New Jersey City University vs. Geneva College

Deciding between New Jersey City University and Geneva College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

New Jersey City University
Geneva College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • New Jersey City University Jersey City, NJ
  • Geneva College Beaver Falls, PA
  • Setting
  • New Jersey City University Large Suburban
  • Geneva College Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • New Jersey City University 5,429
  • Geneva College 1,366
  • Type
  • New Jersey City University Public 4 Year
  • Geneva College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • New Jersey City University #811
  • Geneva College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • New Jersey City University -
  • Geneva College Reformed Presbyterian Church
  • Status
  • New Jersey City University Non-profit
  • Geneva College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • New Jersey City University
  • Geneva College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • New Jersey City University $14,460
  • Geneva College $33,450
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • New Jersey City University $14,460
  • Geneva College $33,450
  • Room & Board
  • New Jersey City University $16,844
  • Geneva College $11,330
  • Average Net Price
  • New Jersey City University $16,724
  • Geneva College $23,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • New Jersey City University $11,582
  • Geneva College $21,913
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • New Jersey City University 82%
  • Geneva College 97%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • New Jersey City University 5,679
  • Geneva College -
  • Admitted
  • New Jersey City University 5,587
  • Geneva College -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • New Jersey City University 98.4%
  • Geneva College
  • Enrolled
  • New Jersey City University 9.8%
  • Geneva College
  • Typical SAT score
  • New Jersey City University 1020
  • Geneva College
  • Typical ACT score
  • New Jersey City University
  • Geneva College
  • Average High School GPA
  • New Jersey City University 3.24
  • Geneva College 3.64
  • Typical High School Grades
  • New Jersey City University B+
  • Geneva College A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • New Jersey City University Extremely Easy
  • Geneva College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • New Jersey City University
  • Geneva College
  • ACT Range
  • New Jersey City University
  • Geneva College
  • SAT Range
  • New Jersey City University 890/1140
  • Geneva College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • New Jersey City University Test-free
  • Geneva College Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • New Jersey City University
  • Geneva College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • New Jersey City University 13:1
  • Geneva College 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • New Jersey City University
    • Business (27%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (13%)
    • Health Professions (12%)
    • Psychology (10%)
    • Social Sciences (8%)
  • Geneva College
    • Business (27%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (16%)
    • Human Services (12%)
    • Education (9%)
    • Engineering (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • New Jersey City University 39%
  • Geneva College 68%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • New Jersey City University $44,900
  • Geneva College $43,600
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • New Jersey City University 49%
  • Geneva College 70%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • New Jersey City University $17,355
  • Geneva College $25,250
  • Median Loan Payment
  • New Jersey City University $179
  • Geneva College $261
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • New Jersey City University 38%
  • Geneva College 51%
  • % Women
  • New Jersey City University 62%
  • Geneva College 49%
  • Racial Diversity
  • New Jersey City University Very High
  • Geneva College Very Low
  • HBCU
  • New Jersey City University No
  • Geneva College No
  • % White
  • New Jersey City University 23%
  • Geneva College 84%
  • % Asian
  • New Jersey City University 7%
  • Geneva College 0%
  • % Black
  • New Jersey City University 21%
  • Geneva College 9%
  • % Hispanic
  • New Jersey City University 36%
  • Geneva College 1%
  • % Native American
  • New Jersey City University 0%
  • Geneva College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • New Jersey City University 1%
  • Geneva College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • New Jersey City University 2%
  • Geneva College 3%
  • % International
  • New Jersey City University 3%
  • Geneva College 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • New Jersey City University 7%
  • Geneva College 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • New Jersey City University 93%
  • Geneva College 70%
  • % Out-of-State
  • New Jersey City University 5%
  • Geneva College 28%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • New Jersey City University Yes
  • Geneva College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • New Jersey City University No
  • Geneva College No
  • Meal Plan
  • New Jersey City University Yes
  • Geneva College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • New Jersey City University Yes
  • Geneva College No
  • Daycare Facility
  • New Jersey City University Yes
  • Geneva College No
  • Learn More
  • New Jersey City University Details
  • Geneva College Details

Comparable Facts

Compare New Jersey City University in Jersey City, NJ with Geneva College in Beaver Falls, PA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

New Jersey City University is larger than Geneva College based on total student enrollment (5,429 students vs. 1,366 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • New Jersey City University is located in Jersey City, NJ (Large Suburban setting); Geneva College is in Beaver Falls, PA (Large Suburban setting).
  • New Jersey City University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Geneva College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: New Jersey City University 13:1; Geneva College 15:1.

New Jersey City University vs. Geneva College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, New Jersey City University or Geneva College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at New Jersey City University than Geneva College ($16,724 vs. $23,528).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Geneva College are 32.7% lower than at New Jersey City University ($11,330 vs. $16,844).
  • Geneva College is 131.3% more expensive for in-state tuition than New Jersey City University (about $18,990 more per year; $33,450.00 vs. $14,460.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 131.3% higher at Geneva College than at New Jersey City University (about $18,990 more per year; $33,450.00 vs. $14,460.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Geneva College than at New Jersey City University (97% vs. 82%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Geneva College students is 89.2% larger than aid received by New Jersey City University students ($21,913 vs. $11,582).

New Jersey City University vs. Geneva College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, New Jersey City University or Geneva College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Geneva College and New Jersey City University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: New Jersey City University 890/1140.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: New Jersey City University - Test-free; Geneva College - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman Geneva College students have a 0.4 point higher average high school GPA (3.64) than students at New Jersey City University (3.24).

New Jersey City University vs. Geneva College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for New Jersey City University and Geneva College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Geneva College's six-year graduation rate (68%) is higher than New Jersey City University's (39%).
  • Graduates from New Jersey City University earn a median of about $1,300 more per year than Geneva College graduates about ten years after starting college ($44,900 vs. $43,600), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, New Jersey City University graduates have a $7,895 lower median loan debt than Geneva College graduates ($17,355 vs. $25,250).
  • Among borrowers, New Jersey City University graduates have an estimated $82 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Geneva College graduates ($179 vs. $261).
  • More Geneva College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former New Jersey City University students, three years after graduation. (70% vs. 49%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.