MIAD vs. Ottawa University-Milwaukee

Deciding between Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design and Ottawa University Milwaukee? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • MIAD Milwaukee, WI
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee Brookfield, WI
  • Setting
  • MIAD Large City
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • MIAD 838
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 116
  • Type
  • MIAD Private 4 Year
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • MIAD
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Religious Affiliation
  • MIAD -
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee American Baptist
  • Status
  • MIAD Non-profit
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • MIAD
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • MIAD $43,743
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee $0
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • MIAD $43,743
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee $0
  • Room & Board
  • MIAD $10,955
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee $0
  • Average Net Price
  • MIAD $27,579
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • MIAD $26,015
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • MIAD 100%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 0%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • MIAD 1,039
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee -
  • Admitted
  • MIAD 629
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • MIAD 60.5%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Enrolled
  • MIAD 33.2%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Typical SAT score
  • MIAD 1040
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Typical ACT score
  • MIAD 24
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Average High School GPA
  • MIAD 3.08
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • MIAD B
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee -
  • Admissions Standards
  • MIAD Moderate
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • MIAD Low
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • ACT Range
  • MIAD 20/28
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • SAT Range
  • MIAD 940/1140
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Submit Test Scores
  • MIAD Test optional
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • MIAD Aug 31, 2027
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • MIAD 11:1
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 2:1
  • Popular Majors
  • MIAD
    • Visual and Performing Arts (87%)
    • Communications Technology (7%)
    • Architecture (6%)
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • MIAD 57%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • MIAD $36,000
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee $46,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • MIAD 59%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 46%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • MIAD $27,000
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee $21,875
  • Median Loan Payment
  • MIAD $279
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee $226
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • MIAD 19%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 30%
  • % Women
  • MIAD 81%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 70%
  • Racial Diversity
  • MIAD Medium
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee Medium
  • HBCU
  • MIAD No
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee No
  • % White
  • MIAD 68%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 52%
  • % Asian
  • MIAD 4%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 4%
  • % Black
  • MIAD 8%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 18%
  • % Hispanic
  • MIAD 13%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 0%
  • % Native American
  • MIAD 0%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • MIAD 0%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • MIAD 5%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 0%
  • % International
  • MIAD 1%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • MIAD 0%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee 25%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • MIAD 61%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee -
  • % Out-of-State
  • MIAD 37%
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee -
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • MIAD Yes
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • MIAD No
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee
  • Meal Plan
  • MIAD Yes
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • MIAD No
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • MIAD No
  • Ottawa University-Milwaukee

Comparable Facts

Compare Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design in Milwaukee, WI with Ottawa University Milwaukee in Brookfield, WI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is larger than Ottawa University-Milwaukee based on total student enrollment (838 students vs. 116 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is located in Milwaukee, WI (Large City setting); Ottawa University Milwaukee is in Brookfield, WI (Large Suburban setting).
  • Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Ottawa University Milwaukee is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design 11:1; Ottawa University Milwaukee 2:1.

MIAD vs. Ottawa University-Milwaukee Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, MIAD or Ottawa University-Milwaukee? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design and Ottawa University-Milwaukee ($43,743.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between MIAD and Ottawa University Milwaukee ($43,743.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design than at Ottawa University Milwaukee (100% vs. 0%).

MIAD vs. Ottawa University-Milwaukee Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, MIAD or Ottawa University-Milwaukee? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Ottawa University-Milwaukee and MIAD.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design 940/1140.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design 20/28.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: MIAD - Test optional; Ottawa University-Milwaukee - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: MIAD Aug 31, 2027.

MIAD vs. Ottawa University-Milwaukee Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for MIAD and Ottawa University-Milwaukee? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Ottawa University Milwaukee earn a median of about $10,400 more per year than MIAD graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,400 vs. $36,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Ottawa University Milwaukee graduates have a $5,125 lower median loan debt than MIAD graduates ($21,875 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Ottawa University-Milwaukee graduates have an estimated $53 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MIAD graduates ($226 vs. $279).
  • More MIAD graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Ottawa University-Milwaukee students, three years after graduation. (59% vs. 46%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.