Spalding vs. Glenville State University

Deciding between Spalding University and Glenville State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Spalding University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Spalding Louisville, KY
  • Glenville State University Glenville, WV
  • Setting
  • Spalding Large City
  • Glenville State University Remote Rural
  • Total enrollment
  • Spalding 1,553
  • Glenville State University 1,765
  • Type
  • Spalding Private 4 Year
  • Glenville State University Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Spalding #756
  • Glenville State University
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Spalding Roman Catholic
  • Glenville State University -
  • Status
  • Spalding Non-profit
  • Glenville State University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Spalding
  • Glenville State University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Spalding $29,200
  • Glenville State University $9,578
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Spalding $29,200
  • Glenville State University $11,354
  • Room & Board
  • Spalding $9,710
  • Glenville State University $13,386
  • Average Net Price
  • Spalding $25,999
  • Glenville State University $13,798
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Spalding $19,429
  • Glenville State University $9,496
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Spalding 100%
  • Glenville State University 96%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Spalding 727
  • Glenville State University -
  • Admitted
  • Spalding 723
  • Glenville State University -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Spalding 99.4%
  • Glenville State University
  • Enrolled
  • Spalding 15.6%
  • Glenville State University
  • Typical SAT score
  • Spalding 960
  • Glenville State University
  • Typical ACT score
  • Spalding 18
  • Glenville State University
  • Average High School GPA
  • Spalding 3.87
  • Glenville State University 3.3
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Spalding A
  • Glenville State University B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Spalding Extremely Easy
  • Glenville State University Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Spalding
  • Glenville State University
  • ACT Range
  • Spalding 15/22
  • Glenville State University
  • SAT Range
  • Spalding 875/1038
  • Glenville State University
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Spalding Test optional
  • Glenville State University Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Spalding
  • Glenville State University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Spalding 9:1
  • Glenville State University 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Spalding
    • Health Professions (41%)
    • Business (24%)
    • Psychology (8%)
    • Education (7%)
    • Human Services (6%)
  • Glenville State University
    • Education (29%)
    • Business (23%)
    • Social Sciences (15%)
    • Natural Resources Conservation (13%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Spalding 42%
  • Glenville State University 31%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Spalding $45,300
  • Glenville State University $34,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Spalding 44%
  • Glenville State University 36%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Spalding $25,000
  • Glenville State University $24,025
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Spalding $258
  • Glenville State University $248
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Spalding 30%
  • Glenville State University 47%
  • % Women
  • Spalding 70%
  • Glenville State University 53%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Spalding Medium
  • Glenville State University Low
  • HBCU
  • Spalding No
  • Glenville State University No
  • % White
  • Spalding 67%
  • Glenville State University 68%
  • % Asian
  • Spalding 2%
  • Glenville State University 1%
  • % Black
  • Spalding 20%
  • Glenville State University 19%
  • % Hispanic
  • Spalding 3%
  • Glenville State University 2%
  • % Native American
  • Spalding 0%
  • Glenville State University 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Spalding 0%
  • Glenville State University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Spalding 3%
  • Glenville State University 1%
  • % International
  • Spalding 0%
  • Glenville State University 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Spalding 4%
  • Glenville State University 10%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Spalding 68%
  • Glenville State University 81%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Spalding 30%
  • Glenville State University 14%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Spalding Yes
  • Glenville State University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Spalding No
  • Glenville State University No
  • Meal Plan
  • Spalding Yes
  • Glenville State University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Spalding Yes
  • Glenville State University No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Spalding No
  • Glenville State University No

Comparable Facts

Compare Spalding University in Louisville, KY with Glenville State University in Glenville, WV on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Glenville State University is larger than Spalding based on total student enrollment (1,765 students vs. 1,553 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Spalding University is located in Louisville, KY (Large City setting); Glenville State University is in Glenville, WV (Remote Rural setting).
  • Spalding University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Glenville State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Spalding University 9:1; Glenville State University 13:1.

Spalding vs. Glenville State University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Spalding or Glenville State University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Glenville State University than Spalding ($13,798 vs. $25,999).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Spalding University are 27.5% lower than at Glenville State University ($9,710 vs. $13,386).
  • Spalding University is 204.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Glenville State University (about $19,622 more per year; $29,200.00 vs. $9,578.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 157.2% higher at Spalding than at Glenville State University (about $17,846 more per year; $29,200.00 vs. $11,354.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Spalding University than at Glenville State University (100% vs. 96%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Spalding University students is 104.6% larger than aid received by Glenville State University students ($19,429 vs. $9,496).

Spalding vs. Glenville State University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Spalding or Glenville State University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Glenville State University and Spalding.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Spalding University 875/1038.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Spalding University 15/22.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Spalding - Test optional; Glenville State University - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman Spalding students have a 0.57 point higher average high school GPA (3.87) than students at Glenville State University (3.3).

Spalding vs. Glenville State University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Spalding and Glenville State University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Spalding University's six-year graduation rate (42%) is higher than Glenville State University's (31%).
  • Graduates from Spalding University earn a median of about $10,400 more per year than Glenville State University graduates about ten years after starting college ($45,300 vs. $34,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Glenville State University graduates have a $975 lower median loan debt than Spalding graduates ($24,025 vs. $25,000).
  • Among borrowers, Glenville State University graduates have an estimated $10 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Spalding graduates ($248 vs. $258).
  • More Spalding graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Glenville State University students, three years after graduation. (44% vs. 36%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.