Menlo vs. SCU
Deciding between Menlo College and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Menlo College
Southwestern Christian University
-
Overview
- Menlo
- SCU
- Location
-
Menlo Atherton, CA
-
SCU Bethany, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
Menlo Large Suburban
-
SCU Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Menlo 810
-
SCU 399
-
-
- Type
-
Menlo Private 4 Year
-
SCU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Menlo
-
SCU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Menlo -
-
SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
-
-
- Status
-
Menlo Non-profit
-
SCU Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Menlo
-
SCU
-
-
-
Cost
- Menlo
- SCU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Menlo $53,630
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Menlo $53,630
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Menlo $18,236
-
SCU $10,100
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Menlo $32,563
-
SCU $20,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Menlo $39,174
-
SCU $12,784
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Menlo 100%
-
SCU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Menlo
- SCU
- Applied
-
Menlo 4,637
-
SCU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Menlo 3,175
-
SCU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Menlo 68.5%
-
SCU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Menlo 5.3%
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Menlo
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Menlo
-
SCU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Menlo 3.3
-
SCU 3.22
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Menlo B+
-
SCU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Menlo Unavailable
-
SCU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Menlo Low
-
SCU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Menlo
-
SCU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Menlo
-
SCU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Menlo Test-free
-
SCU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Menlo Apr 1, 2027
-
SCU
-
-
-
Academics
- Menlo
- SCU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Menlo 14:1
-
SCU 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Menlo
- Business (67%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (18%)
- Communication (15%)
- Psychology (1%)
-
SCU
- Human Services (34%)
- Business (27%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Menlo
- SCU
- Graduation Rate
-
Menlo 34%
-
SCU 28%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Menlo $53,900
-
SCU $27,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Menlo 55%
-
SCU 38%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Menlo $21,062
-
SCU $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Menlo $217
-
SCU $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- Menlo
- SCU
- % Men
-
Menlo 57%
-
SCU 61%
-
-
- % Women
-
Menlo 43%
-
SCU 39%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Menlo Very High
-
SCU High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Menlo No
-
SCU No
-
-
- % White
-
Menlo 29%
-
SCU 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Menlo 10%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Menlo 6%
-
SCU 25%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Menlo 22%
-
SCU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Menlo 1%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Menlo 2%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Menlo 8%
-
SCU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
Menlo 14%
-
SCU 10%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Menlo 9%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
-
Students
- Menlo
- SCU
- % In-State
-
Menlo 68%
-
SCU 72%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Menlo 16%
-
SCU 15%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Menlo College in Atherton, CA with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Menlo College is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (810 students vs. 399 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Menlo College is located in Atherton, CA (Large Suburban setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
- Menlo College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Menlo College 14:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.
Menlo vs. SCU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Menlo or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Christian University than Menlo ($20,528 vs. $32,563).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Christian University are 44.6% lower than at Menlo College ($10,100 vs. $18,236).
- Menlo College is 144.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than SCU (about $31,730 more per year; $53,630.00 vs. $21,900.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 144.9% higher at Menlo than at Southwestern Christian University (about $31,730 more per year; $53,630.00 vs. $21,900.00).
- The same share of students receive grant aid at Menlo College as at Southwestern Christian University (100% vs. 100%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Menlo College students is 206.4% larger than aid received by Southwestern Christian University students ($39,174 vs. $12,784).
Menlo vs. SCU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Menlo or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Menlo.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Menlo - Test-free; SCU - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: Menlo Apr 1, 2027.
- Accepted freshman Menlo students have a 0.08 point higher average high school GPA (3.3) than students at SCU (3.22).
Menlo vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Menlo and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Menlo College's six-year graduation rate (34%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
- Graduates from Menlo College earn a median of about $26,500 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($53,900 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Menlo College graduates have a $5,938 lower median loan debt than SCU graduates ($21,062 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Menlo graduates have an estimated $62 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than SCU graduates ($217 vs. $279).
- More Menlo graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (55% vs. 38%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.