Principia College vs. SIUE

Principia College and Southern Illinois University Edwardsville side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.

Principia College
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

At a glance

  • Cheaper after aid: SIUE. Average net price is $17,115 vs $18,248 at Principia College.
See your own chances ->
Acceptance rate
SIUE more selective
Principia College-
SIUE97.5%
SAT range (middle 50%)
Principia College higher
Principia College1040-1250
SIUE950-1190
Average net price
SIUE $1,133 less
Principia College$18,248
SIUE$17,115
In-state tuition
SIUE $21,758 less
Principia College$34,680
SIUE$12,922
Out-of-state tuition
SIUE $21,758 less
Principia College$34,680
SIUE$12,922
Graduation rate
SIUE +52 pts
Principia College-
SIUE52%
Median earnings (10 years)
SIUE +$47,000
Principia College-
SIUE$47,000

Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.

Admission calculator

Partner

Not sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and SIUE with Appily's free admission calculator.

  • Applied
  • Principia College -
  • SIUE 10,150
  • Admitted
  • Principia College -
  • SIUE 9,896
  • Acceptance rate
  • Principia College
  • SIUE 97.5%
  • Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
  • Principia College
  • SIUE 15.7%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Principia College 1150
  • SIUE 1070
  • Typical ACT score
  • Principia College 21
  • SIUE 23
  • Average high school GPA
  • Principia College 3.34
  • SIUE 3.54
  • Typical high school grades
  • Principia College B+
  • SIUE A-
  • Admissions standards
  • Principia College Easy
  • SIUE Moderate
  • Applicant competition
  • Principia College
  • SIUE
  • SAT range
  • Principia College 1040-1250
  • SIUE 950-1190
  • ACT range
  • Principia College 19-23
  • SIUE 20-27
  • Submit test scores
  • Principia College Not reported
  • SIUE Test optional
  • Application deadline
  • Principia College
  • SIUE May 1, 2027
  • Tuition (in state)
  • Principia College $34,680
  • SIUE $12,922
  • Tuition (out of state)
  • Principia College $34,680
  • SIUE $12,922
  • Room & board
  • Principia College $13,910
  • SIUE $14,490
  • Average net price
  • Principia College $18,248
  • SIUE $17,115
  • Average grant aid
  • Principia College $30,402
  • SIUE $11,602
  • % receiving grant aid
  • Principia College 90%
  • SIUE 91%
  • Graduation rate
  • Principia College -
  • SIUE 52%
  • Median earnings (after 10 years)
  • Principia College N/A
  • SIUE $47,000
  • Making student loan payments
  • Principia College -
  • SIUE 61%
  • Median student loan debt
  • Principia College N/A
  • SIUE $21,430
  • Median loan payment
  • Principia College N/A
  • SIUE $221
  • Student to faculty ratio
  • Principia College 6:1
  • SIUE 15:1
  • Popular majors
  • Principia College
  • SIUE
    • Business (20%)
    • Health Professions (12%)
    • Education (11%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Social Sciences (8%)
  • Location
  • Principia College Elsah, Illinois
  • SIUE Edwardsville, IL
  • Setting
  • Principia College Rural Fringe
  • SIUE Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Principia College 339
  • SIUE 11,893
  • Type
  • Principia College Private 4 Year
  • SIUE Public 4 Year
  • National ranking
  • Principia College
  • SIUE #516

Comparable Facts

Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Southern Illinois University Edwardsville in Edwardsville, IL on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (11,893 students vs. 339 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Southern Illinois University Edwardsville is in Edwardsville, IL (Large Suburban setting).
  • Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southern Illinois University Edwardsville is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Southern Illinois University Edwardsville 15:1.

Cost details

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Principia College are 4% lower than at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville ($13,910 vs. $14,490).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 168.4% higher at Principia College than at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (about $21,758 more per year; $34,680 vs. $12,922).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville than at Principia College (91% vs. 90%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 162% larger than aid received by Southern Illinois University Edwardsville students ($30,402 vs. $11,602).

Admissions details

  • Typical ACT composite is 2 points higher at SIUE than at Principia College (23 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
  • SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at SIUE.
  • Typical fall application deadline: SIUE May 1, 2027.
  • Enrolled first-year students at SIUE average a 3.54 high school GPA, 0.2 higher than at Principia College (3.34).

Loans and repayment

Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.

Change schools

You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.

Principia College
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Add a college Compare up to 4

Frequently compared to these colleges