GCU vs. Bethesda University

Deciding between Grand Canyon University and Bethesda University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Grand Canyon University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • GCU Phoenix, AZ
  • Bethesda University Anaheim, CA
  • Setting
  • GCU Large City
  • Bethesda University Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • GCU 113,257
  • Bethesda University 263
  • Type
  • GCU Private 4 Year
  • Bethesda University Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • GCU
  • Bethesda University
  • Religious Affiliation
  • GCU -
  • Bethesda University Other (none of the above)
  • Status
  • GCU For-profit
  • Bethesda University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • GCU
  • Bethesda University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • GCU $17,850
  • Bethesda University $7,220
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • GCU $17,850
  • Bethesda University $7,220
  • Room & Board
  • GCU $11,700
  • Bethesda University $14,515
  • Average Net Price
  • GCU $22,928
  • Bethesda University $20,099
  • Average Grant Aid
  • GCU $9,861
  • Bethesda University $2,343
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • GCU 96%
  • Bethesda University 44%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • GCU 51,203
  • Bethesda University -
  • Admitted
  • GCU 40,405
  • Bethesda University -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • GCU 78.9%
  • Bethesda University
  • Enrolled
  • GCU 18.1%
  • Bethesda University
  • Typical SAT score
  • GCU 1060
  • Bethesda University
  • Typical ACT score
  • GCU 21
  • Bethesda University
  • Average High School GPA
  • GCU -
  • Bethesda University -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • GCU -
  • Bethesda University -
  • Admissions Standards
  • GCU Unavailable
  • Bethesda University Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • GCU
  • Bethesda University
  • ACT Range
  • GCU 20/22
  • Bethesda University
  • SAT Range
  • GCU 1006/1113
  • Bethesda University
  • Submit Test Scores
  • GCU Test optional
  • Bethesda University Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • GCU
  • Bethesda University Aug 11, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • GCU 20:1
  • Bethesda University 7:1
  • Popular Majors
  • GCU
    • Health Professions (56%)
    • Business (16%)
    • Education (13%)
    • Psychology (4%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (2%)
  • Bethesda University
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (62%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (24%)
    • Education (14%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • GCU 31%
  • Bethesda University 34%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • GCU $54,300
  • Bethesda University N/A
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • GCU 32%
  • Bethesda University 53%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • GCU $18,750
  • Bethesda University N/A
  • Median Loan Payment
  • GCU $193
  • Bethesda University N/A
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • GCU 27%
  • Bethesda University 71%
  • % Women
  • GCU 73%
  • Bethesda University 29%
  • Racial Diversity
  • GCU High
  • Bethesda University Very High
  • HBCU
  • GCU No
  • Bethesda University No
  • % White
  • GCU 48%
  • Bethesda University 8%
  • % Asian
  • GCU 4%
  • Bethesda University 12%
  • % Black
  • GCU 18%
  • Bethesda University 19%
  • % Hispanic
  • GCU 19%
  • Bethesda University 18%
  • % Native American
  • GCU 1%
  • Bethesda University 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • GCU 1%
  • Bethesda University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • GCU 3%
  • Bethesda University 0%
  • % International
  • GCU 0%
  • Bethesda University 38%
  • % Unknown Race
  • GCU 6%
  • Bethesda University 6%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • GCU 28%
  • Bethesda University 24%
  • % Out-of-State
  • GCU 72%
  • Bethesda University 7%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • GCU Yes
  • Bethesda University No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • GCU No
  • Bethesda University No
  • Meal Plan
  • GCU Yes
  • Bethesda University No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • GCU Yes
  • Bethesda University No
  • Daycare Facility
  • GCU Yes
  • Bethesda University No

Comparable Facts

Compare Grand Canyon University in Phoenix, AZ with Bethesda University in Anaheim, CA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Grand Canyon University is larger than Bethesda University based on total student enrollment (113,257 students vs. 263 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Grand Canyon University is located in Phoenix, AZ (Large City setting); Bethesda University is in Anaheim, CA (Large City setting).
  • Grand Canyon University is a private, for-profit 4-year institution. Bethesda University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Grand Canyon University 20:1; Bethesda University 7:1.

GCU vs. Bethesda University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, GCU or Bethesda University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Bethesda University than GCU ($20,099 vs. $22,928).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Grand Canyon University are 19.4% lower than at Bethesda University ($11,700 vs. $14,515).
  • Grand Canyon University is 147.2% more expensive for in-state tuition than Bethesda University (about $10,630 more per year; $17,850.00 vs. $7,220.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 147.2% higher at GCU than at Bethesda University (about $10,630 more per year; $17,850.00 vs. $7,220.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Grand Canyon University than at Bethesda University (96% vs. 44%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Grand Canyon University students is 320.9% larger than aid received by Bethesda University students ($9,861 vs. $2,343).

GCU vs. Bethesda University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, GCU or Bethesda University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Bethesda University and GCU.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Grand Canyon University 1006/1113.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Grand Canyon University 20/22.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: GCU - Test optional; Bethesda University - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Bethesda University Aug 11, 2027.

GCU vs. Bethesda University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for GCU and Bethesda University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Bethesda University's six-year graduation rate (34%) is higher than Grand Canyon University's (31%).
  • More Bethesda University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former GCU students, three years after graduation. (53% vs. 32%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.