Principia College vs. Iowa
Principia College and University of Iowa side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: Principia College. Average net price is $18,248 vs $21,765 at Iowa.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and Iowa with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
Iowa My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
Iowa 27,770
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
Iowa 23,222
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
Iowa 83.6%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
Iowa 22.4%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
Iowa 1230
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
Iowa 24
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
Iowa 3.81
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
Iowa A-
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
Iowa Challenging
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
Iowa
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
Iowa 1130-1330
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
Iowa 21-28
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
Iowa Test optional
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
Iowa May 1, 2027
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Iowa $11,283
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Iowa $33,371
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
Iowa $12,920
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
Iowa $21,765
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
Iowa $9,865
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
Iowa 76%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
Iowa 71%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
Iowa $59,800
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
Iowa 70%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
Iowa $21,616
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
Iowa $223
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
Iowa 16:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
Iowa
- Business (18%)
- Social Sciences (9%)
- Health Professions (9%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (8%)
- Communication (8%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Iowa University of Iowa
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
Iowa Iowa City, IA
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
Iowa Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
Iowa 30,779
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
Iowa Public 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
Iowa #233
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with University of Iowa in Iowa City, IA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
University of Iowa is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (30,779 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); University of Iowa is in Iowa City, IA (Small City setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. University of Iowa is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; University of Iowa 16:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at University of Iowa are 7.1% lower than at Principia College ($12,920 vs. $13,910).
- Out-of-state tuition is 3.9% higher at Principia College than at University of Iowa (about $1,309 more per year; $34,680 vs. $33,371).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Principia College than at University of Iowa (90% vs. 76%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 208.2% larger than aid received by University of Iowa students ($30,402 vs. $9,865).
Admissions details
- Typical ACT composite is 3 points higher at Iowa than at Principia College (24 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at Iowa.
- Typical fall application deadline: Iowa May 1, 2027.
- Enrolled first-year students at Iowa average a 3.81 high school GPA, 0.47 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.
University of Iowa