Southern Arkansas University Main Campus vs. SCU

Deciding between Southern Arkansas University Main Campus and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Magnolia, AR
  • SCU Bethany, OK
  • Setting
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Remote Town
  • SCU Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 4,732
  • SCU 399
  • Type
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Public 4 Year
  • SCU Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus #916
  • SCU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus -
  • SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
  • Status
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Non-profit
  • SCU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus
  • SCU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus $9,960
  • SCU $21,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus $15,690
  • SCU $21,900
  • Room & Board
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus $7,911
  • SCU $10,100
  • Average Net Price
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus $13,442
  • SCU $20,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus $11,552
  • SCU $12,784
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 99%
  • SCU 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 2,708
  • SCU -
  • Admitted
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 2,040
  • SCU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 75.3%
  • SCU
  • Enrolled
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 34.8%
  • SCU
  • Typical SAT score
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 990
  • SCU
  • Typical ACT score
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 20
  • SCU
  • Average High School GPA
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 3.46
  • SCU 3.22
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus B+
  • SCU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Extremely Easy
  • SCU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus
  • SCU
  • ACT Range
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 17/24
  • SCU
  • SAT Range
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 875/1105
  • SCU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Required
  • SCU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Aug 27, 2027
  • SCU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 16:1
  • SCU 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus
    • Business (21%)
    • Education (18%)
    • Health Professions (15%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (9%)
    • Biology (5%)
  • SCU
    • Human Services (34%)
    • Business (27%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 34%
  • SCU 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus $37,900
  • SCU $27,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 44%
  • SCU 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus $17,020
  • SCU $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus $175
  • SCU $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 41%
  • SCU 61%
  • % Women
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 59%
  • SCU 39%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Medium
  • SCU High
  • HBCU
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus No
  • SCU No
  • % White
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 63%
  • SCU 44%
  • % Asian
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 1%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Black
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 28%
  • SCU 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 3%
  • SCU 8%
  • % Native American
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 1%
  • SCU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 1%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 0%
  • SCU 3%
  • % International
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 3%
  • SCU 10%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 71%
  • SCU 72%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 29%
  • SCU 15%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus No
  • SCU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus No
  • SCU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus No
  • SCU No
  • Learn More
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Details
  • SCU Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Southern Arkansas University Main Campus in Magnolia, AR with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (4,732 students vs. 399 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is located in Magnolia, AR (Remote Town setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 16:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus vs. SCU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Southern Arkansas University Main Campus or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus than SCU ($13,442 vs. $20,528).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus are 21.7% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($7,911 vs. $10,100).
  • Southwestern Christian University is 119.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Southern Arkansas University Main Campus (about $11,940 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $9,960.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 39.6% higher at SCU than at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus (about $6,210 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $15,690.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus (100% vs. 99%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Christian University students is 10.7% larger than aid received by Southern Arkansas University Main Campus students ($12,784 vs. $11,552).

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus vs. SCU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Southern Arkansas University Main Campus or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 875/1105.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Southern Arkansas University Main Campus 17/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Southern Arkansas University Main Campus - Required; SCU - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Aug 27, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman Southern Arkansas University Main Campus students have a 0.24 point higher average high school GPA (3.46) than students at SCU (3.22).

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Southern Arkansas University Main Campus and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Southern Arkansas University Main Campus's six-year graduation rate (34%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
  • Graduates from Southern Arkansas University Main Campus earn a median of about $10,500 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($37,900 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southern Arkansas University Main Campus graduates have a $9,980 lower median loan debt than SCU graduates ($17,020 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Southern Arkansas University Main Campus graduates have an estimated $104 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than SCU graduates ($175 vs. $279).
  • More Southern Arkansas University Main Campus graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (44% vs. 38%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.