Principia College vs. Waynesburg College
Principia College and Waynesburg University side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: about even. Average net price is $18,248 at Principia College vs $18,667 at Waynesburg College. Principia College in-state tuition is about $4,200 more per year.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and Waynesburg College with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
Waynesburg College My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
Waynesburg College 1,562
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
Waynesburg College 1,403
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
Waynesburg College 89.8%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
Waynesburg College 19%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
Waynesburg College 1090
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
Waynesburg College 21
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
Waynesburg College 3.64
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
Waynesburg College A-
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
Waynesburg College Easy
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
Waynesburg College
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
Waynesburg College 930-1250
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
Waynesburg College 19-23
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
Waynesburg College Test optional
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
Waynesburg College
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Waynesburg College $30,480
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Waynesburg College $30,480
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
Waynesburg College $13,790
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
Waynesburg College $18,667
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
Waynesburg College $24,971
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
Waynesburg College 100%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
Waynesburg College 57%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
Waynesburg College $48,900
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
Waynesburg College 73%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
Waynesburg College $27,000
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
Waynesburg College $279
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
Waynesburg College 12:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
Waynesburg College
- Health Professions (33%)
- Business (17%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (8%)
- Communication (8%)
- Education (7%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Waynesburg College Waynesburg University
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
Waynesburg College Waynesburg, PA
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
Waynesburg College Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
Waynesburg College 1,231
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
Waynesburg College Private 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
Waynesburg College #513
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Waynesburg University in Waynesburg, PA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Waynesburg University is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (1,231 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Waynesburg University is in Waynesburg, PA (Distant Town setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Waynesburg University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Waynesburg University 12:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Waynesburg University are 0.9% lower than at Principia College ($13,790 vs. $13,910).
- Out-of-state tuition is 13.8% higher at Principia College than at Waynesburg University (about $4,200 more per year; $34,680 vs. $30,480).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Waynesburg University than at Principia College (100% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 21.7% larger than aid received by Waynesburg University students ($30,402 vs. $24,971).
Admissions details
- Incoming Principia College students have the same typical ACT composite (midpoint estimate; 21) as students at Waynesburg College (21).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at Waynesburg College.
- Enrolled first-year students at Waynesburg College average a 3.64 high school GPA, 0.3 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.
Waynesburg University