Montana State University-Northern vs. Oglala Lakota College
Deciding between Montana State University Northern and Oglala Lakota College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Montana State University Northern
Oglala Lakota College
-
Overview
- Montana State University-Northern
- Oglala Lakota College
- Location
-
Montana State University-Northern Havre, MT
-
Oglala Lakota College Kyle, SD
-
-
- Setting
-
Montana State University-Northern Remote Town
-
Oglala Lakota College Remote Rural
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Montana State University-Northern 966
-
Oglala Lakota College 1,188
-
-
- Type
-
Montana State University-Northern Public 4 Year
-
Oglala Lakota College Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Montana State University-Northern -
-
Oglala Lakota College -
-
-
- Status
-
Montana State University-Northern Non-profit
-
Oglala Lakota College Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College
-
-
-
Cost
- Montana State University-Northern
- Oglala Lakota College
- Tuition (In State)
-
Montana State University-Northern $6,982
-
Oglala Lakota College $2,684
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Montana State University-Northern $21,875
-
Oglala Lakota College $2,684
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Montana State University-Northern $7,384
-
Oglala Lakota College $7,200
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Montana State University-Northern $9,961
-
Oglala Lakota College $3,173
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Montana State University-Northern $7,163
-
Oglala Lakota College $12,793
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Montana State University-Northern 81%
-
Oglala Lakota College 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Montana State University-Northern
- Oglala Lakota College
- Applied
-
Montana State University-Northern -
-
Oglala Lakota College -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Montana State University-Northern -
-
Oglala Lakota College -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College Open
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College Open
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Montana State University-Northern 2.79
-
Oglala Lakota College -
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Montana State University-Northern B-
-
Oglala Lakota College -
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Montana State University-Northern Unavailable
-
Oglala Lakota College Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Montana State University-Northern Not reported
-
Oglala Lakota College Open admission
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Montana State University-Northern
-
Oglala Lakota College
-
-
-
Academics
- Montana State University-Northern
- Oglala Lakota College
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Montana State University-Northern 13:1
-
Oglala Lakota College 10:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Montana State University-Northern
- Health Professions (29%)
- Mechanic and Repair Technologies (21%)
- Education (16%)
- Engineering Technology (9%)
- Business (8%)
-
Oglala Lakota College
- Business (37%)
- Education (19%)
- Ethnic Studies (18%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Health Professions (6%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Montana State University-Northern
- Oglala Lakota College
- Graduation Rate
-
Montana State University-Northern 19%
-
Oglala Lakota College 4%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Montana State University-Northern $40,100
-
Oglala Lakota College $22,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Montana State University-Northern 64%
-
Oglala Lakota College -
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Montana State University-Northern $15,340
-
Oglala Lakota College N/A
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Montana State University-Northern $158
-
Oglala Lakota College N/A
-
-
-
Diversity
- Montana State University-Northern
- Oglala Lakota College
- % Men
-
Montana State University-Northern 56%
-
Oglala Lakota College 30%
-
-
- % Women
-
Montana State University-Northern 44%
-
Oglala Lakota College 70%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Montana State University-Northern Low
-
Oglala Lakota College Extremely Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Montana State University-Northern No
-
Oglala Lakota College No
-
-
- % White
-
Montana State University-Northern 75%
-
Oglala Lakota College 2%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Montana State University-Northern 1%
-
Oglala Lakota College 0%
-
-
- % Black
-
Montana State University-Northern 2%
-
Oglala Lakota College 0%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Montana State University-Northern 2%
-
Oglala Lakota College 1%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Montana State University-Northern 13%
-
Oglala Lakota College 96%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Montana State University-Northern 1%
-
Oglala Lakota College 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Montana State University-Northern 1%
-
Oglala Lakota College 0%
-
-
- % International
-
Montana State University-Northern 2%
-
Oglala Lakota College 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Montana State University-Northern 4%
-
Oglala Lakota College 0%
-
-
-
Students
- Montana State University-Northern
- Oglala Lakota College
- % In-State
-
Montana State University-Northern 77%
-
Oglala Lakota College 99%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Montana State University-Northern 18%
-
Oglala Lakota College 1%
-
-
-
Campus
- Montana State University-Northern
- Oglala Lakota College
- Campus Housing
-
Montana State University-Northern Yes
-
Oglala Lakota College Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Montana State University-Northern No
-
Oglala Lakota College No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Montana State University-Northern Yes
-
Oglala Lakota College No
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Montana State University-Northern Yes
-
Oglala Lakota College No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Montana State University-Northern No
-
Oglala Lakota College No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Montana State University Northern in Havre, MT with Oglala Lakota College in Kyle, SD on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Oglala Lakota College is larger than Montana State University-Northern based on total student enrollment (1,188 students vs. 966 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Montana State University Northern is located in Havre, MT (Remote Town setting); Oglala Lakota College is in Kyle, SD (Remote Rural setting).
- Montana State University Northern is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Oglala Lakota College is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Montana State University Northern 13:1; Oglala Lakota College 10:1.
Montana State University-Northern vs. Oglala Lakota College Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Montana State University-Northern or Oglala Lakota College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Oglala Lakota College than Montana State University-Northern ($3,173 vs. $9,961).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Oglala Lakota College are 2.5% lower than at Montana State University Northern ($7,200 vs. $7,384).
- Montana State University Northern is 160.1% more expensive for in-state tuition than Oglala Lakota College (about $4,298 more per year; $6,982.00 vs. $2,684.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 715% higher at Montana State University-Northern than at Oglala Lakota College (about $19,191 more per year; $21,875.00 vs. $2,684.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Oglala Lakota College than at Montana State University Northern (100% vs. 81%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Oglala Lakota College students is 78.6% larger than aid received by Montana State University Northern students ($12,793 vs. $7,163).
Montana State University-Northern vs. Oglala Lakota College Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Montana State University-Northern or Oglala Lakota College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Oglala Lakota College and Montana State University-Northern.
- Oglala Lakota College reports an open admissions policy.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Montana State University-Northern - Not reported; Oglala Lakota College - Open admission.
Montana State University-Northern vs. Oglala Lakota College Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Montana State University-Northern and Oglala Lakota College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Montana State University Northern's six-year graduation rate (19%) is higher than Oglala Lakota College's (4%).
- Graduates from Montana State University Northern earn a median of about $18,100 more per year than Oglala Lakota College graduates about ten years after starting college ($40,100 vs. $22,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.