Ozark Christian College vs. SCU
Deciding between Ozark Christian College and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Ozark Christian College
Southwestern Christian University
-
Overview
- Ozark Christian College
- SCU
- Location
-
Ozark Christian College Joplin, MO
-
SCU Bethany, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
Ozark Christian College Small City
-
SCU Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Ozark Christian College 736
-
SCU 399
-
-
- Type
-
Ozark Christian College Private 4 Year
-
SCU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Ozark Christian College
-
SCU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Ozark Christian College Christian Churches and Churches of Christ
-
SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
-
-
- Status
-
Ozark Christian College Non-profit
-
SCU Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Ozark Christian College
-
SCU
-
-
-
Cost
- Ozark Christian College
- SCU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Ozark Christian College $16,000
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Ozark Christian College $16,000
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Ozark Christian College $9,070
-
SCU $10,100
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Ozark Christian College $20,807
-
SCU $20,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Ozark Christian College $7,685
-
SCU $12,784
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Ozark Christian College 100%
-
SCU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Ozark Christian College
- SCU
- Applied
-
Ozark Christian College 266
-
SCU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Ozark Christian College 249
-
SCU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Ozark Christian College 93.6% Open
-
SCU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Ozark Christian College 59.4% Open
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Ozark Christian College
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Ozark Christian College
-
SCU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Ozark Christian College 3.32
-
SCU 3.22
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Ozark Christian College B+
-
SCU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Ozark Christian College Unavailable
-
SCU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Ozark Christian College
-
SCU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Ozark Christian College
-
SCU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Ozark Christian College
-
SCU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Ozark Christian College Open admission
-
SCU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Ozark Christian College Aug 5, 2027
-
SCU
-
-
-
Academics
- Ozark Christian College
- SCU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Ozark Christian College 17:1
-
SCU 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Ozark Christian College
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (97%)
- Education (2%)
- Foreign Languages (1%)
-
SCU
- Human Services (34%)
- Business (27%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Ozark Christian College
- SCU
- Graduation Rate
-
Ozark Christian College 39%
-
SCU 28%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Ozark Christian College $32,200
-
SCU $27,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Ozark Christian College 63%
-
SCU 38%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Ozark Christian College $17,500
-
SCU $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Ozark Christian College $180
-
SCU $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- Ozark Christian College
- SCU
- % Men
-
Ozark Christian College 56%
-
SCU 61%
-
-
- % Women
-
Ozark Christian College 44%
-
SCU 39%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Ozark Christian College Very Low
-
SCU High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Ozark Christian College No
-
SCU No
-
-
- % White
-
Ozark Christian College 85%
-
SCU 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Ozark Christian College 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Ozark Christian College 2%
-
SCU 25%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Ozark Christian College 5%
-
SCU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Ozark Christian College 1%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Ozark Christian College 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Ozark Christian College 4%
-
SCU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
Ozark Christian College 2%
-
SCU 10%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Ozark Christian College 0%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
-
Students
- Ozark Christian College
- SCU
- % In-State
-
Ozark Christian College 29%
-
SCU 72%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Ozark Christian College 71%
-
SCU 15%
-
-
-
Campus
- Ozark Christian College
- SCU
- Campus Housing
-
Ozark Christian College Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Ozark Christian College No
-
SCU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Ozark Christian College Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Ozark Christian College No
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Ozark Christian College No
-
SCU No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Ozark Christian College in Joplin, MO with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Ozark Christian College is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (736 students vs. 399 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Ozark Christian College is located in Joplin, MO (Small City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
- Ozark Christian College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Ozark Christian College 17:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.
Ozark Christian College vs. SCU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Ozark Christian College or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Christian University than Ozark Christian College ($20,528 vs. $20,807).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Ozark Christian College are 10.2% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($9,070 vs. $10,100).
- Southwestern Christian University is 36.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Ozark Christian College (about $5,900 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $16,000.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 36.9% higher at SCU than at Ozark Christian College (about $5,900 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $16,000.00).
- The same share of students receive grant aid at Ozark Christian College as at Southwestern Christian University (100% vs. 100%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Christian University students is 66.4% larger than aid received by Ozark Christian College students ($12,784 vs. $7,685).
Ozark Christian College vs. SCU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Ozark Christian College or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Ozark Christian College.
- Ozark Christian College reports an open admissions policy.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Ozark Christian College - Open admission; SCU - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: Ozark Christian College Aug 5, 2027.
- Accepted freshman Ozark Christian College students have a 0.1 point higher average high school GPA (3.32) than students at SCU (3.22).
Ozark Christian College vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Ozark Christian College and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Ozark Christian College's six-year graduation rate (39%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
- Graduates from Ozark Christian College earn a median of about $4,800 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($32,200 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Ozark Christian College graduates have a $9,500 lower median loan debt than SCU graduates ($17,500 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Ozark Christian College graduates have an estimated $99 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than SCU graduates ($180 vs. $279).
- More Ozark Christian College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (63% vs. 38%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.