Principia College vs. Cornell College
Principia College and Cornell College side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: Principia College. Average net price is $18,248 vs $25,220 at Cornell College.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and Cornell College with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
Cornell College My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
Cornell College 2,522
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
Cornell College 2,015
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
Cornell College 79.9%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
Cornell College 14.3%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
Cornell College 1200
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
Cornell College 26
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
Cornell College 3.53
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
Cornell College A-
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
Cornell College Challenging
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
Cornell College
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
Cornell College 1120-1285
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
Cornell College 23-30
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
Cornell College Test optional
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
Cornell College
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Cornell College $52,660
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Cornell College $52,660
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
Cornell College $11,850
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
Cornell College $25,220
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
Cornell College $41,092
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
Cornell College 100%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
Cornell College 70%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
Cornell College $45,400
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
Cornell College 74%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
Cornell College $27,000
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
Cornell College $279
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
Cornell College 14:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
Cornell College
- Social Sciences (16%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (12%)
- Biology (11%)
- Psychology (8%)
- English and Literature (8%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Cornell College Cornell College
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
Cornell College Mount Vernon, IA
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
Cornell College Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
Cornell College 1,094
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
Cornell College Private 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
Cornell College #483
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Cornell College in Mount Vernon, IA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Cornell College is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (1,094 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Cornell College is in Mount Vernon, IA (Distant Town setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Cornell College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Cornell College 14:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Cornell College are 14.8% lower than at Principia College ($11,850 vs. $13,910).
- Out-of-state tuition is 51.8% higher at Cornell College than at Principia College (about $17,980 more per year; $52,660 vs. $34,680).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Cornell College than at Principia College (100% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Cornell College students is 35.2% larger than aid received by Principia College students ($41,092 vs. $30,402).
Admissions details
- Typical ACT composite is 5 points higher at Cornell College than at Principia College (26 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at Cornell College.
- Enrolled first-year students at Cornell College average a 3.53 high school GPA, 0.19 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.
Cornell College