Henderson State University vs. Ozarks

Deciding between Henderson State University and University of the Ozarks? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Henderson State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Henderson State University Arkadelphia, AR
  • Ozarks Clarksville, AR
  • Setting
  • Henderson State University Distant Town
  • Ozarks Remote Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Henderson State University 2,055
  • Ozarks 778
  • Type
  • Henderson State University Public 4 Year
  • Ozarks Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Henderson State University #1024
  • Ozarks
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Henderson State University -
  • Ozarks Presbyterian Church (USA)
  • Status
  • Henderson State University Non-profit
  • Ozarks Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Henderson State University
  • Ozarks
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Henderson State University $8,244
  • Ozarks $25,950
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Henderson State University $10,620
  • Ozarks $25,950
  • Room & Board
  • Henderson State University $10,000
  • Ozarks $9,603
  • Average Net Price
  • Henderson State University $20,444
  • Ozarks $20,088
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Henderson State University $7,867
  • Ozarks $18,783
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Henderson State University 98%
  • Ozarks 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Henderson State University -
  • Ozarks 2,230
  • Admitted
  • Henderson State University -
  • Ozarks 1,327
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Henderson State University
  • Ozarks 59.5%
  • Enrolled
  • Henderson State University
  • Ozarks 15.7%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Henderson State University 990
  • Ozarks 1090
  • Typical ACT score
  • Henderson State University 18
  • Ozarks 22
  • Average High School GPA
  • Henderson State University 3.23
  • Ozarks 3.38
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Henderson State University B+
  • Ozarks B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Henderson State University Extremely Easy
  • Ozarks Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Henderson State University
  • Ozarks Low
  • ACT Range
  • Henderson State University 16/21
  • Ozarks 20/25
  • SAT Range
  • Henderson State University 903/1073
  • Ozarks 1020/1160
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Henderson State University Not reported
  • Ozarks Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Henderson State University Jul 15, 2027
  • Ozarks
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Henderson State University 14:1
  • Ozarks 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Henderson State University
    • Education (19%)
    • Business (17%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (11%)
    • Psychology (8%)
    • Biology (6%)
  • Ozarks
    • Business (37%)
    • Education (16%)
    • Biology (10%)
    • Social Sciences (10%)
    • Communication (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Henderson State University 31%
  • Ozarks 46%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Henderson State University $38,400
  • Ozarks $42,200
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Henderson State University 48%
  • Ozarks 59%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Henderson State University $19,500
  • Ozarks $22,540
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Henderson State University $201
  • Ozarks $233
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Henderson State University 41%
  • Ozarks 44%
  • % Women
  • Henderson State University 59%
  • Ozarks 56%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Henderson State University Medium
  • Ozarks Medium
  • HBCU
  • Henderson State University No
  • Ozarks No
  • % White
  • Henderson State University 66%
  • Ozarks 66%
  • % Asian
  • Henderson State University 1%
  • Ozarks 0%
  • % Black
  • Henderson State University 24%
  • Ozarks 6%
  • % Hispanic
  • Henderson State University 4%
  • Ozarks 10%
  • % Native American
  • Henderson State University 0%
  • Ozarks 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Henderson State University 0%
  • Ozarks 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Henderson State University 4%
  • Ozarks 4%
  • % International
  • Henderson State University 1%
  • Ozarks 12%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Henderson State University 0%
  • Ozarks 1%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Henderson State University 74%
  • Ozarks 44%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Henderson State University 23%
  • Ozarks 41%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Henderson State University Yes
  • Ozarks Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Henderson State University No
  • Ozarks No
  • Meal Plan
  • Henderson State University Yes
  • Ozarks Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Henderson State University No
  • Ozarks No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Henderson State University No
  • Ozarks No

Comparable Facts

Compare Henderson State University in Arkadelphia, AR with University of the Ozarks in Clarksville, AR on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Henderson State University is larger than Ozarks based on total student enrollment (2,055 students vs. 778 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Henderson State University is located in Arkadelphia, AR (Distant Town setting); University of the Ozarks is in Clarksville, AR (Remote Town setting).
  • Henderson State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. University of the Ozarks is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Henderson State University 14:1; University of the Ozarks 14:1.

Henderson State University vs. Ozarks Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Henderson State University or Ozarks? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at University of the Ozarks than Henderson State University ($20,088 vs. $20,444).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at University of the Ozarks are 4% lower than at Henderson State University ($9,603 vs. $10,000).
  • University of the Ozarks is 214.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than Henderson State University (about $17,706 more per year; $25,950.00 vs. $8,244.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 144.4% higher at Ozarks than at Henderson State University (about $15,330 more per year; $25,950.00 vs. $10,620.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of the Ozarks than at Henderson State University (100% vs. 98%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by University of the Ozarks students is 138.8% larger than aid received by Henderson State University students ($18,783 vs. $7,867).

Henderson State University vs. Ozarks Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Henderson State University or Ozarks? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Ozarks and Henderson State University.

  • The typical SAT score (midpoint estimate) at University of the Ozarks (1090) is 100 points higher than at Henderson State University (990).
  • Incoming Ozarks students have a 4 point higher typical ACT composite (midpoint estimate) (22 vs. 18 at Henderson State University).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Henderson State University 903/1073; University of the Ozarks 1020/1160.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Henderson State University 16/21; University of the Ozarks 20/25.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Henderson State University - Not reported; Ozarks - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Henderson State University Jul 15, 2027.
  • Enrolled freshman Ozarks students have a 0.15 point higher average high school GPA (3.38) than students at Henderson State University (3.23).

Henderson State University vs. Ozarks Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Henderson State University and Ozarks? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • University of the Ozarks's six-year graduation rate (46%) is higher than Henderson State University's (31%).
  • Graduates from University of the Ozarks earn a median of about $3,800 more per year than Henderson State University graduates about ten years after starting college ($42,200 vs. $38,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Henderson State University graduates have a $3,040 lower median loan debt than Ozarks graduates ($19,500 vs. $22,540).
  • Among borrowers, Henderson State University graduates have an estimated $32 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Ozarks graduates ($201 vs. $233).
  • More Ozarks graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Henderson State University students, three years after graduation. (59% vs. 48%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.