PSC vs. OU
Deciding between Philander Smith University and Ottawa University Ottawa? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Philander Smith University
Ottawa University Ottawa
-
Overview
- PSC
- OU
- Location
-
PSC Little Rock, AR
-
OU Ottawa, KS
-
-
- Setting
-
PSC Midsize City
-
OU Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
PSC 780
-
OU 999
-
-
- Type
-
PSC Private 4 Year
-
OU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
PSC
-
OU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
PSC United Methodist
-
OU American Baptist
-
-
- Status
-
PSC Non-profit
-
OU Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
PSC philander.edu
-
OU ottawa.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
PSC
-
OU
-
-
-
Cost
- PSC
- OU
- Tuition (In State)
-
PSC $13,014
-
OU $35,880
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
PSC $13,014
-
OU $35,880
-
-
- Room & Board
-
PSC $10,000
-
OU $13,646
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
PSC $14,082
-
OU $28,185
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
PSC $14,283
-
OU $23,692
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
PSC 99%
-
OU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- PSC
- OU
- Applied
-
PSC -
-
OU 2,611
-
-
- Admitted
-
PSC -
-
OU 2,166
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
PSC
-
OU 83%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
PSC
-
OU 14.1%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
PSC
-
OU 880
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
PSC
-
OU 19
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
PSC 3.04
-
OU 3.12
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
PSC B
-
OU B
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
PSC Unavailable
-
OU Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
PSC
-
OU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
PSC
-
OU 16/22
-
-
- SAT Range
-
PSC
-
OU 750/1000
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
PSC Not reported
-
OU Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
PSC
-
OU
-
-
-
Academics
- PSC
- OU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
PSC 11:1
-
OU 12:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
PSC
- Business (30%)
- Social Sciences (18%)
- Biology (10%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
- Human Services (9%)
-
OU
- Business (33%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (18%)
- Education (8%)
- Communication (8%)
- English and Literature (5%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- PSC
- OU
- Graduation Rate
-
PSC 31%
-
OU 47%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
PSC $26,800
-
OU $46,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
PSC 35%
-
OU 46%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
PSC $31,000
-
OU $21,875
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
PSC $320
-
OU $226
-
-
-
Diversity
- PSC
- OU
- % Men
-
PSC 48%
-
OU 62%
-
-
- % Women
-
PSC 52%
-
OU 38%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
PSC Very Low
-
OU Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
PSC Yes
-
OU No
-
-
- % White
-
PSC 0%
-
OU 61%
-
-
- % Asian
-
PSC 1%
-
OU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
PSC 91%
-
OU 13%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
PSC 1%
-
OU 3%
-
-
- % Native American
-
PSC 0%
-
OU 5%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
PSC 0%
-
OU 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
PSC 2%
-
OU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
PSC 5%
-
OU 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
PSC 0%
-
OU 14%
-
-
-
Students
- PSC
- OU
- % In-State
-
PSC 40%
-
OU 23%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
PSC 29%
-
OU 71%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Philander Smith University in Little Rock, AR with Ottawa University Ottawa in Ottawa, KS on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Ottawa University Ottawa is larger than PSC based on total student enrollment (999 students vs. 780 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Philander Smith University is located in Little Rock, AR (Midsize City setting); Ottawa University Ottawa is in Ottawa, KS (Distant Town setting).
- Philander Smith University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Ottawa University Ottawa is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Philander Smith University 11:1; Ottawa University Ottawa 12:1.
PSC vs. OU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, PSC or OU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Philander Smith University than OU ($14,082 vs. $28,185).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Philander Smith University are 26.7% lower than at Ottawa University Ottawa ($10,000 vs. $13,646).
- Ottawa University Ottawa is 175.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than PSC (about $22,866 more per year; $35,880.00 vs. $13,014.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 175.7% higher at OU than at Philander Smith University (about $22,866 more per year; $35,880.00 vs. $13,014.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Ottawa University Ottawa than at Philander Smith University (100% vs. 99%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Ottawa University Ottawa students is 65.9% larger than aid received by Philander Smith University students ($23,692 vs. $14,283).
PSC vs. OU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, PSC or OU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between OU and PSC.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsOttawa University Ottawa 750/1000.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsOttawa University Ottawa 16/22.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: PSC - Not reported; OU - Test optional.
- Accepted freshman OU students have a 0.08 point higher average high school GPA (3.12) than students at PSC (3.04).
PSC vs. OU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for PSC and OU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Ottawa University Ottawa's six-year graduation rate (47%) is higher than Philander Smith University's (31%).
- Graduates from Ottawa University Ottawa earn a median of about $19,600 more per year than PSC graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,400 vs. $26,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Ottawa University Ottawa graduates have a $9,125 lower median loan debt than PSC graduates ($21,875 vs. $31,000).
- Among borrowers, OU graduates have an estimated $94 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than PSC graduates ($226 vs. $320).
- More OU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former PSC students, three years after graduation. (46% vs. 35%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.