Principia College vs. Franklin College of Indiana
Principia College and Franklin College side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: Principia College. Average net price is $18,248 vs $24,189 at Franklin College of Indiana.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and Franklin College of Indiana with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
Franklin College of Indiana My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
Franklin College of Indiana 2,609
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
Franklin College of Indiana 1,821
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
Franklin College of Indiana 69.8%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
Franklin College of Indiana 17.4%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
Franklin College of Indiana 1150
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
Franklin College of Indiana 23
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
Franklin College of Indiana 3.51
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
Franklin College of Indiana A-
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
Franklin College of Indiana Moderate
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
Franklin College of Indiana Low
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
Franklin College of Indiana 1060-1240
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
Franklin College of Indiana 20-26
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
Franklin College of Indiana Test optional
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
Franklin College of Indiana
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Franklin College of Indiana $38,710
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Franklin College of Indiana $38,710
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
Franklin College of Indiana $12,405
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
Franklin College of Indiana $24,189
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
Franklin College of Indiana $30,025
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
Franklin College of Indiana 100%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
Franklin College of Indiana 49%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
Franklin College of Indiana $45,300
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
Franklin College of Indiana 73%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
Franklin College of Indiana $27,000
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
Franklin College of Indiana $279
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
Franklin College of Indiana 12:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
Franklin College of Indiana
- Education (14%)
- Social Sciences (14%)
- Communication (13%)
- Business (11%)
- Biology (7%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Franklin College of Indiana Franklin College
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
Franklin College of Indiana Franklin, IN
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
Franklin College of Indiana Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
Franklin College of Indiana 985
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
Franklin College of Indiana Private 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
Franklin College of Indiana
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Franklin College in Franklin, IN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Franklin College is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (985 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Franklin College is in Franklin, IN (Large Suburban setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Franklin College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Franklin College 12:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Franklin College are 10.8% lower than at Principia College ($12,405 vs. $13,910).
- Out-of-state tuition is 11.6% higher at Franklin College of Indiana than at Principia College (about $4,030 more per year; $38,710 vs. $34,680).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Franklin College than at Principia College (100% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 1.3% larger than aid received by Franklin College students ($30,402 vs. $30,025).
Admissions details
- Typical ACT composite is 2 points higher at Franklin College of Indiana than at Principia College (23 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at Franklin College of Indiana.
- Enrolled first-year students at Franklin College of Indiana average a 3.51 high school GPA, 0.17 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.