OU vs. RSU

Deciding between Ottawa University Ottawa and Rogers State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Rogers State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • OU Ottawa, KS
  • RSU Claremore, OK
  • Setting
  • OU Distant Town
  • RSU Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • OU 999
  • RSU 3,272
  • Type
  • OU Private 4 Year
  • RSU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • OU
  • RSU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • OU American Baptist
  • RSU -
  • Status
  • OU Non-profit
  • RSU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • OU
  • RSU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • OU $35,880
  • RSU $7,750
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • OU $35,880
  • RSU $16,410
  • Room & Board
  • OU $13,646
  • RSU $9,882
  • Average Net Price
  • OU $28,185
  • RSU $15,314
  • Average Grant Aid
  • OU $23,692
  • RSU $7,040
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • OU 100%
  • RSU 65%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • OU 2,611
  • RSU -
  • Admitted
  • OU 2,166
  • RSU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • OU 83%
  • RSU
  • Enrolled
  • OU 14.1%
  • RSU
  • Typical SAT score
  • OU 880
  • RSU
  • Typical ACT score
  • OU 19
  • RSU
  • Average High School GPA
  • OU 3.12
  • RSU 3.4
  • Typical High School Grades
  • OU B
  • RSU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • OU Extremely Easy
  • RSU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • OU
  • RSU
  • ACT Range
  • OU 16/22
  • RSU
  • SAT Range
  • OU 750/1000
  • RSU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • OU Test optional
  • RSU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • OU
  • RSU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • OU 12:1
  • RSU 18:1
  • Popular Majors
  • OU
    • Business (33%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (18%)
    • Education (8%)
    • Communication (8%)
    • English and Literature (5%)
  • RSU
    • Business (30%)
    • Health Professions (17%)
    • Education (9%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Engineering Technology (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • OU 47%
  • RSU 23%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • OU $46,400
  • RSU $37,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • OU 46%
  • RSU 46%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • OU $21,875
  • RSU $16,150
  • Median Loan Payment
  • OU $226
  • RSU $166
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • OU 62%
  • RSU 39%
  • % Women
  • OU 38%
  • RSU 61%
  • Racial Diversity
  • OU Medium
  • RSU High
  • HBCU
  • OU No
  • RSU No
  • % White
  • OU 61%
  • RSU 58%
  • % Asian
  • OU 1%
  • RSU 1%
  • % Black
  • OU 13%
  • RSU 3%
  • % Hispanic
  • OU 3%
  • RSU 5%
  • % Native American
  • OU 5%
  • RSU 11%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • OU 0%
  • RSU 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • OU 3%
  • RSU 19%
  • % International
  • OU 0%
  • RSU 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • OU 14%
  • RSU 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • OU 23%
  • RSU 89%
  • % Out-of-State
  • OU 71%
  • RSU 3%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • OU Yes
  • RSU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • OU No
  • RSU No
  • Meal Plan
  • OU Yes
  • RSU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • OU No
  • RSU No
  • Daycare Facility
  • OU No
  • RSU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Ottawa University Ottawa in Ottawa, KS with Rogers State University in Claremore, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Rogers State University is larger than OU based on total student enrollment (3,272 students vs. 999 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Ottawa University Ottawa is located in Ottawa, KS (Distant Town setting); Rogers State University is in Claremore, OK (Distant Town setting).
  • Ottawa University Ottawa is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Rogers State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Ottawa University Ottawa 12:1; Rogers State University 18:1.

OU vs. RSU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, OU or RSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Rogers State University than OU ($15,314 vs. $28,185).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Rogers State University are 27.6% lower than at Ottawa University Ottawa ($9,882 vs. $13,646).
  • Ottawa University Ottawa is 363% more expensive for in-state tuition than RSU (about $28,130 more per year; $35,880.00 vs. $7,750.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 118.6% higher at OU than at Rogers State University (about $19,470 more per year; $35,880.00 vs. $16,410.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Ottawa University Ottawa than at Rogers State University (100% vs. 65%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Ottawa University Ottawa students is 236.5% larger than aid received by Rogers State University students ($23,692 vs. $7,040).

OU vs. RSU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, OU or RSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between RSU and OU.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Ottawa University Ottawa 750/1000.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Ottawa University Ottawa 16/22.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: OU - Test optional; RSU - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman RSU students have a 0.28 point higher average high school GPA (3.4) than students at OU (3.12).

OU vs. RSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for OU and RSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Ottawa University Ottawa's six-year graduation rate (47%) is higher than Rogers State University's (23%).
  • Graduates from Ottawa University Ottawa earn a median of about $9,100 more per year than RSU graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,400 vs. $37,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Rogers State University graduates have a $5,725 lower median loan debt than OU graduates ($16,150 vs. $21,875).
  • Among borrowers, RSU graduates have an estimated $60 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than OU graduates ($166 vs. $226).
  • More RSU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former OU students, three years after graduation. (46% vs. 46%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.