PSC vs. The University of Tennessee Southern

Deciding between Philander Smith University and The University of Tennessee Southern? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Philander Smith University
The University of Tennessee Southern

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • PSC Little Rock, AR
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Pulaski, TN
  • Setting
  • PSC Midsize City
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • PSC 780
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 1,046
  • Type
  • PSC Private 4 Year
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern #907
  • Religious Affiliation
  • PSC United Methodist
  • The University of Tennessee Southern United Methodist
  • Status
  • PSC Non-profit
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $10,924
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $10,924
  • Room & Board
  • PSC $10,000
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $8,300
  • Average Net Price
  • PSC $14,082
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $14,546
  • Average Grant Aid
  • PSC $14,283
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $10,358
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • PSC 99%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 99%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • PSC -
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 760
  • Admitted
  • PSC -
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 659
  • Acceptance Rate
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 86.7% Open
  • Enrolled
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 26.1% Open
  • Typical SAT score
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 1010
  • Typical ACT score
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 21
  • Average High School GPA
  • PSC 3.04
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 3.17
  • Typical High School Grades
  • PSC B
  • The University of Tennessee Southern B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • PSC Unavailable
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern
  • ACT Range
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 18/24
  • SAT Range
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 905/1110
  • Submit Test Scores
  • PSC Not reported
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Open admission
  • Application Deadline
  • PSC
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Aug 26, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • PSC 11:1
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • PSC
    • Business (30%)
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Biology (10%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
    • Human Services (9%)
  • The University of Tennessee Southern
    • Business (18%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (13%)
    • Education (10%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (9%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • PSC 31%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 49%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • PSC $26,800
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $34,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • PSC 35%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 43%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • PSC $31,000
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $22,315
  • Median Loan Payment
  • PSC $320
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $230
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • PSC 48%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 39%
  • % Women
  • PSC 52%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 61%
  • Racial Diversity
  • PSC Very Low
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Low
  • HBCU
  • PSC Yes
  • The University of Tennessee Southern No
  • % White
  • PSC 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 73%
  • % Asian
  • PSC 1%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
  • % Black
  • PSC 91%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 11%
  • % Hispanic
  • PSC 1%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 2%
  • % Native American
  • PSC 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • PSC 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • PSC 2%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
  • % International
  • PSC 5%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 5%
  • % Unknown Race
  • PSC 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 7%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • PSC 40%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 80%
  • % Out-of-State
  • PSC 29%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 12%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • PSC Yes
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • PSC No
  • The University of Tennessee Southern No
  • Meal Plan
  • PSC Yes
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • PSC Yes
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • PSC No
  • The University of Tennessee Southern No

Comparable Facts

Compare Philander Smith University in Little Rock, AR with The University of Tennessee Southern in Pulaski, TN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

The University of Tennessee Southern is larger than PSC based on total student enrollment (1,046 students vs. 780 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Philander Smith University is located in Little Rock, AR (Midsize City setting); The University of Tennessee Southern is in Pulaski, TN (Distant Town setting).
  • Philander Smith University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. The University of Tennessee Southern is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Philander Smith University 11:1; The University of Tennessee Southern 14:1.

PSC vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, PSC or The University of Tennessee Southern? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Philander Smith University than The University of Tennessee Southern ($14,082 vs. $14,546).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at The University of Tennessee Southern are 17% lower than at Philander Smith University ($8,300 vs. $10,000).
  • Philander Smith University is 19.1% more expensive for in-state tuition than The University of Tennessee Southern (about $2,090 more per year; $13,014.00 vs. $10,924.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 19.1% higher at PSC than at The University of Tennessee Southern (about $2,090 more per year; $13,014.00 vs. $10,924.00).
  • The same share of students receive grant aid at Philander Smith University as at The University of Tennessee Southern (99% vs. 99%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Philander Smith University students is 37.9% larger than aid received by The University of Tennessee Southern students ($14,283 vs. $10,358).

PSC vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, PSC or The University of Tennessee Southern? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between The University of Tennessee Southern and PSC.

  • The University of Tennessee Southern reports an open admissions policy.
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsThe University of Tennessee Southern 905/1110.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsThe University of Tennessee Southern 18/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: PSC - Not reported; The University of Tennessee Southern - Open admission.
  • Typical fall application deadline: The University of Tennessee Southern Aug 26, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman The University of Tennessee Southern students have a 0.13 point higher average high school GPA (3.17) than students at PSC (3.04).

PSC vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for PSC and The University of Tennessee Southern? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • The University of Tennessee Southern's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than Philander Smith University's (31%).
  • Graduates from The University of Tennessee Southern earn a median of about $8,100 more per year than PSC graduates about ten years after starting college ($34,900 vs. $26,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, The University of Tennessee Southern graduates have a $8,685 lower median loan debt than PSC graduates ($22,315 vs. $31,000).
  • Among borrowers, The University of Tennessee Southern graduates have an estimated $90 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than PSC graduates ($230 vs. $320).
  • More The University of Tennessee Southern graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former PSC students, three years after graduation. (43% vs. 35%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.