OHCC vs. MSU

Deciding between Oak Hills Christian College and Minot State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Minot State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • OHCC Bemidji, MN
  • MSU Minot, ND
  • Setting
  • OHCC Rural Fringe
  • MSU Remote Town
  • Total enrollment
  • OHCC 95
  • MSU 2,751
  • Type
  • OHCC Private 4 Year
  • MSU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • OHCC
  • MSU #616
  • Religious Affiliation
  • OHCC Interdenominational
  • MSU -
  • Status
  • OHCC Non-profit
  • MSU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • OHCC
  • MSU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • OHCC $19,440
  • MSU $8,702
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • OHCC $19,440
  • MSU $8,702
  • Room & Board
  • OHCC $10,326
  • MSU $8,534
  • Average Net Price
  • OHCC $20,227
  • MSU $13,092
  • Average Grant Aid
  • OHCC $13,731
  • MSU $6,016
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • OHCC 100%
  • MSU 90%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • OHCC -
  • MSU 701
  • Admitted
  • OHCC -
  • MSU 453
  • Acceptance Rate
  • OHCC
  • MSU 64.6%
  • Enrolled
  • OHCC
  • MSU 77.9%
  • Typical SAT score
  • OHCC 940
  • MSU 1040
  • Typical ACT score
  • OHCC 19
  • MSU 21
  • Average High School GPA
  • OHCC 3.07
  • MSU 3.42
  • Typical High School Grades
  • OHCC B
  • MSU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • OHCC Extremely Easy
  • MSU Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • OHCC
  • MSU Low
  • ACT Range
  • OHCC 17/21
  • MSU 18/24
  • SAT Range
  • OHCC 880/1000
  • MSU 930/1140
  • Submit Test Scores
  • OHCC Not reported
  • MSU Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • OHCC
  • MSU Jun 30, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • OHCC 10:1
  • MSU 11:1
  • Popular Majors
  • OHCC
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (74%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (13%)
    • Psychology (10%)
    • Business (3%)
  • MSU
    • Business (36%)
    • Education (16%)
    • Health Professions (13%)
    • Human Services (6%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (5%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • OHCC 27%
  • MSU 34%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • OHCC $29,300
  • MSU $45,200
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • OHCC 63%
  • MSU 74%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • OHCC $18,934
  • MSU $18,725
  • Median Loan Payment
  • OHCC $195
  • MSU $193
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • OHCC 57%
  • MSU 38%
  • % Women
  • OHCC 43%
  • MSU 62%
  • Racial Diversity
  • OHCC Very Low
  • MSU Medium
  • HBCU
  • OHCC No
  • MSU No
  • % White
  • OHCC 85%
  • MSU 67%
  • % Asian
  • OHCC 2%
  • MSU 2%
  • % Black
  • OHCC 4%
  • MSU 5%
  • % Hispanic
  • OHCC 4%
  • MSU 6%
  • % Native American
  • OHCC 4%
  • MSU 2%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • OHCC 0%
  • MSU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • OHCC 2%
  • MSU 4%
  • % International
  • OHCC 1%
  • MSU 13%
  • % Unknown Race
  • OHCC 0%
  • MSU 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • OHCC 67%
  • MSU 66%
  • % Out-of-State
  • OHCC 33%
  • MSU 22%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • OHCC Yes
  • MSU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • OHCC No
  • MSU No
  • Meal Plan
  • OHCC Yes
  • MSU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • OHCC No
  • MSU No
  • Daycare Facility
  • OHCC No
  • MSU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Oak Hills Christian College in Bemidji, MN with Minot State University in Minot, ND on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Minot State University is larger than OHCC based on total student enrollment (2,751 students vs. 95 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Oak Hills Christian College is located in Bemidji, MN (Rural Fringe setting); Minot State University is in Minot, ND (Remote Town setting).
  • Oak Hills Christian College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Minot State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Oak Hills Christian College 10:1; Minot State University 11:1.

OHCC vs. MSU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, OHCC or MSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Minot State University than OHCC ($13,092 vs. $20,227).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Minot State University are 17.4% lower than at Oak Hills Christian College ($8,534 vs. $10,326).
  • Oak Hills Christian College is 123.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than MSU (about $10,738 more per year; $19,440.00 vs. $8,702.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 123.4% higher at OHCC than at Minot State University (about $10,738 more per year; $19,440.00 vs. $8,702.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Oak Hills Christian College than at Minot State University (100% vs. 90%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Oak Hills Christian College students is 128.2% larger than aid received by Minot State University students ($13,731 vs. $6,016).

OHCC vs. MSU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, OHCC or MSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MSU and OHCC.

  • The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Minot State University (1040) is 100 points higher than at OHCC (940).
  • Incoming MSU students have a 2 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (21 vs. 19 at OHCC).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Oak Hills Christian College 880/1000; Minot State University 930/1140.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Oak Hills Christian College 17/21; Minot State University 18/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: OHCC - Not reported; MSU - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: MSU Jun 30, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman MSU students have a 0.35 point higher average high school GPA (3.42) than students at OHCC (3.07).

OHCC vs. MSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for OHCC and MSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Minot State University's six-year graduation rate (34%) is higher than Oak Hills Christian College's (27%).
  • Graduates from Minot State University earn a median of about $15,900 more per year than OHCC graduates about ten years after starting college ($45,200 vs. $29,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Minot State University graduates have a $209 lower median loan debt than OHCC graduates ($18,725 vs. $18,934).
  • Among borrowers, MSU graduates have an estimated $2 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than OHCC graduates ($193 vs. $195).
  • More MSU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former OHCC students, three years after graduation. (74% vs. 63%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.