PSC vs. Calvary University

Deciding between Philander Smith University and Calvary University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Philander Smith University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • PSC Little Rock, AR
  • Calvary University Kansas City, MO
  • Setting
  • PSC Midsize City
  • Calvary University Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • PSC 780
  • Calvary University 244
  • Type
  • PSC Private 4 Year
  • Calvary University Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • PSC
  • Calvary University
  • Religious Affiliation
  • PSC United Methodist
  • Calvary University Other Protestant
  • Status
  • PSC Non-profit
  • Calvary University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • PSC
  • Calvary University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • Calvary University $14,094
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • Calvary University $14,094
  • Room & Board
  • PSC $10,000
  • Calvary University $6,492
  • Average Net Price
  • PSC $14,082
  • Calvary University $17,066
  • Average Grant Aid
  • PSC $14,283
  • Calvary University $4,836
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • PSC 99%
  • Calvary University 88%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • PSC -
  • Calvary University 46
  • Admitted
  • PSC -
  • Calvary University 33
  • Acceptance Rate
  • PSC
  • Calvary University 71.7%
  • Enrolled
  • PSC
  • Calvary University 81.8%
  • Typical SAT score
  • PSC
  • Calvary University 1060
  • Typical ACT score
  • PSC
  • Calvary University 20
  • Average High School GPA
  • PSC 3.04
  • Calvary University 3.37
  • Typical High School Grades
  • PSC B
  • Calvary University B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • PSC Unavailable
  • Calvary University Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • PSC
  • Calvary University Low
  • ACT Range
  • PSC
  • Calvary University 17/24
  • SAT Range
  • PSC
  • Calvary University 980/1140
  • Submit Test Scores
  • PSC Not reported
  • Calvary University Required
  • Application Deadline
  • PSC
  • Calvary University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • PSC 11:1
  • Calvary University 7:1
  • Popular Majors
  • PSC
    • Business (30%)
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Biology (10%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
    • Human Services (9%)
  • Calvary University
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (66%)
    • General Studies (13%)
    • Business (8%)
    • Education (7%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (3%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • PSC 31%
  • Calvary University 43%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • PSC $26,800
  • Calvary University $36,100
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • PSC 35%
  • Calvary University 56%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • PSC $31,000
  • Calvary University $20,946
  • Median Loan Payment
  • PSC $320
  • Calvary University $216
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • PSC 48%
  • Calvary University 54%
  • % Women
  • PSC 52%
  • Calvary University 46%
  • Racial Diversity
  • PSC Very Low
  • Calvary University Low
  • HBCU
  • PSC Yes
  • Calvary University No
  • % White
  • PSC 0%
  • Calvary University 80%
  • % Asian
  • PSC 1%
  • Calvary University 2%
  • % Black
  • PSC 91%
  • Calvary University 11%
  • % Hispanic
  • PSC 1%
  • Calvary University 3%
  • % Native American
  • PSC 0%
  • Calvary University 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • PSC 0%
  • Calvary University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • PSC 2%
  • Calvary University 3%
  • % International
  • PSC 5%
  • Calvary University 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • PSC 0%
  • Calvary University 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • PSC 40%
  • Calvary University 22%
  • % Out-of-State
  • PSC 29%
  • Calvary University 74%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • PSC Yes
  • Calvary University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • PSC No
  • Calvary University No
  • Meal Plan
  • PSC Yes
  • Calvary University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • PSC Yes
  • Calvary University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • PSC No
  • Calvary University No

Comparable Facts

Compare Philander Smith University in Little Rock, AR with Calvary University in Kansas City, MO on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Philander Smith University is larger than Calvary University based on total student enrollment (780 students vs. 244 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Philander Smith University is located in Little Rock, AR (Midsize City setting); Calvary University is in Kansas City, MO (Large City setting).
  • Philander Smith University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Calvary University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Philander Smith University 11:1; Calvary University 7:1.

PSC vs. Calvary University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, PSC or Calvary University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Philander Smith University than Calvary University ($14,082 vs. $17,066).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Calvary University are 35.1% lower than at Philander Smith University ($6,492 vs. $10,000).
  • Calvary University is 8.3% more expensive for in-state tuition than PSC (about $1,080 more per year; $14,094.00 vs. $13,014.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 8.3% higher at Calvary University than at Philander Smith University (about $1,080 more per year; $14,094.00 vs. $13,014.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Philander Smith University than at Calvary University (99% vs. 88%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Philander Smith University students is 195.3% larger than aid received by Calvary University students ($14,283 vs. $4,836).

PSC vs. Calvary University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, PSC or Calvary University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Calvary University and PSC.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsCalvary University 980/1140.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsCalvary University 17/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: PSC - Not reported; Calvary University - Required.
  • Accepted freshman Calvary University students have a 0.33 point higher average high school GPA (3.37) than students at PSC (3.04).

PSC vs. Calvary University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for PSC and Calvary University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Calvary University's six-year graduation rate (43%) is higher than Philander Smith University's (31%).
  • Graduates from Calvary University earn a median of about $9,300 more per year than PSC graduates about ten years after starting college ($36,100 vs. $26,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Calvary University graduates have a $10,054 lower median loan debt than PSC graduates ($20,946 vs. $31,000).
  • Among borrowers, Calvary University graduates have an estimated $104 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than PSC graduates ($216 vs. $320).
  • More Calvary University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former PSC students, three years after graduation. (56% vs. 35%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.