Pennsylvania Institute of Technology vs. Fortis Institute-Scranton

Deciding between Pennsylvania Institute of Technology and Fortis Institute Scranton? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Media, PA
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Scranton, PA
  • Setting
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Large Suburban
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 810
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 372
  • Type
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Private 2 Year
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Private 2 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Status
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Non-profit
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton For-profit
  • Website
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology pit.edu
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton fortis.edu
  • Team Colors
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology $14,850
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $15,348
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology $14,850
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $15,348
  • Room & Board
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology $14,500
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $11,475
  • Average Net Price
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology $17,980
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $20,176
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology $6,307
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $9,859
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 96%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 86%
  • Admissions

  • Admission Chances
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Calculate
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Calculate
  • Applied
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Admitted
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Open
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Enrolled
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Open
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Typical SAT score
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Typical ACT score
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Average High School GPA
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Admissions Standards
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Unavailable
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • ACT Range
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • SAT Range
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Open admission
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 17:1
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology
    • Health Professions (87%)
    • Engineering Technology (9%)
    • Business (3%)
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
    • Health Professions (96%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (4%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology $34,300
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $22,600
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 22%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 30%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology $11,046
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $14,624
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology $114
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $151
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 10%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 29%
  • % Women
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 90%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 71%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Medium
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Medium
  • HBCU
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • % White
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 12%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 74%
  • % Asian
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 2%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 1%
  • % Black
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 62%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 14%
  • % Hispanic
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 5%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 11%
  • % Native American
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 0%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 0%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 2%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • % International
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 0%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 16%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 83%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 100%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 17%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • Meal Plan
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Yes
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • Learn More
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Details
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Pennsylvania Institute of Technology in Media, PA with Fortis Institute Scranton in Scranton, PA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Pennsylvania Institute of Technology is larger than Fortis Institute-Scranton based on total student enrollment (810 students vs. 372 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology is located in Media, PA (Large Suburban setting); Fortis Institute Scranton is in Scranton, PA (Small City setting).
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology is a private, non-profit 2-year institution. Fortis Institute Scranton is a private, for-profit 2-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Pennsylvania Institute of Technology 17:1; Fortis Institute Scranton 15:1.

Pennsylvania Institute of Technology vs. Fortis Institute-Scranton Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Pennsylvania Institute of Technology or Fortis Institute-Scranton? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Pennsylvania Institute of Technology than Fortis Institute-Scranton ($17,980 vs. $20,176).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Fortis Institute Scranton are 20.9% lower than at Pennsylvania Institute of Technology ($11,475 vs. $14,500).
  • Fortis Institute Scranton is 3.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than Pennsylvania Institute of Technology (about $498 more per year; $15,348.00 vs. $14,850.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 3.4% higher at Fortis Institute-Scranton than at Pennsylvania Institute of Technology (about $498 more per year; $15,348.00 vs. $14,850.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Pennsylvania Institute of Technology than at Fortis Institute Scranton (96% vs. 86%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Fortis Institute Scranton students is 56.3% larger than aid received by Pennsylvania Institute of Technology students ($9,859 vs. $6,307).

Pennsylvania Institute of Technology vs. Fortis Institute-Scranton Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Pennsylvania Institute of Technology or Fortis Institute-Scranton? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Fortis Institute-Scranton and Pennsylvania Institute of Technology.

  • Pennsylvania Institute of Technology reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Pennsylvania Institute of Technology - Open admission; Fortis Institute-Scranton - Not reported.

Pennsylvania Institute of Technology vs. Fortis Institute-Scranton Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Pennsylvania Institute of Technology and Fortis Institute-Scranton? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Pennsylvania Institute of Technology earn a median of about $11,700 more per year than Fortis Institute-Scranton graduates about ten years after starting college ($34,300 vs. $22,600), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Pennsylvania Institute of Technology graduates have a $3,578 lower median loan debt than Fortis Institute-Scranton graduates ($11,046 vs. $14,624).
  • Among borrowers, Pennsylvania Institute of Technology graduates have an estimated $37 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Fortis Institute-Scranton graduates ($114 vs. $151).
  • More Fortis Institute-Scranton graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Pennsylvania Institute of Technology students, three years after graduation. (30% vs. 22%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.