Principia College vs. University of Dubuque
Principia College and University of Dubuque side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: Principia College. Average net price is $18,248 vs $26,067 at University of Dubuque.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and University of Dubuque with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
University of Dubuque My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
University of Dubuque 1,486
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
University of Dubuque 1,317
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
University of Dubuque 88.6%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
University of Dubuque 23.3%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
University of Dubuque 1100
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
University of Dubuque 21
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
University of Dubuque 3.24
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
University of Dubuque B+
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
University of Dubuque Easy
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
University of Dubuque
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
University of Dubuque 980-1220
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
University of Dubuque 18-24
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
University of Dubuque Test optional
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
University of Dubuque
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
University of Dubuque $42,095
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
University of Dubuque $42,095
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
University of Dubuque $12,150
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
University of Dubuque $26,067
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
University of Dubuque $27,758
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
University of Dubuque 100%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
University of Dubuque 41%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
University of Dubuque $41,800
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
University of Dubuque 63%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
University of Dubuque $25,674
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
University of Dubuque $265
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
University of Dubuque 10:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
University of Dubuque
- Business (21%)
- Transportation and Materials Moving (15%)
- Computer and Information Sciences (12%)
- Education (11%)
- Health Professions (9%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- University of Dubuque University of Dubuque
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
University of Dubuque Dubuque, IA
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
University of Dubuque Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
University of Dubuque 1,757
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
University of Dubuque Private 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
University of Dubuque #681
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with University of Dubuque in Dubuque, IA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
University of Dubuque is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (1,757 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); University of Dubuque is in Dubuque, IA (Small City setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. University of Dubuque is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; University of Dubuque 10:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at University of Dubuque are 12.7% lower than at Principia College ($12,150 vs. $13,910).
- Out-of-state tuition is 21.4% higher at University of Dubuque than at Principia College (about $7,415 more per year; $42,095 vs. $34,680).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of Dubuque than at Principia College (100% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 9.5% larger than aid received by University of Dubuque students ($30,402 vs. $27,758).
Admissions details
- Incoming Principia College students have the same typical ACT composite (midpoint estimate; 21) as students at University of Dubuque (21).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at University of Dubuque.
- Enrolled first-year students at Principia College average a 3.34 high school GPA, 0.1 higher than at University of Dubuque (3.24).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.
University of Dubuque