Montana State University-Northern vs. Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology

Deciding between Montana State University Northern and Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Montana State University-Northern Havre, MT
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Okmulgee, OK
  • Setting
  • Montana State University-Northern Remote Town
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Montana State University-Northern 966
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 2,396
  • Type
  • Montana State University-Northern Public 4 Year
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Montana State University-Northern -
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology -
  • Status
  • Montana State University-Northern Non-profit
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Non-profit
  • Website
  • Montana State University-Northern msun.edu
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology osuit.edu
  • Team Colors
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Montana State University-Northern $6,982
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology $5,774
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Montana State University-Northern $21,875
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology $11,384
  • Room & Board
  • Montana State University-Northern $7,384
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology $7,056
  • Average Net Price
  • Montana State University-Northern $9,961
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology $10,869
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Montana State University-Northern $7,163
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology $6,626
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Montana State University-Northern 81%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 98%
  • Admissions

  • Admission Chances
  • Montana State University-Northern Calculate
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Calculate
  • Applied
  • Montana State University-Northern -
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology -
  • Admitted
  • Montana State University-Northern -
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Open
  • Enrolled
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Open
  • Typical SAT score
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
  • Typical ACT score
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
  • Average High School GPA
  • Montana State University-Northern 2.79
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 3.2
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Montana State University-Northern B-
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Montana State University-Northern Unavailable
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
  • ACT Range
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
  • SAT Range
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Montana State University-Northern Not reported
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Open admission
  • Application Deadline
  • Montana State University-Northern
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Montana State University-Northern 13:1
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 16:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Montana State University-Northern
    • Health Professions (29%)
    • Mechanic and Repair Technologies (21%)
    • Education (16%)
    • Engineering Technology (9%)
    • Business (8%)
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology
    • Engineering Technology (27%)
    • Mechanic and Repair Technologies (21%)
    • Education (15%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (14%)
    • Personal and Culinary Services (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Montana State University-Northern 19%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 1%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Montana State University-Northern $40,100
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology $39,500
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Montana State University-Northern 64%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 45%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Montana State University-Northern $15,340
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology $12,513
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Montana State University-Northern $158
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology $129
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Montana State University-Northern 56%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 63%
  • % Women
  • Montana State University-Northern 44%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 37%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Montana State University-Northern Low
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology High
  • HBCU
  • Montana State University-Northern No
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology No
  • % White
  • Montana State University-Northern 75%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 60%
  • % Asian
  • Montana State University-Northern 1%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 1%
  • % Black
  • Montana State University-Northern 2%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 5%
  • % Hispanic
  • Montana State University-Northern 2%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 6%
  • % Native American
  • Montana State University-Northern 13%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 14%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Montana State University-Northern 1%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Montana State University-Northern 1%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 10%
  • % International
  • Montana State University-Northern 2%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Montana State University-Northern 4%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 3%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Montana State University-Northern 77%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 89%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Montana State University-Northern 18%
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 10%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Montana State University-Northern Yes
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Montana State University-Northern No
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology No
  • Meal Plan
  • Montana State University-Northern Yes
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Montana State University-Northern Yes
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Montana State University-Northern No
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Yes
  • Learn More
  • Montana State University-Northern Details
  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Montana State University Northern in Havre, MT with Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology in Okmulgee, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology is larger than Montana State University-Northern based on total student enrollment (2,396 students vs. 966 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Montana State University Northern is located in Havre, MT (Remote Town setting); Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology is in Okmulgee, OK (Distant Town setting).
  • Montana State University Northern is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Montana State University Northern 13:1; Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology 16:1.

Montana State University-Northern vs. Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Montana State University-Northern or Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Montana State University Northern than Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology ($9,961 vs. $10,869).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology are 4.4% lower than at Montana State University Northern ($7,056 vs. $7,384).
  • Montana State University Northern is 20.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology (about $1,208 more per year; $6,982.00 vs. $5,774.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 92.2% higher at Montana State University-Northern than at Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology (about $10,491 more per year; $21,875.00 vs. $11,384.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology than at Montana State University Northern (98% vs. 81%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Montana State University Northern students is 8.1% larger than aid received by Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology students ($7,163 vs. $6,626).

Montana State University-Northern vs. Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Montana State University-Northern or Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology and Montana State University-Northern.

  • Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Montana State University-Northern - Not reported; Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology - Open admission.
  • Accepted freshman Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology students have a 0.41 point higher average high school GPA (3.2) than students at Montana State University-Northern (2.79).

Montana State University-Northern vs. Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Montana State University-Northern and Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Montana State University Northern's six-year graduation rate (19%) is higher than Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology's (1%).
  • Graduates from Montana State University Northern earn a median of about $600 more per year than Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology graduates about ten years after starting college ($40,100 vs. $39,500), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology graduates have a $2,827 lower median loan debt than Montana State University-Northern graduates ($12,513 vs. $15,340).
  • Among borrowers, Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology graduates have an estimated $29 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Montana State University-Northern graduates ($129 vs. $158).
  • More Montana State University-Northern graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology students, three years after graduation. (64% vs. 45%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.