OU vs. SWOSU

Deciding between Ottawa University Ottawa and Southwestern Oklahoma State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • OU Ottawa, KS
  • SWOSU Weatherford, OK
  • Setting
  • OU Distant Town
  • SWOSU Remote Town
  • Total enrollment
  • OU 999
  • SWOSU 5,186
  • Type
  • OU Private 4 Year
  • SWOSU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • OU
  • SWOSU #1040
  • Religious Affiliation
  • OU American Baptist
  • SWOSU -
  • Status
  • OU Non-profit
  • SWOSU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • OU
  • SWOSU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • OU $35,880
  • SWOSU $8,469
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • OU $35,880
  • SWOSU $8,499
  • Room & Board
  • OU $13,646
  • SWOSU $7,634
  • Average Net Price
  • OU $28,185
  • SWOSU $14,410
  • Average Grant Aid
  • OU $23,692
  • SWOSU $8,906
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • OU 100%
  • SWOSU 88%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • OU 2,611
  • SWOSU -
  • Admitted
  • OU 2,166
  • SWOSU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • OU 83%
  • SWOSU
  • Enrolled
  • OU 14.1%
  • SWOSU
  • Typical SAT score
  • OU 880
  • SWOSU
  • Typical ACT score
  • OU 19
  • SWOSU 20
  • Average High School GPA
  • OU 3.12
  • SWOSU 3.53
  • Typical High School Grades
  • OU B
  • SWOSU A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • OU Extremely Easy
  • SWOSU Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • OU
  • SWOSU
  • ACT Range
  • OU 16/22
  • SWOSU 18/23
  • SAT Range
  • OU 750/1000
  • SWOSU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • OU Test optional
  • SWOSU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • OU
  • SWOSU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • OU 12:1
  • SWOSU 19:1
  • Popular Majors
  • OU
    • Business (33%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (18%)
    • Education (8%)
    • Communication (8%)
    • English and Literature (5%)
  • SWOSU
    • Health Professions (28%)
    • Business (16%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (8%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (5%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • OU 47%
  • SWOSU 33%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • OU $46,400
  • SWOSU $48,600
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • OU 46%
  • SWOSU 54%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • OU $21,875
  • SWOSU $15,687
  • Median Loan Payment
  • OU $226
  • SWOSU $162
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • OU 62%
  • SWOSU 35%
  • % Women
  • OU 38%
  • SWOSU 65%
  • Racial Diversity
  • OU Medium
  • SWOSU Medium
  • HBCU
  • OU No
  • SWOSU No
  • % White
  • OU 61%
  • SWOSU 67%
  • % Asian
  • OU 1%
  • SWOSU 2%
  • % Black
  • OU 13%
  • SWOSU 5%
  • % Hispanic
  • OU 3%
  • SWOSU 8%
  • % Native American
  • OU 5%
  • SWOSU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • OU 0%
  • SWOSU 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • OU 3%
  • SWOSU 7%
  • % International
  • OU 0%
  • SWOSU 5%
  • % Unknown Race
  • OU 14%
  • SWOSU 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • OU 23%
  • SWOSU 90%
  • % Out-of-State
  • OU 71%
  • SWOSU 7%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • OU Yes
  • SWOSU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • OU No
  • SWOSU No
  • Meal Plan
  • OU Yes
  • SWOSU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • OU No
  • SWOSU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • OU No
  • SWOSU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Ottawa University Ottawa in Ottawa, KS with Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University is larger than OU based on total student enrollment (5,186 students vs. 999 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Ottawa University Ottawa is located in Ottawa, KS (Distant Town setting); Southwestern Oklahoma State University is in Weatherford, OK (Remote Town setting).
  • Ottawa University Ottawa is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Oklahoma State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Ottawa University Ottawa 12:1; Southwestern Oklahoma State University 19:1.

OU vs. SWOSU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, OU or SWOSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Oklahoma State University than OU ($14,410 vs. $28,185).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Oklahoma State University are 44.1% lower than at Ottawa University Ottawa ($7,634 vs. $13,646).
  • Ottawa University Ottawa is 323.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than SWOSU (about $27,411 more per year; $35,880.00 vs. $8,469.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 322.2% higher at OU than at Southwestern Oklahoma State University (about $27,381 more per year; $35,880.00 vs. $8,499.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Ottawa University Ottawa than at Southwestern Oklahoma State University (100% vs. 88%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Ottawa University Ottawa students is 166% larger than aid received by Southwestern Oklahoma State University students ($23,692 vs. $8,906).

OU vs. SWOSU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, OU or SWOSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SWOSU and OU.

  • Incoming SWOSU students have a 1 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (20 vs. 19 at OU).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Ottawa University Ottawa 750/1000.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Ottawa University Ottawa 16/22; Southwestern Oklahoma State University 18/23.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: OU - Test optional; SWOSU - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman SWOSU students have a 0.41 point higher average high school GPA (3.53) than students at OU (3.12).

OU vs. SWOSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for OU and SWOSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Ottawa University Ottawa's six-year graduation rate (47%) is higher than Southwestern Oklahoma State University's (33%).
  • Graduates from Southwestern Oklahoma State University earn a median of about $2,200 more per year than OU graduates about ten years after starting college ($48,600 vs. $46,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Oklahoma State University graduates have a $6,188 lower median loan debt than OU graduates ($15,687 vs. $21,875).
  • Among borrowers, SWOSU graduates have an estimated $64 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than OU graduates ($162 vs. $226).
  • More SWOSU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former OU students, three years after graduation. (54% vs. 46%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.