OU vs. Washburn University

Deciding between Ottawa University Ottawa and Washburn University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • OU Ottawa, KS
  • Washburn University Topeka, KS
  • Setting
  • OU Distant Town
  • Washburn University Midsize City
  • Total enrollment
  • OU 999
  • Washburn University 6,033
  • Type
  • OU Private 4 Year
  • Washburn University Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • OU
  • Washburn University
  • Religious Affiliation
  • OU American Baptist
  • Washburn University -
  • Status
  • OU Non-profit
  • Washburn University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • OU
  • Washburn University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • OU $35,880
  • Washburn University $9,945
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • OU $35,880
  • Washburn University $20,949
  • Room & Board
  • OU $13,646
  • Washburn University $11,501
  • Average Net Price
  • OU $28,185
  • Washburn University $11,488
  • Average Grant Aid
  • OU $23,692
  • Washburn University $9,781
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • OU 100%
  • Washburn University 95%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • OU 2,611
  • Washburn University -
  • Admitted
  • OU 2,166
  • Washburn University -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • OU 83%
  • Washburn University
  • Enrolled
  • OU 14.1%
  • Washburn University
  • Typical SAT score
  • OU 880
  • Washburn University
  • Typical ACT score
  • OU 19
  • Washburn University
  • Average High School GPA
  • OU 3.12
  • Washburn University 3.46
  • Typical High School Grades
  • OU B
  • Washburn University B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • OU Extremely Easy
  • Washburn University Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • OU
  • Washburn University
  • ACT Range
  • OU 16/22
  • Washburn University
  • SAT Range
  • OU 750/1000
  • Washburn University
  • Submit Test Scores
  • OU Test optional
  • Washburn University Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • OU
  • Washburn University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • OU 12:1
  • Washburn University 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • OU
    • Business (33%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (18%)
    • Education (8%)
    • Communication (8%)
    • English and Literature (5%)
  • Washburn University
    • Health Professions (38%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Education (6%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
    • Communication (5%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • OU 47%
  • Washburn University 37%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • OU $46,400
  • Washburn University $42,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • OU 46%
  • Washburn University 49%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • OU $21,875
  • Washburn University $16,900
  • Median Loan Payment
  • OU $226
  • Washburn University $174
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • OU 62%
  • Washburn University 35%
  • % Women
  • OU 38%
  • Washburn University 65%
  • Racial Diversity
  • OU Medium
  • Washburn University Low
  • HBCU
  • OU No
  • Washburn University No
  • % White
  • OU 61%
  • Washburn University 64%
  • % Asian
  • OU 1%
  • Washburn University 1%
  • % Black
  • OU 13%
  • Washburn University 6%
  • % Hispanic
  • OU 3%
  • Washburn University 8%
  • % Native American
  • OU 5%
  • Washburn University 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • OU 0%
  • Washburn University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • OU 3%
  • Washburn University 4%
  • % International
  • OU 0%
  • Washburn University 3%
  • % Unknown Race
  • OU 14%
  • Washburn University 14%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • OU 23%
  • Washburn University 87%
  • % Out-of-State
  • OU 71%
  • Washburn University 2%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • OU Yes
  • Washburn University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • OU No
  • Washburn University No
  • Meal Plan
  • OU Yes
  • Washburn University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • OU No
  • Washburn University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • OU No
  • Washburn University No

Comparable Facts

Compare Ottawa University Ottawa in Ottawa, KS with Washburn University in Topeka, KS on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Washburn University is larger than OU based on total student enrollment (6,033 students vs. 999 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Ottawa University Ottawa is located in Ottawa, KS (Distant Town setting); Washburn University is in Topeka, KS (Midsize City setting).
  • Ottawa University Ottawa is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Washburn University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Ottawa University Ottawa 12:1; Washburn University 15:1.

OU vs. Washburn University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, OU or Washburn University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Washburn University than OU ($11,488 vs. $28,185).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Washburn University are 15.7% lower than at Ottawa University Ottawa ($11,501 vs. $13,646).
  • Ottawa University Ottawa is 260.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than Washburn University (about $25,935 more per year; $35,880.00 vs. $9,945.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 71.3% higher at OU than at Washburn University (about $14,931 more per year; $35,880.00 vs. $20,949.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Ottawa University Ottawa than at Washburn University (100% vs. 95%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Ottawa University Ottawa students is 142.2% larger than aid received by Washburn University students ($23,692 vs. $9,781).

OU vs. Washburn University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, OU or Washburn University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Washburn University and OU.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Ottawa University Ottawa 750/1000.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Ottawa University Ottawa 16/22.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: OU - Test optional; Washburn University - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman Washburn University students have a 0.34 point higher average high school GPA (3.46) than students at OU (3.12).

OU vs. Washburn University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for OU and Washburn University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Ottawa University Ottawa's six-year graduation rate (47%) is higher than Washburn University's (37%).
  • Graduates from Ottawa University Ottawa earn a median of about $4,100 more per year than Washburn University graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,400 vs. $42,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Washburn University graduates have a $4,975 lower median loan debt than OU graduates ($16,900 vs. $21,875).
  • Among borrowers, Washburn University graduates have an estimated $52 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than OU graduates ($174 vs. $226).
  • More Washburn University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former OU students, three years after graduation. (49% vs. 46%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.