Lane College vs. The University of Tennessee Southern

Deciding between Lane College and The University of Tennessee Southern? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Lane College
The University of Tennessee Southern

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Lane College Jackson, TN
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Pulaski, TN
  • Setting
  • Lane College Small City
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Lane College 738
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 1,046
  • Type
  • Lane College Private 4 Year
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern #907
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Lane College Christian Methodist Episcopal
  • The University of Tennessee Southern United Methodist
  • Status
  • Lane College Non-profit
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Lane College $11,790
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $10,924
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Lane College $11,790
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $10,924
  • Room & Board
  • Lane College $7,610
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $8,300
  • Average Net Price
  • Lane College $11,803
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $14,546
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Lane College $11,689
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $10,358
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Lane College 88%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 99%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Lane College -
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 760
  • Admitted
  • Lane College -
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 659
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 86.7% Open
  • Enrolled
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 26.1% Open
  • Typical SAT score
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 1010
  • Typical ACT score
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 21
  • Average High School GPA
  • Lane College 2.57
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 3.17
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Lane College B-
  • The University of Tennessee Southern B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Lane College Unavailable
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern
  • ACT Range
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 18/24
  • SAT Range
  • Lane College
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 905/1110
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Lane College Not reported
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Open admission
  • Application Deadline
  • Lane College Aug 21, 2027
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Aug 26, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Lane College 15:1
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Lane College
    • Business (18%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (17%)
    • Social Sciences (17%)
    • Biology (14%)
    • Education (9%)
  • The University of Tennessee Southern
    • Business (18%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (13%)
    • Education (10%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (9%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Lane College 34%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 49%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Lane College $25,000
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $34,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Lane College 12%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 43%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Lane College $36,464
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $22,315
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Lane College $377
  • The University of Tennessee Southern $230
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Lane College 55%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 39%
  • % Women
  • Lane College 45%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 61%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Lane College Extremely Low
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Low
  • HBCU
  • Lane College Yes
  • The University of Tennessee Southern No
  • % White
  • Lane College 1%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 73%
  • % Asian
  • Lane College 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
  • % Black
  • Lane College 97%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 11%
  • % Hispanic
  • Lane College 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 2%
  • % Native American
  • Lane College 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Lane College 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Lane College 1%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
  • % International
  • Lane College 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 5%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Lane College 0%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 7%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Lane College 58%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 80%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Lane College 40%
  • The University of Tennessee Southern 12%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Lane College Yes
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Lane College No
  • The University of Tennessee Southern No
  • Meal Plan
  • Lane College Yes
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Lane College Yes
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Lane College No
  • The University of Tennessee Southern No
  • Learn More
  • Lane College Details
  • The University of Tennessee Southern Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Lane College in Jackson, TN with The University of Tennessee Southern in Pulaski, TN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

The University of Tennessee Southern is larger than Lane College based on total student enrollment (1,046 students vs. 738 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Lane College is located in Jackson, TN (Small City setting); The University of Tennessee Southern is in Pulaski, TN (Distant Town setting).
  • Lane College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. The University of Tennessee Southern is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Lane College 15:1; The University of Tennessee Southern 14:1.

Lane College vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Lane College or The University of Tennessee Southern? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Lane College than The University of Tennessee Southern ($11,803 vs. $14,546).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Lane College are 8.3% lower than at The University of Tennessee Southern ($7,610 vs. $8,300).
  • Lane College is 7.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than The University of Tennessee Southern (about $866 more per year; $11,790.00 vs. $10,924.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 7.9% higher at Lane College than at The University of Tennessee Southern (about $866 more per year; $11,790.00 vs. $10,924.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at The University of Tennessee Southern than at Lane College (99% vs. 88%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Lane College students is 12.8% larger than aid received by The University of Tennessee Southern students ($11,689 vs. $10,358).

Lane College vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Lane College or The University of Tennessee Southern? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between The University of Tennessee Southern and Lane College.

  • The University of Tennessee Southern reports an open admissions policy.
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsThe University of Tennessee Southern 905/1110.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsThe University of Tennessee Southern 18/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Lane College - Not reported; The University of Tennessee Southern - Open admission.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Lane College Aug 21, 2027; The University of Tennessee Southern Aug 26, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman The University of Tennessee Southern students have a 0.6 point higher average high school GPA (3.17) than students at Lane College (2.57).

Lane College vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Lane College and The University of Tennessee Southern? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • The University of Tennessee Southern's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than Lane College's (34%).
  • Graduates from The University of Tennessee Southern earn a median of about $9,900 more per year than Lane College graduates about ten years after starting college ($34,900 vs. $25,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, The University of Tennessee Southern graduates have a $14,149 lower median loan debt than Lane College graduates ($22,315 vs. $36,464).
  • Among borrowers, The University of Tennessee Southern graduates have an estimated $147 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Lane College graduates ($230 vs. $377).
  • More The University of Tennessee Southern graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Lane College students, three years after graduation. (43% vs. 12%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.