JCSU vs. SCU
Deciding between Johnson C Smith University and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Johnson C Smith University
Southwestern Christian University
-
Overview
- JCSU
- SCU
- Location
-
JCSU Charlotte, NC
-
SCU Bethany, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
JCSU Large City
-
SCU Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
JCSU 1,302
-
SCU 399
-
-
- Type
-
JCSU Private 4 Year
-
SCU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
JCSU #967
-
SCU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
JCSU -
-
SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
-
-
- Status
-
JCSU Non-profit
-
SCU Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
JCSU
-
SCU
-
-
-
Cost
- JCSU
- SCU
- Tuition (In State)
-
JCSU $21,300
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
JCSU $21,300
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Room & Board
-
JCSU $8,600
-
SCU $10,100
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
JCSU $19,705
-
SCU $20,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
JCSU $15,238
-
SCU $12,784
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
JCSU 93%
-
SCU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- JCSU
- SCU
- Applied
-
JCSU 6,820
-
SCU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
JCSU 3,083
-
SCU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
JCSU 45.2%
-
SCU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
JCSU 12.8%
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
JCSU 890
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
JCSU 15
-
SCU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
JCSU 2.48
-
SCU 3.22
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
JCSU C+
-
SCU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
JCSU Extremely Easy
-
SCU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
JCSU Low
-
SCU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
JCSU 13/18
-
SCU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
JCSU 800/980
-
SCU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
JCSU Test-free
-
SCU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
JCSU
-
SCU
-
-
-
Academics
- JCSU
- SCU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
JCSU 12:1
-
SCU 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
JCSU
- Business (15%)
- Social Sciences (15%)
- Communication (12%)
- Computer and Information Sciences (12%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (9%)
-
SCU
- Human Services (34%)
- Business (27%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- JCSU
- SCU
- Graduation Rate
-
JCSU 37%
-
SCU 28%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
JCSU $30,300
-
SCU $27,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
JCSU 26%
-
SCU 38%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
JCSU $32,050
-
SCU $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
JCSU $331
-
SCU $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- JCSU
- SCU
- % Men
-
JCSU 47%
-
SCU 61%
-
-
- % Women
-
JCSU 53%
-
SCU 39%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
JCSU Very Low
-
SCU High
-
-
- HBCU
-
JCSU Yes
-
SCU No
-
-
- % White
-
JCSU 0%
-
SCU 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
JCSU 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
JCSU 79%
-
SCU 25%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
JCSU 5%
-
SCU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
JCSU 0%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
JCSU 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
JCSU 2%
-
SCU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
JCSU 4%
-
SCU 10%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
JCSU 9%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
-
Students
- JCSU
- SCU
- % In-State
-
JCSU 45%
-
SCU 72%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
JCSU 53%
-
SCU 15%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Johnson C Smith University in Charlotte, NC with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Johnson C Smith University is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (1,302 students vs. 399 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Johnson C Smith University is located in Charlotte, NC (Large City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
- Johnson C Smith University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Johnson C Smith University 12:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.
JCSU vs. SCU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, JCSU or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Johnson C Smith University than SCU ($19,705 vs. $20,528).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Johnson C Smith University are 14.9% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($8,600 vs. $10,100).
- Southwestern Christian University is 2.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than JCSU (about $600 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $21,300.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 2.8% higher at SCU than at Johnson C Smith University (about $600 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $21,300.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Johnson C Smith University (100% vs. 93%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Johnson C Smith University students is 19.2% larger than aid received by Southwestern Christian University students ($15,238 vs. $12,784).
JCSU vs. SCU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, JCSU or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and JCSU.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Johnson C Smith University 800/980.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Johnson C Smith University 13/18.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: JCSU - Test-free; SCU - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman SCU students have a 0.74 point higher average high school GPA (3.22) than students at JCSU (2.48).
JCSU vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for JCSU and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Johnson C Smith University's six-year graduation rate (37%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
- Graduates from Johnson C Smith University earn a median of about $2,900 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($30,300 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Christian University graduates have a $5,050 lower median loan debt than JCSU graduates ($27,000 vs. $32,050).
- Among borrowers, SCU graduates have an estimated $52 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than JCSU graduates ($279 vs. $331).
- More SCU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former JCSU students, three years after graduation. (38% vs. 26%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.