Southwest vs. Pellissippi State Community College

Deciding between Southwest Tennessee Community College and Pellissippi State Community College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Southwest Memphis, TN
  • Pellissippi State Community College Knoxville, TN
  • Setting
  • Southwest Large City
  • Pellissippi State Community College Rural Fringe
  • Total enrollment
  • Southwest 7,004
  • Pellissippi State Community College 9,399
  • Type
  • Southwest Public 2 Year
  • Pellissippi State Community College Public 2 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Southwest -
  • Pellissippi State Community College -
  • Status
  • Southwest Non-profit
  • Pellissippi State Community College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Southwest $4,778
  • Pellissippi State Community College $4,786
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Southwest $17,750
  • Pellissippi State Community College $17,770
  • Room & Board
  • Southwest $9,431
  • Pellissippi State Community College $9,370
  • Average Net Price
  • Southwest $5,396
  • Pellissippi State Community College $6,568
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Southwest $7,399
  • Pellissippi State Community College $6,361
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Southwest 91%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 93%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Southwest -
  • Pellissippi State Community College -
  • Admitted
  • Southwest -
  • Pellissippi State Community College -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • Enrolled
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • Typical SAT score
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • Typical ACT score
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • Average High School GPA
  • Southwest -
  • Pellissippi State Community College -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Southwest -
  • Pellissippi State Community College -
  • Admissions Standards
  • Southwest Unavailable
  • Pellissippi State Community College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • ACT Range
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • SAT Range
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Southwest Not reported
  • Pellissippi State Community College Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Southwest
  • Pellissippi State Community College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Southwest 20:1
  • Pellissippi State Community College 19:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Southwest
    • Health Professions (30%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (28%)
    • Business (12%)
    • Engineering Technology (11%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (5%)
  • Pellissippi State Community College
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (37%)
    • Engineering Technology (16%)
    • Business (14%)
    • Communications Technology (10%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Southwest -
  • Pellissippi State Community College -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Southwest $27,800
  • Pellissippi State Community College $31,800
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Southwest -
  • Pellissippi State Community College 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Southwest N/A
  • Pellissippi State Community College $9,350
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Southwest N/A
  • Pellissippi State Community College $96
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Southwest 35%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 46%
  • % Women
  • Southwest 65%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 54%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Southwest Medium
  • Pellissippi State Community College Low
  • HBCU
  • Southwest No
  • Pellissippi State Community College No
  • % White
  • Southwest 29%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 81%
  • % Asian
  • Southwest 3%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 2%
  • % Black
  • Southwest 59%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 7%
  • % Hispanic
  • Southwest 5%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 4%
  • % Native American
  • Southwest 0%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Southwest 0%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Southwest 2%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 3%
  • % International
  • Southwest 2%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Southwest 0%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Southwest 97%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 98%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Southwest 3%
  • Pellissippi State Community College 1%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Southwest No
  • Pellissippi State Community College No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Southwest No
  • Pellissippi State Community College No
  • Meal Plan
  • Southwest No
  • Pellissippi State Community College No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Southwest Yes
  • Pellissippi State Community College Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Southwest Yes
  • Pellissippi State Community College No
  • Learn More
  • Southwest Details
  • Pellissippi State Community College Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Southwest Tennessee Community College in Memphis, TN with Pellissippi State Community College in Knoxville, TN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Pellissippi State Community College is larger than Southwest based on total student enrollment (9,399 students vs. 7,004 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Southwest Tennessee Community College is located in Memphis, TN (Large City setting); Pellissippi State Community College is in Knoxville, TN (Rural Fringe setting).
  • Southwest Tennessee Community College is a public, non-profit 2-year institution. Pellissippi State Community College is a public, non-profit 2-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Southwest Tennessee Community College 20:1; Pellissippi State Community College 19:1.

Southwest vs. Pellissippi State Community College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Southwest or Pellissippi State Community College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwest Tennessee Community College than Pellissippi State Community College ($5,396 vs. $6,568).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Pellissippi State Community College are 0.6% lower than at Southwest Tennessee Community College ($9,370 vs. $9,431).
  • Pellissippi State Community College is 0.2% more expensive for in-state tuition than Southwest (about $8 more per year; $4,786.00 vs. $4,778.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 0.1% higher at Pellissippi State Community College than at Southwest Tennessee Community College (about $20 more per year; $17,770.00 vs. $17,750.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Pellissippi State Community College than at Southwest Tennessee Community College (93% vs. 91%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Southwest Tennessee Community College students is 16.3% larger than aid received by Pellissippi State Community College students ($7,399 vs. $6,361).

Southwest vs. Pellissippi State Community College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Southwest or Pellissippi State Community College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Pellissippi State Community College and Southwest.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Southwest - Not reported; Pellissippi State Community College - Not reported.

Southwest vs. Pellissippi State Community College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Southwest and Pellissippi State Community College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Pellissippi State Community College earn a median of about $4,000 more per year than Southwest graduates about ten years after starting college ($31,800 vs. $27,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.