IU East vs. MBC
Deciding between Indiana University East and Mary Baldwin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Indiana University East
Mary Baldwin University
-
Overview
- IU East
- MBC
- Location
-
IU East Richmond, IN
-
MBC Staunton, VA
-
-
- Setting
-
IU East Rural Fringe
-
MBC Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
IU East 3,203
-
MBC 1,772
-
-
- Type
-
IU East Public 4 Year
-
MBC Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
IU East #919
-
MBC #1045
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
IU East -
-
MBC Presbyterian Church (USA)
-
-
- Status
-
IU East Non-profit
-
MBC Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
IU East iu.edu
-
MBC marybaldwin.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
IU East
-
MBC
-
-
-
Cost
- IU East
- MBC
- Tuition (In State)
-
IU East $8,424
-
MBC $34,152
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
IU East $22,811
-
MBC $34,152
-
-
- Room & Board
-
IU East $10,972
-
MBC $11,411
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
IU East $8,718
-
MBC $17,810
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
IU East $8,096
-
MBC $28,135
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
IU East 83%
-
MBC 99%
-
-
-
Admissions
- IU East
- MBC
- Applied
-
IU East 2,035
-
MBC -
-
-
- Admitted
-
IU East 1,368
-
MBC -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
IU East 67.2%
-
MBC
-
-
- Enrolled
-
IU East 29.2%
-
MBC
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
IU East 1070
-
MBC 1030
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
IU East 21
-
MBC 21
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
IU East 3.41
-
MBC 3.57
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
IU East B+
-
MBC A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
IU East Very Easy
-
MBC Very Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
IU East Low
-
MBC
-
-
- ACT Range
-
IU East 19/24
-
MBC 18/24
-
-
- SAT Range
-
IU East 960/1170
-
MBC 940/1120
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
IU East Test optional
-
MBC Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
IU East Aug 18, 2027
-
MBC
-
-
-
Academics
- IU East
- MBC
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
IU East 15:1
-
MBC 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
IU East
- Business (32%)
- Health Professions (18%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (8%)
- General Studies (8%)
- Human Services (7%)
-
MBC
- Social Sciences (18%)
- Business (18%)
- Psychology (15%)
- History (14%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- IU East
- MBC
- Graduation Rate
-
IU East 19%
-
MBC 49%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
IU East $32,900
-
MBC $38,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
IU East 40%
-
MBC 53%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
IU East $20,500
-
MBC $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
IU East $211
-
MBC $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- IU East
- MBC
- % Men
-
IU East 34%
-
MBC 24%
-
-
- % Women
-
IU East 66%
-
MBC 76%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
IU East Very Low
-
MBC Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
IU East No
-
MBC No
-
-
- % White
-
IU East 87%
-
MBC 58%
-
-
- % Asian
-
IU East 1%
-
MBC 2%
-
-
- % Black
-
IU East 4%
-
MBC 23%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
IU East 3%
-
MBC 6%
-
-
- % Native American
-
IU East 0%
-
MBC 1%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
IU East 0%
-
MBC 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
IU East 3%
-
MBC 4%
-
-
- % International
-
IU East 1%
-
MBC 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
IU East 2%
-
MBC 5%
-
-
-
Students
- IU East
- MBC
- % In-State
-
IU East 76%
-
MBC 75%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
IU East 22%
-
MBC 24%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Indiana University East in Richmond, IN with Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Indiana University East is larger than MBC based on total student enrollment (3,203 students vs. 1,772 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Indiana University East is located in Richmond, IN (Rural Fringe setting); Mary Baldwin University is in Staunton, VA (Distant Town setting).
- Indiana University East is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Mary Baldwin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Indiana University East 15:1; Mary Baldwin University 15:1.
IU East vs. MBC Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, IU East or MBC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Indiana University East than MBC ($8,718 vs. $17,810).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Indiana University East are 3.8% lower than at Mary Baldwin University ($10,972 vs. $11,411).
- Mary Baldwin University is 305.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than IU East (about $25,728 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $8,424.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 49.7% higher at MBC than at Indiana University East (about $11,341 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $22,811.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Mary Baldwin University than at Indiana University East (99% vs. 83%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Mary Baldwin University students is 247.5% larger than aid received by Indiana University East students ($28,135 vs. $8,096).
IU East vs. MBC Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, IU East or MBC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MBC and IU East.
- The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Indiana University East (1070) is 40 points higher than at MBC (1030).
- Incoming IU East students have the same typical ACT composite (median estimate; 21) as students at MBC (21).
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Indiana University East 960/1170; Mary Baldwin University 940/1120.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Indiana University East 19/24; Mary Baldwin University 18/24.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: IU East - Test optional; MBC - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: IU East Aug 18, 2027.
- Accepted freshman MBC students have a 0.16 point higher average high school GPA (3.57) than students at IU East (3.41).
IU East vs. MBC Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for IU East and MBC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Mary Baldwin University's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than Indiana University East's (19%).
- Graduates from Mary Baldwin University earn a median of about $5,500 more per year than IU East graduates about ten years after starting college ($38,400 vs. $32,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Indiana University East graduates have a $6,500 lower median loan debt than MBC graduates ($20,500 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, IU East graduates have an estimated $68 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MBC graduates ($211 vs. $279).
- More MBC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former IU East students, three years after graduation. (53% vs. 40%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.