Principia College vs. Marywood
Principia College and Marywood University side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: Principia College. Average net price is $18,248 vs $26,217 at Marywood.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and Marywood with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
Marywood My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
Marywood 4,236
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
Marywood 2,566
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
Marywood 60.6%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
Marywood 17.1%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
Marywood 1160
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
Marywood 24
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
Marywood 3.58
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
Marywood A-
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
Marywood Challenging
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
Marywood Low
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
Marywood 1060-1250
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
Marywood 18-30
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
Marywood Test optional
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
Marywood
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Marywood $41,420
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Marywood $41,420
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
Marywood $15,800
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
Marywood $26,217
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
Marywood $29,574
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
Marywood 100%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
Marywood 62%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
Marywood $41,100
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
Marywood 70%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
Marywood $27,000
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
Marywood $279
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
Marywood 11:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
Marywood
- Health Professions (24%)
- Education (16%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (15%)
- Business (12%)
- Psychology (6%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Marywood Marywood University
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
Marywood Scranton, PA
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
Marywood Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
Marywood 2,530
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
Marywood Private 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
Marywood #452
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Marywood University in Scranton, PA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Marywood University is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (2,530 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Marywood University is in Scranton, PA (Small City setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Marywood University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Marywood University 11:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Principia College are 12% lower than at Marywood University ($13,910 vs. $15,800).
- Out-of-state tuition is 19.4% higher at Marywood than at Principia College (about $6,740 more per year; $41,420 vs. $34,680).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Marywood University than at Principia College (100% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 2.8% larger than aid received by Marywood University students ($30,402 vs. $29,574).
Admissions details
- Typical ACT composite is 3 points higher at Marywood than at Principia College (24 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at Marywood.
- Enrolled first-year students at Marywood average a 3.58 high school GPA, 0.24 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.
Marywood University