Trinity College vs. Mount Mercy College

Deciding between Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences and Mount Mercy University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Mount Mercy University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Trinity College Rock Island, IL
  • Mount Mercy College Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Setting
  • Trinity College Small City
  • Mount Mercy College Midsize City
  • Total enrollment
  • Trinity College 65
  • Mount Mercy College 1,417
  • Type
  • Trinity College Private 4 Year
  • Mount Mercy College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Trinity College -
  • Mount Mercy College Roman Catholic
  • Status
  • Trinity College Non-profit
  • Mount Mercy College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Trinity College $24,989
  • Mount Mercy College $40,878
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Trinity College $24,989
  • Mount Mercy College $40,878
  • Room & Board
  • Trinity College $8,256
  • Mount Mercy College $11,600
  • Average Net Price
  • Trinity College -
  • Mount Mercy College $24,347
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Trinity College $0
  • Mount Mercy College $30,735
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Mount Mercy College 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Trinity College -
  • Mount Mercy College 1,041
  • Admitted
  • Trinity College -
  • Mount Mercy College 859
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College 82.5%
  • Enrolled
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College 27.9%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Typical ACT score
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Average High School GPA
  • Trinity College 3.42
  • Mount Mercy College 3.5
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Trinity College B+
  • Mount Mercy College A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Trinity College Unavailable
  • Mount Mercy College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College
  • ACT Range
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College
  • SAT Range
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Trinity College Not reported
  • Mount Mercy College Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Trinity College
  • Mount Mercy College Aug 15, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Trinity College 3:1
  • Mount Mercy College 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Trinity College
    • Health Professions (100%)
  • Mount Mercy College
    • Business (44%)
    • Health Professions (22%)
    • Education (10%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
    • Psychology (4%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Trinity College -
  • Mount Mercy College 60%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Trinity College $47,300
  • Mount Mercy College $45,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Trinity College 78%
  • Mount Mercy College 71%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Trinity College $19,500
  • Mount Mercy College $22,250
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Trinity College $201
  • Mount Mercy College $230
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Trinity College 18%
  • Mount Mercy College 39%
  • % Women
  • Trinity College 82%
  • Mount Mercy College 61%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Trinity College Low
  • Mount Mercy College Very Low
  • HBCU
  • Trinity College No
  • Mount Mercy College No
  • % White
  • Trinity College 82%
  • Mount Mercy College 81%
  • % Asian
  • Trinity College 2%
  • Mount Mercy College 2%
  • % Black
  • Trinity College 4%
  • Mount Mercy College 7%
  • % Hispanic
  • Trinity College 6%
  • Mount Mercy College 2%
  • % Native American
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Mount Mercy College 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Mount Mercy College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Trinity College 5%
  • Mount Mercy College 2%
  • % International
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Mount Mercy College 3%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Trinity College 1%
  • Mount Mercy College 3%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Trinity College -
  • Mount Mercy College 68%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Trinity College -
  • Mount Mercy College 20%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Trinity College No
  • Mount Mercy College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Trinity College No
  • Mount Mercy College No
  • Meal Plan
  • Trinity College No
  • Mount Mercy College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Trinity College No
  • Mount Mercy College Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Trinity College Yes
  • Mount Mercy College No

Comparable Facts

Compare Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences in Rock Island, IL with Mount Mercy University in Cedar Rapids, IA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Mount Mercy University is larger than Trinity College based on total student enrollment (1,417 students vs. 65 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is located in Rock Island, IL (Small City setting); Mount Mercy University is in Cedar Rapids, IA (Midsize City setting).
  • Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Mount Mercy University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences 3:1; Mount Mercy University 14:1.

Trinity College vs. Mount Mercy College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Trinity College or Mount Mercy College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences are 28.8% lower than at Mount Mercy University ($8,256 vs. $11,600).
  • Mount Mercy University is 63.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than Trinity College (about $15,889 more per year; $40,878.00 vs. $24,989.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 63.6% higher at Mount Mercy College than at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences (about $15,889 more per year; $40,878.00 vs. $24,989.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Mount Mercy University than at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences (100% vs. 0%).

Trinity College vs. Mount Mercy College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Trinity College or Mount Mercy College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Mount Mercy College and Trinity College.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Trinity College - Not reported; Mount Mercy College - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Mount Mercy College Aug 15, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman Mount Mercy College students have a 0.08 point higher average high school GPA (3.5) than students at Trinity College (3.42).

Trinity College vs. Mount Mercy College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Trinity College and Mount Mercy College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences earn a median of about $1,400 more per year than Mount Mercy College graduates about ten years after starting college ($47,300 vs. $45,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences graduates have a $2,750 lower median loan debt than Mount Mercy College graduates ($19,500 vs. $22,250).
  • Among borrowers, Trinity College graduates have an estimated $29 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Mount Mercy College graduates ($201 vs. $230).
  • More Trinity College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Mount Mercy College students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 71%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.