Principia College vs. Carroll University
Principia College and Carroll University side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: Principia College. Average net price is $18,248 vs $27,031 at Carroll University.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and Carroll University with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
Carroll University My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
Carroll University 6,164
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
Carroll University 4,120
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
Carroll University 66.8%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
Carroll University 17.5%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
Carroll University 1160
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
Carroll University 24
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
Carroll University 3.39
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
Carroll University B+
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
Carroll University Average
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
Carroll University Low
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
Carroll University 1040-1270
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
Carroll University 21-27
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
Carroll University Test optional
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
Carroll University
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Carroll University $38,890
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
Carroll University $38,890
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
Carroll University $14,280
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
Carroll University $27,031
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
Carroll University $25,634
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
Carroll University 100%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
Carroll University 57%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
Carroll University $44,200
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
Carroll University 74%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
Carroll University $27,000
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
Carroll University $279
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
Carroll University 14:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
Carroll University
- Business (17%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (12%)
- Education (12%)
- Health Professions (9%)
- Psychology (8%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Carroll University Carroll University
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
Carroll University Waukesha, WI
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
Carroll University Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
Carroll University 3,138
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
Carroll University Private 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
Carroll University #559
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Carroll University in Waukesha, WI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Carroll University is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (3,138 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Carroll University is in Waukesha, WI (Small City setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Carroll University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Carroll University 14:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Principia College are 2.6% lower than at Carroll University ($13,910 vs. $14,280).
- Out-of-state tuition is 12.1% higher at Carroll University than at Principia College (about $4,210 more per year; $38,890 vs. $34,680).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Carroll University than at Principia College (100% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 18.6% larger than aid received by Carroll University students ($30,402 vs. $25,634).
Admissions details
- Typical ACT composite is 3 points higher at Carroll University than at Principia College (24 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at Carroll University.
- Enrolled first-year students at Carroll University average a 3.39 high school GPA, 0.05 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.