Tabor vs. MBC

Tabor College and Mary Baldwin University side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.

Tabor College
Mary Baldwin University

At a glance

  • Cheaper after aid: MBC. Average net price is $17,810 vs $20,681 at Tabor.
  • Graduation: Tabor 52% vs MBC 49%.
  • Earnings 10 years out: Tabor $44,900 vs MBC $38,400 (median).
See your own chances ->
Acceptance rate
Tabor more selective
Tabor64.6%
MBC-
SAT range (middle 50%)
Tabor higher
Tabor830-1130
MBC940-1120
Average net price
MBC $2,871 less
Tabor$20,681
MBC$17,810
In-state tuition
MBC $2,048 less
Tabor$36,200
MBC$34,152
Out-of-state tuition
MBC $2,048 less
Tabor$36,200
MBC$34,152
Graduation rate
Tabor +3 pts
Tabor52%
MBC49%
Median earnings (10 years)
Tabor +$6,500
Tabor$44,900
MBC$38,400

Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.

Admission calculator

Partner

Not sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Tabor and MBC with Appily's free admission calculator.

  • Applied
  • Tabor 559
  • MBC -
  • Admitted
  • Tabor 361
  • MBC -
  • Acceptance rate
  • Tabor 64.6%
  • MBC
  • Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
  • Tabor 37.7%
  • MBC
  • Typical SAT score
  • Tabor 980
  • MBC 1030
  • Typical ACT score
  • Tabor 20
  • MBC 21
  • Average high school GPA
  • Tabor 3.23
  • MBC 3.57
  • Typical high school grades
  • Tabor B+
  • MBC A-
  • Admissions standards
  • Tabor Extremely Easy
  • MBC Very Easy
  • Applicant competition
  • Tabor Low
  • MBC
  • SAT range
  • Tabor 830-1130
  • MBC 940-1120
  • ACT range
  • Tabor 18-23
  • MBC 18-24
  • Submit test scores
  • Tabor Test optional
  • MBC Not reported
  • Application deadline
  • Tabor
  • MBC
  • Tuition (in state)
  • Tabor $36,200
  • MBC $34,152
  • Tuition (out of state)
  • Tabor $36,200
  • MBC $34,152
  • Room & board
  • Tabor $10,800
  • MBC $11,411
  • Average net price
  • Tabor $20,681
  • MBC $17,810
  • Average grant aid
  • Tabor $29,669
  • MBC $28,135
  • % receiving grant aid
  • Tabor 100%
  • MBC 99%
  • Graduation rate
  • Tabor 52%
  • MBC 49%
  • Median earnings (after 10 years)
  • Tabor $44,900
  • MBC $38,400
  • Making student loan payments
  • Tabor 60%
  • MBC 53%
  • Median student loan debt
  • Tabor $23,000
  • MBC $27,000
  • Median loan payment
  • Tabor $237
  • MBC $279
  • Student to faculty ratio
  • Tabor 15:1
  • MBC 15:1
  • Popular majors
  • Tabor
    • Health Professions (16%)
    • Education (14%)
    • Business (12%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (10%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (7%)
  • MBC
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Psychology (15%)
    • History (14%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
  • Location
  • Tabor Hillsboro, KS
  • MBC Staunton, VA
  • Setting
  • Tabor Remote Town
  • MBC Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Tabor 621
  • MBC 1,772
  • Type
  • Tabor Private 4 Year
  • MBC Private 4 Year
  • National ranking
  • Tabor
  • MBC #1045

Comparable Facts

Compare Tabor College in Hillsboro, KS with Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.

Mary Baldwin University is larger than Tabor based on total student enrollment (1,772 students vs. 621 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Tabor College is located in Hillsboro, KS (Remote Town setting); Mary Baldwin University is in Staunton, VA (Distant Town setting).
  • Tabor College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Mary Baldwin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Tabor College 15:1; Mary Baldwin University 15:1.

Cost details

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Tabor College are 5.4% lower than at Mary Baldwin University ($10,800 vs. $11,411).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 6% higher at Tabor than at Mary Baldwin University (about $2,048 more per year; $36,200 vs. $34,152).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Tabor College than at Mary Baldwin University (100% vs. 99%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Tabor College students is 5.5% larger than aid received by Mary Baldwin University students ($29,669 vs. $28,135).

Admissions details

  • Typical ACT composite is 1 point higher at MBC than at Tabor (21 vs. 20, midpoint estimate).
  • SAT or ACT scores are test optional at Tabor, not reported at MBC.
  • Enrolled first-year students at MBC average a 3.57 high school GPA, 0.34 higher than at Tabor (3.23).

Loans and repayment

  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Tabor College graduates have a $4,000 lower median loan debt than MBC graduates ($23,000 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Tabor graduates have an estimated $42 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MBC graduates ($237 vs. $279).
  • More Tabor graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former MBC students, three years after graduation (60% vs. 53%).

Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.

Change schools

You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.

Tabor College
Mary Baldwin University
Add a college Compare up to 4

Frequently compared to these colleges