Paine College vs. SCU

Deciding between Paine College and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Paine College Augusta, GA
  • SCU Bethany, OK
  • Setting
  • Paine College Midsize City
  • SCU Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Paine College 390
  • SCU 399
  • Type
  • Paine College Private 4 Year
  • SCU Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Paine College
  • SCU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Paine College United Methodist
  • SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
  • Status
  • Paine College Non-profit
  • SCU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Paine College
  • SCU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Paine College $14,596
  • SCU $21,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Paine College $14,596
  • SCU $21,900
  • Room & Board
  • Paine College $7,512
  • SCU $10,100
  • Average Net Price
  • Paine College $15,935
  • SCU $20,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Paine College $12,145
  • SCU $12,784
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Paine College 100%
  • SCU 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Paine College 3,105
  • SCU -
  • Admitted
  • Paine College 2,963
  • SCU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Paine College 95.4%
  • SCU
  • Enrolled
  • Paine College 3.6%
  • SCU
  • Typical SAT score
  • Paine College 880
  • SCU
  • Typical ACT score
  • Paine College 17
  • SCU
  • Average High School GPA
  • Paine College 2.81
  • SCU 3.22
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Paine College B-
  • SCU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Paine College Extremely Easy
  • SCU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Paine College
  • SCU
  • ACT Range
  • Paine College 15/19
  • SCU
  • SAT Range
  • Paine College 776/976
  • SCU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Paine College Test-free
  • SCU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Paine College Jul 1, 2027
  • SCU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Paine College 11:1
  • SCU 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Paine College
    • Business (19%)
    • Communication (16%)
    • Social Sciences (15%)
    • Biology (14%)
    • Psychology (11%)
  • SCU
    • Human Services (34%)
    • Business (27%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Paine College 27%
  • SCU 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Paine College $28,400
  • SCU $27,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Paine College 15%
  • SCU 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Paine College $35,750
  • SCU $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Paine College $369
  • SCU $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Paine College 42%
  • SCU 61%
  • % Women
  • Paine College 58%
  • SCU 39%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Paine College Very Low
  • SCU High
  • HBCU
  • Paine College Yes
  • SCU No
  • % White
  • Paine College 2%
  • SCU 44%
  • % Asian
  • Paine College 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Black
  • Paine College 89%
  • SCU 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • Paine College 2%
  • SCU 8%
  • % Native American
  • Paine College 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Paine College 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Paine College 2%
  • SCU 3%
  • % International
  • Paine College 3%
  • SCU 10%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Paine College 2%
  • SCU 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Paine College 45%
  • SCU 72%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Paine College 45%
  • SCU 15%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Paine College Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Paine College No
  • SCU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Paine College Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Paine College No
  • SCU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Paine College No
  • SCU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Paine College in Augusta, GA with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Southwestern Christian University is larger than Paine College based on total student enrollment (399 students vs. 390 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Paine College is located in Augusta, GA (Midsize City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
  • Paine College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Paine College 11:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.

Paine College vs. SCU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Paine College or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Paine College than SCU ($15,935 vs. $20,528).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Paine College are 25.6% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($7,512 vs. $10,100).
  • Southwestern Christian University is 50% more expensive for in-state tuition than Paine College (about $7,304 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $14,596.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 50% higher at SCU than at Paine College (about $7,304 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $14,596.00).
  • The same share of students receive grant aid at Paine College as at Southwestern Christian University (100% vs. 100%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Christian University students is 5.3% larger than aid received by Paine College students ($12,784 vs. $12,145).

Paine College vs. SCU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Paine College or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Paine College.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Paine College 776/976.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Paine College 15/19.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Paine College - Test-free; SCU - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Paine College Jul 1, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman SCU students have a 0.41 point higher average high school GPA (3.22) than students at Paine College (2.81).

Paine College vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Paine College and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Southwestern Christian University's six-year graduation rate (28%) is higher than Paine College's (27%).
  • Graduates from Paine College earn a median of about $1,000 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($28,400 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Christian University graduates have a $8,750 lower median loan debt than Paine College graduates ($27,000 vs. $35,750).
  • Among borrowers, SCU graduates have an estimated $90 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Paine College graduates ($279 vs. $369).
  • More SCU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Paine College students, three years after graduation. (38% vs. 15%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.