Rush University Medical Center vs. Spalding

Deciding between Rush University and Spalding University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Spalding University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Rush University Medical Center Chicago, IL
  • Spalding Louisville, KY
  • Setting
  • Rush University Medical Center Large City
  • Spalding Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • Rush University Medical Center 2,769
  • Spalding 1,553
  • Type
  • Rush University Medical Center Private 4 Year
  • Spalding Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding #756
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding Roman Catholic
  • Status
  • Rush University Medical Center Non-profit
  • Spalding Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Spalding $29,200
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Spalding $29,200
  • Room & Board
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Spalding $9,710
  • Average Net Price
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding $25,999
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Spalding $19,429
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Rush University Medical Center 0%
  • Spalding 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding 727
  • Admitted
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding 723
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding 99.4%
  • Enrolled
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding 15.6%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding 960
  • Typical ACT score
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding 18
  • Average High School GPA
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding 3.87
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding A
  • Admissions Standards
  • Rush University Medical Center Unavailable
  • Spalding Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding
  • ACT Range
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding 15/22
  • SAT Range
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding 875/1038
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Rush University Medical Center Not reported
  • Spalding Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Rush University Medical Center 10:1
  • Spalding 9:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding
    • Health Professions (41%)
    • Business (24%)
    • Psychology (8%)
    • Education (7%)
    • Human Services (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding 42%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Rush University Medical Center $116,100
  • Spalding $45,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Rush University Medical Center 78%
  • Spalding 44%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Rush University Medical Center $21,772
  • Spalding $25,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Rush University Medical Center $225
  • Spalding $258
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Rush University Medical Center 22%
  • Spalding 30%
  • % Women
  • Rush University Medical Center 78%
  • Spalding 70%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Rush University Medical Center High
  • Spalding Medium
  • HBCU
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Spalding No
  • % White
  • Rush University Medical Center 47%
  • Spalding 67%
  • % Asian
  • Rush University Medical Center 10%
  • Spalding 2%
  • % Black
  • Rush University Medical Center 8%
  • Spalding 20%
  • % Hispanic
  • Rush University Medical Center 25%
  • Spalding 3%
  • % Native American
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Spalding 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Spalding 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Spalding 3%
  • % International
  • Rush University Medical Center 0%
  • Spalding 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Rush University Medical Center 6%
  • Spalding 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding 68%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Spalding 30%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Spalding Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding No
  • Meal Plan
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Spalding Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Spalding Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Spalding No

Comparable Facts

Compare Rush University in Chicago, IL with Spalding University in Louisville, KY on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Rush University is larger than Spalding based on total student enrollment (2,769 students vs. 1,553 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Rush University is located in Chicago, IL (Large City setting); Spalding University is in Louisville, KY (Large City setting).
  • Rush University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Spalding University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Rush University 10:1; Spalding University 9:1.

Rush University Medical Center vs. Spalding Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Rush University Medical Center or Spalding? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Spalding University and Rush University Medical Center ($29,200.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Spalding and Rush University ($29,200.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Spalding University than at Rush University (100% vs. 0%).

Rush University Medical Center vs. Spalding Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Rush University Medical Center or Spalding? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Spalding and Rush University Medical Center.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsSpalding University 875/1038.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsSpalding University 15/22.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Rush University Medical Center - Not reported; Spalding - Test optional.

Rush University Medical Center vs. Spalding Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Rush University Medical Center and Spalding? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Rush University earn a median of about $70,800 more per year than Spalding graduates about ten years after starting college ($116,100 vs. $45,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Rush University graduates have a $3,228 lower median loan debt than Spalding graduates ($21,772 vs. $25,000).
  • Among borrowers, Rush University Medical Center graduates have an estimated $33 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Spalding graduates ($225 vs. $258).
  • More Rush University Medical Center graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Spalding students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 44%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.