88.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than Northern Illinois (about $11,741 more per year; $24,989.00 vs. $13,248.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 88.6% higher at Trinity College than at Northern Illinois University (about $11,741 more per year; $24,989.00 vs. $13,248.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Northern Illinois University than at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences (98% vs. 0%).
Trinity College vs. Northern Illinois Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Trinity College or Northern Illinois? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Northern Illinois and Trinity College.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNorthern Illinois University 940/1170.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNorthern Illinois University 19/25.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Trinity College - Not reported; Northern Illinois - Test-free.
- Typical fall application deadline: Northern Illinois Aug 1, 2027.
- Accepted freshman Trinity College students have a 0.12 point higher average high school GPA (3.42) than students at Northern Illinois (3.3).
Trinity College vs. Northern Illinois Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Trinity College and Northern Illinois? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Graduates from Northern Illinois University earn a median of about $300 more per year than Trinity College graduates about ten years after starting college ($47,600 vs. $47,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences graduates have a $4,359 lower median loan debt than Northern Illinois graduates ($19,500 vs. $23,859).
- Among borrowers, Trinity College graduates have an estimated $45 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Northern Illinois graduates ($201 vs. $246).
- More Trinity College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Northern Illinois students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 61%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.