PSC vs. The King's University

Deciding between Philander Smith University and The King's University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Philander Smith University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • PSC Little Rock, AR
  • The King's University Southlake, TX
  • Setting
  • PSC Midsize City
  • The King's University Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • PSC 780
  • The King's University 540
  • Type
  • PSC Private 4 Year
  • The King's University Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • PSC
  • The King's University
  • Religious Affiliation
  • PSC United Methodist
  • The King's University Interdenominational
  • Status
  • PSC Non-profit
  • The King's University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • PSC
  • The King's University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • The King's University $12,480
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • The King's University $12,480
  • Room & Board
  • PSC $10,000
  • The King's University $11,717
  • Average Net Price
  • PSC $14,082
  • The King's University $13,940
  • Average Grant Aid
  • PSC $14,283
  • The King's University $6,896
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • PSC 99%
  • The King's University 36%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • PSC -
  • The King's University 94
  • Admitted
  • PSC -
  • The King's University 57
  • Acceptance Rate
  • PSC
  • The King's University 60.6%
  • Enrolled
  • PSC
  • The King's University 19.3%
  • Typical SAT score
  • PSC
  • The King's University 1000
  • Typical ACT score
  • PSC
  • The King's University
  • Average High School GPA
  • PSC 3.04
  • The King's University -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • PSC B
  • The King's University -
  • Admissions Standards
  • PSC Unavailable
  • The King's University Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • PSC
  • The King's University Low
  • ACT Range
  • PSC
  • The King's University
  • SAT Range
  • PSC
  • The King's University 870/1130
  • Submit Test Scores
  • PSC Not reported
  • The King's University Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • PSC
  • The King's University Jul 29, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • PSC 11:1
  • The King's University 10:1
  • Popular Majors
  • PSC
    • Business (30%)
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Biology (10%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
    • Human Services (9%)
  • The King's University
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (100%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • PSC 31%
  • The King's University 50%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • PSC $26,800
  • The King's University $46,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • PSC 35%
  • The King's University 42%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • PSC $31,000
  • The King's University N/A
  • Median Loan Payment
  • PSC $320
  • The King's University N/A
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • PSC 48%
  • The King's University 41%
  • % Women
  • PSC 52%
  • The King's University 59%
  • Racial Diversity
  • PSC Very Low
  • The King's University High
  • HBCU
  • PSC Yes
  • The King's University No
  • % White
  • PSC 0%
  • The King's University 62%
  • % Asian
  • PSC 1%
  • The King's University 3%
  • % Black
  • PSC 91%
  • The King's University 11%
  • % Hispanic
  • PSC 1%
  • The King's University 14%
  • % Native American
  • PSC 0%
  • The King's University 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • PSC 0%
  • The King's University 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • PSC 2%
  • The King's University 7%
  • % International
  • PSC 5%
  • The King's University 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • PSC 0%
  • The King's University 1%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • PSC 40%
  • The King's University 64%
  • % Out-of-State
  • PSC 29%
  • The King's University 36%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • PSC Yes
  • The King's University No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • PSC No
  • The King's University No
  • Meal Plan
  • PSC Yes
  • The King's University No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • PSC Yes
  • The King's University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • PSC No
  • The King's University No

Comparable Facts

Compare Philander Smith University in Little Rock, AR with The King's University in Southlake, TX on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Philander Smith University is larger than The King's University based on total student enrollment (780 students vs. 540 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Philander Smith University is located in Little Rock, AR (Midsize City setting); The King's University is in Southlake, TX (Large City setting).
  • Philander Smith University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. The King's University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Philander Smith University 11:1; The King's University 10:1.

PSC vs. The King's University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, PSC or The King's University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at The King's University than PSC ($13,940 vs. $14,082).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Philander Smith University are 14.7% lower than at The King's University ($10,000 vs. $11,717).
  • Philander Smith University is 4.3% more expensive for in-state tuition than The King's University (about $534 more per year; $13,014.00 vs. $12,480.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 4.3% higher at PSC than at The King's University (about $534 more per year; $13,014.00 vs. $12,480.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Philander Smith University than at The King's University (99% vs. 36%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Philander Smith University students is 107.1% larger than aid received by The King's University students ($14,283 vs. $6,896).

PSC vs. The King's University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, PSC or The King's University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between The King's University and PSC.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsThe King's University 870/1130.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: PSC - Not reported; The King's University - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: The King's University Jul 29, 2027.

PSC vs. The King's University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for PSC and The King's University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • The King's University's six-year graduation rate (50%) is higher than Philander Smith University's (31%).
  • Graduates from The King's University earn a median of about $19,200 more per year than PSC graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,000 vs. $26,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • More The King's University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former PSC students, three years after graduation. (42% vs. 35%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.