Rush University Medical Center vs. Mount Mercy College

Deciding between Rush University and Mount Mercy University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Mount Mercy University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Rush University Medical Center Chicago, IL
  • Mount Mercy College Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Setting
  • Rush University Medical Center Large City
  • Mount Mercy College Midsize City
  • Total enrollment
  • Rush University Medical Center 2,769
  • Mount Mercy College 1,417
  • Type
  • Rush University Medical Center Private 4 Year
  • Mount Mercy College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College Roman Catholic
  • Status
  • Rush University Medical Center Non-profit
  • Mount Mercy College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Mount Mercy College $40,878
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Mount Mercy College $40,878
  • Room & Board
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Mount Mercy College $11,600
  • Average Net Price
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College $24,347
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Mount Mercy College $30,735
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Rush University Medical Center 0%
  • Mount Mercy College 100%
  • Admissions

  • Admission Chances
  • Rush University Medical Center Calculate
  • Mount Mercy College Calculate
  • Applied
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College 1,041
  • Admitted
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College 859
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College 82.5%
  • Enrolled
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College 27.9%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Typical ACT score
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Average High School GPA
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College 3.5
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Rush University Medical Center Unavailable
  • Mount Mercy College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College
  • ACT Range
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College
  • SAT Range
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Rush University Medical Center Not reported
  • Mount Mercy College Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College Aug 15, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Rush University Medical Center 10:1
  • Mount Mercy College 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College
    • Business (44%)
    • Health Professions (22%)
    • Education (10%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
    • Psychology (4%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College 60%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Rush University Medical Center $116,100
  • Mount Mercy College $45,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Rush University Medical Center 78%
  • Mount Mercy College 71%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Rush University Medical Center $21,772
  • Mount Mercy College $22,250
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Rush University Medical Center $225
  • Mount Mercy College $230
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Rush University Medical Center 22%
  • Mount Mercy College 39%
  • % Women
  • Rush University Medical Center 78%
  • Mount Mercy College 61%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Rush University Medical Center High
  • Mount Mercy College Very Low
  • HBCU
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Mount Mercy College No
  • % White
  • Rush University Medical Center 47%
  • Mount Mercy College 81%
  • % Asian
  • Rush University Medical Center 10%
  • Mount Mercy College 2%
  • % Black
  • Rush University Medical Center 8%
  • Mount Mercy College 7%
  • % Hispanic
  • Rush University Medical Center 25%
  • Mount Mercy College 2%
  • % Native American
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Mount Mercy College 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Mount Mercy College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Mount Mercy College 2%
  • % International
  • Rush University Medical Center 0%
  • Mount Mercy College 3%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Rush University Medical Center 6%
  • Mount Mercy College 3%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College 68%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Mount Mercy College 20%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Mount Mercy College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College No
  • Meal Plan
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Mount Mercy College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Mount Mercy College Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Mount Mercy College No
  • Learn More
  • Rush University Medical Center Details
  • Mount Mercy College Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Rush University in Chicago, IL with Mount Mercy University in Cedar Rapids, IA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Rush University is larger than Mount Mercy College based on total student enrollment (2,769 students vs. 1,417 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Rush University is located in Chicago, IL (Large City setting); Mount Mercy University is in Cedar Rapids, IA (Midsize City setting).
  • Rush University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Mount Mercy University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Rush University 10:1; Mount Mercy University 14:1.

Rush University Medical Center vs. Mount Mercy College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Rush University Medical Center or Mount Mercy College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Mount Mercy University and Rush University Medical Center ($40,878.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Mount Mercy College and Rush University ($40,878.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Mount Mercy University than at Rush University (100% vs. 0%).

Rush University Medical Center vs. Mount Mercy College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Rush University Medical Center or Mount Mercy College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Mount Mercy College and Rush University Medical Center.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Rush University Medical Center - Not reported; Mount Mercy College - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Mount Mercy College Aug 15, 2027.

Rush University Medical Center vs. Mount Mercy College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Rush University Medical Center and Mount Mercy College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Rush University earn a median of about $70,200 more per year than Mount Mercy College graduates about ten years after starting college ($116,100 vs. $45,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Rush University graduates have a $478 lower median loan debt than Mount Mercy College graduates ($21,772 vs. $22,250).
  • Among borrowers, Rush University Medical Center graduates have an estimated $5 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Mount Mercy College graduates ($225 vs. $230).
  • More Rush University Medical Center graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Mount Mercy College students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 71%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.