PSC vs. NSU

Deciding between Philander Smith University and Northeastern State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Philander Smith University
Northeastern State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • PSC Little Rock, AR
  • NSU Tahlequah, OK
  • Setting
  • PSC Midsize City
  • NSU Remote Town
  • Total enrollment
  • PSC 780
  • NSU 6,751
  • Type
  • PSC Private 4 Year
  • NSU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • PSC
  • NSU #1039
  • Religious Affiliation
  • PSC United Methodist
  • NSU -
  • Status
  • PSC Non-profit
  • NSU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • PSC
  • NSU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • NSU $7,810
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • NSU $17,290
  • Room & Board
  • PSC $10,000
  • NSU $11,120
  • Average Net Price
  • PSC $14,082
  • NSU $12,410
  • Average Grant Aid
  • PSC $14,283
  • NSU $8,893
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • PSC 99%
  • NSU 83%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • PSC -
  • NSU 1,727
  • Admitted
  • PSC -
  • NSU 1,720
  • Acceptance Rate
  • PSC
  • NSU 99.6%
  • Enrolled
  • PSC
  • NSU 39%
  • Typical SAT score
  • PSC
  • NSU 1000
  • Typical ACT score
  • PSC
  • NSU 20
  • Average High School GPA
  • PSC 3.04
  • NSU 3.49
  • Typical High School Grades
  • PSC B
  • NSU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • PSC Unavailable
  • NSU Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • PSC
  • NSU
  • ACT Range
  • PSC
  • NSU 18/23
  • SAT Range
  • PSC
  • NSU 866/1136
  • Submit Test Scores
  • PSC Not reported
  • NSU Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • PSC
  • NSU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • PSC 11:1
  • NSU 16:1
  • Popular Majors
  • PSC
    • Business (30%)
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Biology (10%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
    • Human Services (9%)
  • NSU
    • Education (22%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Psychology (9%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (8%)
    • Biology (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • PSC 31%
  • NSU 26%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • PSC $26,800
  • NSU $40,200
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • PSC 35%
  • NSU 48%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • PSC $31,000
  • NSU $18,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • PSC $320
  • NSU $186
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • PSC 48%
  • NSU 35%
  • % Women
  • PSC 52%
  • NSU 65%
  • Racial Diversity
  • PSC Very Low
  • NSU High
  • HBCU
  • PSC Yes
  • NSU No
  • % White
  • PSC 0%
  • NSU 50%
  • % Asian
  • PSC 1%
  • NSU 2%
  • % Black
  • PSC 91%
  • NSU 4%
  • % Hispanic
  • PSC 1%
  • NSU 5%
  • % Native American
  • PSC 0%
  • NSU 19%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • PSC 0%
  • NSU 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • PSC 2%
  • NSU 17%
  • % International
  • PSC 5%
  • NSU 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • PSC 0%
  • NSU 1%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • PSC 40%
  • NSU 88%
  • % Out-of-State
  • PSC 29%
  • NSU 8%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • PSC Yes
  • NSU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • PSC No
  • NSU No
  • Meal Plan
  • PSC Yes
  • NSU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • PSC Yes
  • NSU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • PSC No
  • NSU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Philander Smith University in Little Rock, AR with Northeastern State University in Tahlequah, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Northeastern State University is larger than PSC based on total student enrollment (6,751 students vs. 780 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Philander Smith University is located in Little Rock, AR (Midsize City setting); Northeastern State University is in Tahlequah, OK (Remote Town setting).
  • Philander Smith University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Northeastern State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Philander Smith University 11:1; Northeastern State University 16:1.

PSC vs. NSU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, PSC or NSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Northeastern State University than PSC ($12,410 vs. $14,082).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Philander Smith University are 10.1% lower than at Northeastern State University ($10,000 vs. $11,120).
  • Philander Smith University is 66.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than NSU (about $5,204 more per year; $13,014.00 vs. $7,810.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 32.9% higher at NSU than at Philander Smith University (about $4,276 more per year; $17,290.00 vs. $13,014.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Philander Smith University than at Northeastern State University (99% vs. 83%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Philander Smith University students is 60.6% larger than aid received by Northeastern State University students ($14,283 vs. $8,893).

PSC vs. NSU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, PSC or NSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between NSU and PSC.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNortheastern State University 866/1136.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNortheastern State University 18/23.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: PSC - Not reported; NSU - Test optional.
  • Accepted freshman NSU students have a 0.45 point higher average high school GPA (3.49) than students at PSC (3.04).

PSC vs. NSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for PSC and NSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Philander Smith University's six-year graduation rate (31%) is higher than Northeastern State University's (26%).
  • Graduates from Northeastern State University earn a median of about $13,400 more per year than PSC graduates about ten years after starting college ($40,200 vs. $26,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Northeastern State University graduates have a $13,000 lower median loan debt than PSC graduates ($18,000 vs. $31,000).
  • Among borrowers, NSU graduates have an estimated $134 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than PSC graduates ($186 vs. $320).
  • More NSU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former PSC students, three years after graduation. (48% vs. 35%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.