Principia College vs. Trine University
Principia College and Trine University side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: Principia College. Average net price is $18,248 vs $25,355 at Trine University.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and Trine University with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
Trine University My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
Trine University 3,988
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
Trine University 3,409
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
Trine University 85.5%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
Trine University 18.8%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
Trine University 1140
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
Trine University 24
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
Trine University 3.51
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
Trine University A-
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
Trine University Average
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
Trine University
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
Trine University 1030-1240
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
Trine University 21-28
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
Trine University Test-free
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
Trine University Aug 1, 2027
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Trine University $36,560
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Trine University $36,560
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
Trine University $13,120
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
Trine University $25,355
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
Trine University $25,754
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
Trine University 96%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
Trine University 44%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
Trine University $46,400
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
Trine University 60%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
Trine University $25,150
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
Trine University $260
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
Trine University 16:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
Trine University
- Engineering (30%)
- Business (19%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (13%)
- Education (10%)
- Engineering Technology (7%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Trine University Trine University
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
Trine University Angola, IN
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
Trine University Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
Trine University 4,646
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
Trine University Private 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
Trine University #721
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Trine University in Angola, IN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Trine University is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (4,646 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Trine University is in Angola, IN (Distant Town setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Trine University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Trine University 16:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Trine University are 5.7% lower than at Principia College ($13,120 vs. $13,910).
- Out-of-state tuition is 5.4% higher at Trine University than at Principia College (about $1,880 more per year; $36,560 vs. $34,680).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Trine University than at Principia College (96% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 18% larger than aid received by Trine University students ($30,402 vs. $25,754).
Admissions details
- Typical ACT composite is 3 points higher at Trine University than at Principia College (24 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test-free at Trine University.
- Typical fall application deadline: Trine University Aug 1, 2027.
- Enrolled first-year students at Trine University average a 3.51 high school GPA, 0.17 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.