Ozark Christian College vs. SWOSU

Deciding between Ozark Christian College and Southwestern Oklahoma State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Ozark Christian College Joplin, MO
  • SWOSU Weatherford, OK
  • Setting
  • Ozark Christian College Small City
  • SWOSU Remote Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Ozark Christian College 736
  • SWOSU 5,186
  • Type
  • Ozark Christian College Private 4 Year
  • SWOSU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Ozark Christian College
  • SWOSU #1040
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Ozark Christian College Christian Churches and Churches of Christ
  • SWOSU -
  • Status
  • Ozark Christian College Non-profit
  • SWOSU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Ozark Christian College
  • SWOSU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Ozark Christian College $16,000
  • SWOSU $8,469
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Ozark Christian College $16,000
  • SWOSU $8,499
  • Room & Board
  • Ozark Christian College $9,070
  • SWOSU $7,634
  • Average Net Price
  • Ozark Christian College $20,807
  • SWOSU $14,410
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Ozark Christian College $7,685
  • SWOSU $8,906
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Ozark Christian College 100%
  • SWOSU 88%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Ozark Christian College 266
  • SWOSU -
  • Admitted
  • Ozark Christian College 249
  • SWOSU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Ozark Christian College 93.6% Open
  • SWOSU
  • Enrolled
  • Ozark Christian College 59.4% Open
  • SWOSU
  • Typical SAT score
  • Ozark Christian College
  • SWOSU
  • Typical ACT score
  • Ozark Christian College
  • SWOSU 20
  • Average High School GPA
  • Ozark Christian College 3.32
  • SWOSU 3.53
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Ozark Christian College B+
  • SWOSU A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Ozark Christian College Unavailable
  • SWOSU Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Ozark Christian College
  • SWOSU
  • ACT Range
  • Ozark Christian College
  • SWOSU 18/23
  • SAT Range
  • Ozark Christian College
  • SWOSU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Ozark Christian College Open admission
  • SWOSU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Ozark Christian College Aug 5, 2027
  • SWOSU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Ozark Christian College 17:1
  • SWOSU 19:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Ozark Christian College
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (97%)
    • Education (2%)
    • Foreign Languages (1%)
  • SWOSU
    • Health Professions (28%)
    • Business (16%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (8%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (5%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Ozark Christian College 39%
  • SWOSU 33%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Ozark Christian College $32,200
  • SWOSU $48,600
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Ozark Christian College 63%
  • SWOSU 54%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Ozark Christian College $17,500
  • SWOSU $15,687
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Ozark Christian College $180
  • SWOSU $162
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Ozark Christian College 56%
  • SWOSU 35%
  • % Women
  • Ozark Christian College 44%
  • SWOSU 65%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Ozark Christian College Very Low
  • SWOSU Medium
  • HBCU
  • Ozark Christian College No
  • SWOSU No
  • % White
  • Ozark Christian College 85%
  • SWOSU 67%
  • % Asian
  • Ozark Christian College 0%
  • SWOSU 2%
  • % Black
  • Ozark Christian College 2%
  • SWOSU 5%
  • % Hispanic
  • Ozark Christian College 5%
  • SWOSU 8%
  • % Native American
  • Ozark Christian College 1%
  • SWOSU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Ozark Christian College 0%
  • SWOSU 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Ozark Christian College 4%
  • SWOSU 7%
  • % International
  • Ozark Christian College 2%
  • SWOSU 5%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Ozark Christian College 0%
  • SWOSU 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Ozark Christian College 29%
  • SWOSU 90%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Ozark Christian College 71%
  • SWOSU 7%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Ozark Christian College Yes
  • SWOSU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Ozark Christian College No
  • SWOSU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Ozark Christian College Yes
  • SWOSU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Ozark Christian College No
  • SWOSU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Ozark Christian College No
  • SWOSU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Ozark Christian College in Joplin, MO with Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University is larger than Ozark Christian College based on total student enrollment (5,186 students vs. 736 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Ozark Christian College is located in Joplin, MO (Small City setting); Southwestern Oklahoma State University is in Weatherford, OK (Remote Town setting).
  • Ozark Christian College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Oklahoma State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Ozark Christian College 17:1; Southwestern Oklahoma State University 19:1.

Ozark Christian College vs. SWOSU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Ozark Christian College or SWOSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Oklahoma State University than Ozark Christian College ($14,410 vs. $20,807).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Oklahoma State University are 15.8% lower than at Ozark Christian College ($7,634 vs. $9,070).
  • Ozark Christian College is 88.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than SWOSU (about $7,531 more per year; $16,000.00 vs. $8,469.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 88.3% higher at Ozark Christian College than at Southwestern Oklahoma State University (about $7,501 more per year; $16,000.00 vs. $8,499.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Ozark Christian College than at Southwestern Oklahoma State University (100% vs. 88%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Oklahoma State University students is 15.9% larger than aid received by Ozark Christian College students ($8,906 vs. $7,685).

Ozark Christian College vs. SWOSU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Ozark Christian College or SWOSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SWOSU and Ozark Christian College.

  • Ozark Christian College reports an open admissions policy.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scoresSouthwestern Oklahoma State University 18/23.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Ozark Christian College - Open admission; SWOSU - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Ozark Christian College Aug 5, 2027.
  • Enrolled freshman SWOSU students have a 0.21 point higher average high school GPA (3.53) than students at Ozark Christian College (3.32).

Ozark Christian College vs. SWOSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Ozark Christian College and SWOSU? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Ozark Christian College's six-year graduation rate (39%) is higher than Southwestern Oklahoma State University's (33%).
  • Graduates from Southwestern Oklahoma State University earn a median of about $16,400 more per year than Ozark Christian College graduates about ten years after starting college ($48,600 vs. $32,200), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Oklahoma State University graduates have a $1,813 lower median loan debt than Ozark Christian College graduates ($15,687 vs. $17,500).
  • Among borrowers, SWOSU graduates have an estimated $18 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Ozark Christian College graduates ($162 vs. $180).
  • More Ozark Christian College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SWOSU students, three years after graduation. (63% vs. 54%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.