Ohio University-Zanesville Campus vs. MBC

Deciding between Ohio University Zanesville Campus and Mary Baldwin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Mary Baldwin University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Zanesville, OH
  • MBC Staunton, VA
  • Setting
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Distant Town
  • MBC Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 2,009
  • MBC 1,772
  • Type
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Public 4 Year
  • MBC Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
  • MBC #1045
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus -
  • MBC Presbyterian Church (USA)
  • Status
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Non-profit
  • MBC Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
  • MBC
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus $6,362
  • MBC $34,152
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus $9,444
  • MBC $34,152
  • Room & Board
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus $6,856
  • MBC $11,411
  • Average Net Price
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus $5,957
  • MBC $17,810
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus $4,963
  • MBC $28,135
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 91%
  • MBC 99%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus -
  • MBC -
  • Admitted
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus -
  • MBC -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Open
  • MBC
  • Enrolled
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Open
  • MBC
  • Typical SAT score
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
  • MBC 1030
  • Typical ACT score
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
  • MBC 21
  • Average High School GPA
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 3.32
  • MBC 3.57
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus B+
  • MBC A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Unavailable
  • MBC Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
  • MBC
  • ACT Range
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
  • MBC 18/24
  • SAT Range
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
  • MBC 940/1120
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Open admission
  • MBC Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
  • MBC
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 13:1
  • MBC 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus
    • Health Professions (88%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (9%)
    • Communications Technology (4%)
  • MBC
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Psychology (15%)
    • History (14%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 28%
  • MBC 49%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus $44,500
  • MBC $38,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 51%
  • MBC 53%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus $20,500
  • MBC $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus $211
  • MBC $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 31%
  • MBC 24%
  • % Women
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 69%
  • MBC 76%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Very Low
  • MBC Medium
  • HBCU
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus No
  • MBC No
  • % White
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 87%
  • MBC 58%
  • % Asian
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 0%
  • MBC 2%
  • % Black
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 4%
  • MBC 23%
  • % Hispanic
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 2%
  • MBC 6%
  • % Native American
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 0%
  • MBC 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 0%
  • MBC 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 4%
  • MBC 4%
  • % International
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 1%
  • MBC 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 2%
  • MBC 5%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 100%
  • MBC 75%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus 0%
  • MBC 24%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus No
  • MBC Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus No
  • MBC No
  • Meal Plan
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus No
  • MBC Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus No
  • MBC No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Ohio University-Zanesville Campus No
  • MBC No

Comparable Facts

Compare Ohio University Zanesville Campus in Zanesville, OH with Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Ohio University Zanesville Campus is larger than MBC based on total student enrollment (2,009 students vs. 1,772 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Ohio University Zanesville Campus is located in Zanesville, OH (Distant Town setting); Mary Baldwin University is in Staunton, VA (Distant Town setting).
  • Ohio University Zanesville Campus is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Mary Baldwin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Ohio University Zanesville Campus 13:1; Mary Baldwin University 15:1.

Ohio University-Zanesville Campus vs. MBC Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Ohio University-Zanesville Campus or MBC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Ohio University Zanesville Campus than MBC ($5,957 vs. $17,810).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Ohio University Zanesville Campus are 39.9% lower than at Mary Baldwin University ($6,856 vs. $11,411).
  • Mary Baldwin University is 436.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than Ohio University-Zanesville Campus (about $27,790 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $6,362.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 261.6% higher at MBC than at Ohio University Zanesville Campus (about $24,708 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $9,444.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Mary Baldwin University than at Ohio University Zanesville Campus (99% vs. 91%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Mary Baldwin University students is 466.9% larger than aid received by Ohio University Zanesville Campus students ($28,135 vs. $4,963).

Ohio University-Zanesville Campus vs. MBC Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Ohio University-Zanesville Campus or MBC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MBC and Ohio University-Zanesville Campus.

  • Ohio University Zanesville Campus reports an open admissions policy.
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsMary Baldwin University 940/1120.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsMary Baldwin University 18/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Ohio University-Zanesville Campus - Open admission; MBC - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman MBC students have a 0.25 point higher average high school GPA (3.57) than students at Ohio University-Zanesville Campus (3.32).

Ohio University-Zanesville Campus vs. MBC Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Ohio University-Zanesville Campus and MBC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Mary Baldwin University's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than Ohio University Zanesville Campus's (28%).
  • Graduates from Ohio University Zanesville Campus earn a median of about $6,100 more per year than MBC graduates about ten years after starting college ($44,500 vs. $38,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Ohio University Zanesville Campus graduates have a $6,500 lower median loan debt than MBC graduates ($20,500 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Ohio University-Zanesville Campus graduates have an estimated $68 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MBC graduates ($211 vs. $279).
  • More MBC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Ohio University-Zanesville Campus students, three years after graduation. (53% vs. 51%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.