Montana State University-Northern vs. Sitting Bull College
Deciding between Montana State University Northern and Sitting Bull College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Montana State University Northern
Sitting Bull College
-
Overview
- Montana State University-Northern
- Sitting Bull College
- Location
-
Montana State University-Northern Havre, MT
-
Sitting Bull College Fort Yates, ND
-
-
- Setting
-
Montana State University-Northern Remote Town
-
Sitting Bull College Remote Rural
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Montana State University-Northern 966
-
Sitting Bull College 309
-
-
- Type
-
Montana State University-Northern Public 4 Year
-
Sitting Bull College Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Montana State University-Northern -
-
Sitting Bull College -
-
-
- Status
-
Montana State University-Northern Non-profit
-
Sitting Bull College Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Montana State University-Northern msun.edu
-
Sitting Bull College sittingbull.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College
-
-
-
Cost
- Montana State University-Northern
- Sitting Bull College
- Tuition (In State)
-
Montana State University-Northern $6,982
-
Sitting Bull College $4,010
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Montana State University-Northern $21,875
-
Sitting Bull College $4,010
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Montana State University-Northern $7,384
-
Sitting Bull College $5,850
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Montana State University-Northern $9,961
-
Sitting Bull College $4,281
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Montana State University-Northern $7,163
-
Sitting Bull College $5,403
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Montana State University-Northern 81%
-
Sitting Bull College 86%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Montana State University-Northern
- Sitting Bull College
- Applied
-
Montana State University-Northern -
-
Sitting Bull College -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Montana State University-Northern -
-
Sitting Bull College -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College Open
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College Open
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Montana State University-Northern 2.79
-
Sitting Bull College 2.5
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Montana State University-Northern B-
-
Sitting Bull College B-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Montana State University-Northern Unavailable
-
Sitting Bull College Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Montana State University-Northern Not reported
-
Sitting Bull College Open admission
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Sitting Bull College Aug 20, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- Montana State University-Northern
- Sitting Bull College
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Montana State University-Northern 13:1
-
Sitting Bull College 8:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Montana State University-Northern
- Health Professions (29%)
- Mechanic and Repair Technologies (21%)
- Education (16%)
- Engineering Technology (9%)
- Business (8%)
-
Sitting Bull College
- Engineering Technology (33%)
- Business (19%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (13%)
- Natural Resources Conservation (11%)
- Human Services (6%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Montana State University-Northern
- Sitting Bull College
- Graduation Rate
-
Montana State University-Northern 19%
-
Sitting Bull College 100%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Montana State University-Northern $40,100
-
Sitting Bull College $19,900
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Montana State University-Northern 64%
-
Sitting Bull College -
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Montana State University-Northern $15,340
-
Sitting Bull College N/A
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Montana State University-Northern $158
-
Sitting Bull College N/A
-
-
-
Diversity
- Montana State University-Northern
- Sitting Bull College
- % Men
-
Montana State University-Northern 56%
-
Sitting Bull College 33%
-
-
- % Women
-
Montana State University-Northern 44%
-
Sitting Bull College 67%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Montana State University-Northern Low
-
Sitting Bull College Extremely Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Montana State University-Northern No
-
Sitting Bull College No
-
-
- % White
-
Montana State University-Northern 75%
-
Sitting Bull College 7%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Montana State University-Northern 1%
-
Sitting Bull College 0%
-
-
- % Black
-
Montana State University-Northern 2%
-
Sitting Bull College 0%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Montana State University-Northern 2%
-
Sitting Bull College 0%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Montana State University-Northern 13%
-
Sitting Bull College 92%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Montana State University-Northern 1%
-
Sitting Bull College 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Montana State University-Northern 1%
-
Sitting Bull College 0%
-
-
- % International
-
Montana State University-Northern 2%
-
Sitting Bull College 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Montana State University-Northern 4%
-
Sitting Bull College 0%
-
-
-
Students
- Montana State University-Northern
- Sitting Bull College
- % In-State
-
Montana State University-Northern 77%
-
Sitting Bull College 47%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Montana State University-Northern 18%
-
Sitting Bull College 52%
-
-
-
Campus
- Montana State University-Northern
- Sitting Bull College
- Campus Housing
-
Montana State University-Northern Yes
-
Sitting Bull College Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Montana State University-Northern No
-
Sitting Bull College No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Montana State University-Northern Yes
-
Sitting Bull College No
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Montana State University-Northern Yes
-
Sitting Bull College No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Montana State University-Northern No
-
Sitting Bull College Yes
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Montana State University Northern in Havre, MT with Sitting Bull College in Fort Yates, ND on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Montana State University Northern is larger than Sitting Bull College based on total student enrollment (966 students vs. 309 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Montana State University Northern is located in Havre, MT (Remote Town setting); Sitting Bull College is in Fort Yates, ND (Remote Rural setting).
- Montana State University Northern is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Sitting Bull College is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Montana State University Northern 13:1; Sitting Bull College 8:1.
Montana State University-Northern vs. Sitting Bull College Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Montana State University-Northern or Sitting Bull College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Sitting Bull College than Montana State University-Northern ($4,281 vs. $9,961).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Sitting Bull College are 20.8% lower than at Montana State University Northern ($5,850 vs. $7,384).
- Montana State University Northern is 74.1% more expensive for in-state tuition than Sitting Bull College (about $2,972 more per year; $6,982.00 vs. $4,010.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 445.5% higher at Montana State University-Northern than at Sitting Bull College (about $17,865 more per year; $21,875.00 vs. $4,010.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Sitting Bull College than at Montana State University Northern (86% vs. 81%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Montana State University Northern students is 32.6% larger than aid received by Sitting Bull College students ($7,163 vs. $5,403).
Montana State University-Northern vs. Sitting Bull College Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Montana State University-Northern or Sitting Bull College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Sitting Bull College and Montana State University-Northern.
- Sitting Bull College reports an open admissions policy.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Montana State University-Northern - Not reported; Sitting Bull College - Open admission.
- Typical fall application deadline: Sitting Bull College Aug 20, 2027.
- Accepted freshman Montana State University-Northern students have a 0.29 point higher average high school GPA (2.79) than students at Sitting Bull College (2.5).
Montana State University-Northern vs. Sitting Bull College Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Montana State University-Northern and Sitting Bull College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Sitting Bull College's six-year graduation rate (100%) is higher than Montana State University Northern's (19%).
- Graduates from Montana State University Northern earn a median of about $20,200 more per year than Sitting Bull College graduates about ten years after starting college ($40,100 vs. $19,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.