MBTS vs. SCU
Deciding between Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
Southwestern Christian University
-
Overview
- MBTS
- SCU
- Location
-
MBTS Kansas City, MO
-
SCU Bethany, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
MBTS Large City
-
SCU Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
MBTS 3,945
-
SCU 399
-
-
- Type
-
MBTS Private 4 Year
-
SCU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
MBTS
-
SCU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
MBTS Southern Baptist
-
SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
-
-
- Status
-
MBTS Non-profit
-
SCU Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
MBTS
-
SCU
-
-
-
Cost
- MBTS
- SCU
- Tuition (In State)
-
MBTS $10,120
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
MBTS $10,120
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Room & Board
-
MBTS $9,971
-
SCU $10,100
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
MBTS $23,750
-
SCU $20,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
MBTS $5,476
-
SCU $12,784
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
MBTS 67%
-
SCU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- MBTS
- SCU
- Applied
-
MBTS 139
-
SCU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
MBTS 134
-
SCU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
MBTS 96.4%
-
SCU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
MBTS 70.9%
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
MBTS
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
MBTS
-
SCU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
MBTS -
-
SCU 3.22
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
MBTS -
-
SCU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
MBTS Unavailable
-
SCU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
MBTS
-
SCU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
MBTS
-
SCU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
MBTS
-
SCU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
MBTS Test-free
-
SCU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
MBTS
-
SCU
-
-
-
Academics
- MBTS
- SCU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
MBTS 17:1
-
SCU 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
MBTS
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (100%)
-
SCU
- Human Services (34%)
- Business (27%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- MBTS
- SCU
- Graduation Rate
-
MBTS -
-
SCU 28%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
MBTS N/A
-
SCU $27,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
MBTS 65%
-
SCU 38%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
MBTS $17,004
-
SCU $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
MBTS $175
-
SCU $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- MBTS
- SCU
- % Men
-
MBTS 77%
-
SCU 61%
-
-
- % Women
-
MBTS 23%
-
SCU 39%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
MBTS Very Low
-
SCU High
-
-
- HBCU
-
MBTS No
-
SCU No
-
-
- % White
-
MBTS 81%
-
SCU 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
MBTS 1%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
MBTS 6%
-
SCU 25%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
MBTS 2%
-
SCU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
MBTS 1%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
MBTS 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
MBTS 2%
-
SCU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
MBTS 0%
-
SCU 10%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
MBTS 7%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
-
Students
- MBTS
- SCU
- % In-State
-
MBTS 31%
-
SCU 72%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
MBTS 68%
-
SCU 15%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Kansas City, MO with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (3,945 students vs. 399 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary is located in Kansas City, MO (Large City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
- Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary 17:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.
MBTS vs. SCU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, MBTS or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Christian University than MBTS ($20,528 vs. $23,750).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary are 1.3% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($9,971 vs. $10,100).
- Southwestern Christian University is 116.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than MBTS (about $11,780 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $10,120.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 116.4% higher at SCU than at Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary (about $11,780 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $10,120.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary (100% vs. 67%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Christian University students is 133.5% larger than aid received by Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary students ($12,784 vs. $5,476).
MBTS vs. SCU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, MBTS or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and MBTS.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: MBTS - Test-free; SCU - Not reported.
MBTS vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for MBTS and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary graduates have a $9,996 lower median loan debt than SCU graduates ($17,004 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, MBTS graduates have an estimated $104 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than SCU graduates ($175 vs. $279).
- More MBTS graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (65% vs. 38%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.