HACC vs. Fortis Institute-Scranton

Deciding between Harrisburg Area Community College and Fortis Institute Scranton? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • HACC Harrisburg, PA
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Scranton, PA
  • Setting
  • HACC Small City
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • HACC 12,585
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 372
  • Type
  • HACC Public 2 Year
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Private 2 Year
  • National Ranking
  • HACC
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Religious Affiliation
  • HACC -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Status
  • HACC Non-profit
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton For-profit
  • Team Colors
  • HACC
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • HACC $6,975
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $15,348
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • HACC $12,472
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $15,348
  • Room & Board
  • HACC $11,024
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $11,475
  • Average Net Price
  • HACC $12,059
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $20,176
  • Average Grant Aid
  • HACC $6,230
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $9,859
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • HACC 58%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 86%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • HACC -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Admitted
  • HACC -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • HACC Open
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Enrolled
  • HACC Open
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Typical SAT score
  • HACC
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Typical ACT score
  • HACC
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Average High School GPA
  • HACC -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • HACC -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Admissions Standards
  • HACC Unavailable
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • HACC
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • ACT Range
  • HACC
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • SAT Range
  • HACC
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Submit Test Scores
  • HACC Open admission
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • HACC
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • HACC 13:1
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • HACC
    • Health Professions (27%)
    • Business (21%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (9%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
    • Education (5%)
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton
    • Health Professions (96%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (4%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • HACC -
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • HACC $36,200
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $22,600
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • HACC 42%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 30%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • HACC $19,662
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $14,624
  • Median Loan Payment
  • HACC $203
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton $151
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • HACC 34%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 29%
  • % Women
  • HACC 66%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 71%
  • Racial Diversity
  • HACC Medium
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Medium
  • HBCU
  • HACC No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • % White
  • HACC 68%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 74%
  • % Asian
  • HACC 3%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 1%
  • % Black
  • HACC 12%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 14%
  • % Hispanic
  • HACC 10%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 11%
  • % Native American
  • HACC 0%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • HACC 0%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • HACC 3%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • % International
  • HACC 2%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • HACC 2%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • HACC 97%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 100%
  • % Out-of-State
  • HACC 1%
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton 0%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • HACC No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • HACC No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • Meal Plan
  • HACC No
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • HACC Yes
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • HACC Yes
  • Fortis Institute-Scranton No

Comparable Facts

Compare Harrisburg Area Community College in Harrisburg, PA with Fortis Institute Scranton in Scranton, PA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Harrisburg Area Community College is larger than Fortis Institute-Scranton based on total student enrollment (12,585 students vs. 372 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Harrisburg Area Community College is located in Harrisburg, PA (Small City setting); Fortis Institute Scranton is in Scranton, PA (Small City setting).
  • Harrisburg Area Community College is a public, non-profit 2-year institution. Fortis Institute Scranton is a private, for-profit 2-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Harrisburg Area Community College 13:1; Fortis Institute Scranton 15:1.

HACC vs. Fortis Institute-Scranton Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, HACC or Fortis Institute-Scranton? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Harrisburg Area Community College than Fortis Institute-Scranton ($12,059 vs. $20,176).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Harrisburg Area Community College are 3.9% lower than at Fortis Institute Scranton ($11,024 vs. $11,475).
  • Fortis Institute Scranton is 61.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than HACC (about $5,853 more per year; $15,348.00 vs. $9,495.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 23.1% higher at Fortis Institute-Scranton than at Harrisburg Area Community College (about $2,876 more per year; $15,348.00 vs. $12,472.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Fortis Institute Scranton than at Harrisburg Area Community College (86% vs. 58%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Fortis Institute Scranton students is 58.3% larger than aid received by Harrisburg Area Community College students ($9,859 vs. $6,230).

HACC vs. Fortis Institute-Scranton Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, HACC or Fortis Institute-Scranton? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Fortis Institute-Scranton and HACC.

  • Harrisburg Area Community College reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: HACC - Open admission; Fortis Institute-Scranton - Not reported.

HACC vs. Fortis Institute-Scranton Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for HACC and Fortis Institute-Scranton? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Harrisburg Area Community College earn a median of about $13,600 more per year than Fortis Institute-Scranton graduates about ten years after starting college ($36,200 vs. $22,600), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Fortis Institute Scranton graduates have a $5,038 lower median loan debt than HACC graduates ($14,624 vs. $19,662).
  • Among borrowers, Fortis Institute-Scranton graduates have an estimated $52 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than HACC graduates ($151 vs. $203).
  • More HACC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Fortis Institute-Scranton students, three years after graduation. (42% vs. 30%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.