San Jose State vs. Pathways College
Deciding between San Jose State University and Pathways College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
San Jose State University
Pathways College
-
Overview
- San Jose State
- Pathways College
- Location
-
San Jose State San Jose, CA
-
Pathways College Phoenix, California
-
-
- Setting
-
San Jose State Large City
-
Pathways College Midsize City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
San Jose State 37,661
-
Pathways College 196
-
-
- Type
-
San Jose State Public 4 Year
-
Pathways College Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
San Jose State #594
-
Pathways College
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
San Jose State -
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- Status
-
San Jose State Non-profit
-
Pathways College Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
San Jose State sjsu.edu
-
Pathways College pathwayscollege.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
San Jose State
-
Pathways College
-
-
-
Cost
- San Jose State
- Pathways College
- Tuition (In State)
-
San Jose State $8,410
-
Pathways College $6,180
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
San Jose State $21,010
-
Pathways College $6,180
-
-
- Room & Board
-
San Jose State $20,971
-
Pathways College $23,712
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
San Jose State $13,892
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
San Jose State $12,353
-
Pathways College $0
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
San Jose State 63%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
-
Admissions
- San Jose State
- Pathways College
- Applied
-
San Jose State 37,132
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- Admitted
-
San Jose State 31,419
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
San Jose State 84.6%
-
Pathways College
-
-
- Enrolled
-
San Jose State 14.7%
-
Pathways College
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
San Jose State 1130
-
Pathways College
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
San Jose State 22
-
Pathways College
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
San Jose State 3.35
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
San Jose State B+
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
San Jose State Moderate
-
Pathways College Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
San Jose State
-
Pathways College
-
-
- ACT Range
-
San Jose State 19/26
-
Pathways College
-
-
- SAT Range
-
San Jose State 1010/1240
-
Pathways College
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
San Jose State Test-free
-
Pathways College Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
San Jose State Dec 15, 2026
-
Pathways College
-
-
-
Academics
- San Jose State
- Pathways College
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
San Jose State 25:1
-
Pathways College 7:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
San Jose State
- Business (30%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (8%)
- Health Professions (8%)
- Social Sciences (7%)
- Engineering (7%)
-
Pathways College
-
-
-
Outcomes
- San Jose State
- Pathways College
- Graduation Rate
-
San Jose State 46%
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
San Jose State $59,900
-
Pathways College N/A
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
San Jose State 73%
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
San Jose State $15,000
-
Pathways College N/A
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
San Jose State $155
-
Pathways College N/A
-
-
-
Diversity
- San Jose State
- Pathways College
- % Men
-
San Jose State 49%
-
Pathways College 33%
-
-
- % Women
-
San Jose State 51%
-
Pathways College 67%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
San Jose State Very High
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- HBCU
-
San Jose State No
-
Pathways College No
-
-
- % White
-
San Jose State 19%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
- % Asian
-
San Jose State 36%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
- % Black
-
San Jose State 3%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
San Jose State 26%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
- % Native American
-
San Jose State 0%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
San Jose State 0%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
San Jose State 5%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
- % International
-
San Jose State 6%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
San Jose State 4%
-
Pathways College 0%
-
-
-
Students
- San Jose State
- Pathways College
- % In-State
-
San Jose State 97%
-
Pathways College -
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
San Jose State 1%
-
Pathways College -
-
-
-
Campus
- San Jose State
- Pathways College
- Campus Housing
-
San Jose State Yes
-
Pathways College No
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
San Jose State No
-
Pathways College
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
San Jose State Yes
-
Pathways College No
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
San Jose State No
-
Pathways College Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
San Jose State Yes
-
Pathways College
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare San Jose State University in San Jose, CA with Pathways College in Phoenix, California on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
San Jose State University is larger than Pathways College based on total student enrollment (37,661 students vs. 196 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- San Jose State University is located in San Jose, CA (Large City setting); Pathways College is in Phoenix, California (Midsize City setting).
- San Jose State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Pathways College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: San Jose State University 25:1; Pathways College 7:1.
San Jose State vs. Pathways College Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, San Jose State or Pathways College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at San Jose State University are 11.6% lower than at Pathways College ($20,971 vs. $23,712).
- San Jose State University is 36.1% more expensive for in-state tuition than Pathways College (about $2,230 more per year; $8,410.00 vs. $6,180.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 240% higher at San Jose State than at Pathways College (about $14,830 more per year; $21,010.00 vs. $6,180.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at San Jose State University than at Pathways College (63% vs. 0%).
San Jose State vs. Pathways College Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, San Jose State or Pathways College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Pathways College and San Jose State.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: San Jose State University 1010/1240.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: San Jose State University 19/26.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: San Jose State - Test-free; Pathways College - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: San Jose State Dec 15, 2026.
San Jose State vs. Pathways College Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for San Jose State and Pathways College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.