GSU vs. Walsh

Deciding between Governors State University and Walsh College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • GSU University Park, IL
  • Walsh Troy, MI
  • Setting
  • GSU Rural Fringe
  • Walsh Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • GSU 4,397
  • Walsh 908
  • Type
  • GSU Public 4 Year
  • Walsh Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • GSU
  • Walsh
  • Religious Affiliation
  • GSU -
  • Walsh -
  • Status
  • GSU Non-profit
  • Walsh Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • GSU
  • Walsh
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • GSU $12,004
  • Walsh $0
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • GSU $12,004
  • Walsh $0
  • Room & Board
  • GSU $11,736
  • Walsh $0
  • Average Net Price
  • GSU $12,756
  • Walsh -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • GSU $11,455
  • Walsh $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • GSU 81%
  • Walsh 0%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • GSU 2,944
  • Walsh -
  • Admitted
  • GSU 1,421
  • Walsh -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • GSU 48.3%
  • Walsh
  • Enrolled
  • GSU 16.8%
  • Walsh
  • Typical SAT score
  • GSU 950
  • Walsh
  • Typical ACT score
  • GSU
  • Walsh
  • Average High School GPA
  • GSU 4.0
  • Walsh -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • GSU A/A+
  • Walsh -
  • Admissions Standards
  • GSU Extremely Easy
  • Walsh Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • GSU Low
  • Walsh
  • ACT Range
  • GSU
  • Walsh
  • SAT Range
  • GSU 830/1060
  • Walsh
  • Submit Test Scores
  • GSU Test optional
  • Walsh Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • GSU Apr 1, 2027
  • Walsh
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • GSU 11:1
  • Walsh 12:1
  • Popular Majors
  • GSU
  • Walsh
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • GSU -
  • Walsh -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • GSU $42,600
  • Walsh $57,800
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • GSU 48%
  • Walsh 65%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • GSU $17,250
  • Walsh $15,832
  • Median Loan Payment
  • GSU $178
  • Walsh $163
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • GSU 36%
  • Walsh 48%
  • % Women
  • GSU 64%
  • Walsh 52%
  • Racial Diversity
  • GSU High
  • Walsh Very Low
  • HBCU
  • GSU No
  • Walsh No
  • % White
  • GSU 36%
  • Walsh 83%
  • % Asian
  • GSU 1%
  • Walsh 3%
  • % Black
  • GSU 38%
  • Walsh 6%
  • % Hispanic
  • GSU 11%
  • Walsh 2%
  • % Native American
  • GSU 0%
  • Walsh 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • GSU 0%
  • Walsh 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • GSU 2%
  • Walsh 1%
  • % International
  • GSU 1%
  • Walsh 3%
  • % Unknown Race
  • GSU 9%
  • Walsh 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • GSU 95%
  • Walsh -
  • % Out-of-State
  • GSU 3%
  • Walsh -
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • GSU Yes
  • Walsh No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • GSU
  • Walsh
  • Meal Plan
  • GSU Yes
  • Walsh No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • GSU Yes
  • Walsh Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • GSU
  • Walsh

Comparable Facts

Compare Governors State University in University Park, IL with Walsh College in Troy, MI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Governors State University is larger than Walsh based on total student enrollment (4,397 students vs. 908 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Governors State University is located in University Park, IL (Rural Fringe setting); Walsh College is in Troy, MI (Small City setting).
  • Governors State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Walsh College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Governors State University 11:1; Walsh College 12:1.

GSU vs. Walsh Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, GSU or Walsh? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Governors State University and Walsh ($12,004.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between GSU and Walsh College ($12,004.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Governors State University than at Walsh College (81% vs. 0%).

GSU vs. Walsh Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, GSU or Walsh? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Walsh and GSU.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Governors State University 830/1060.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: GSU - Test optional; Walsh - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: GSU Apr 1, 2027.

GSU vs. Walsh Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for GSU and Walsh? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Walsh College earn a median of about $15,200 more per year than GSU graduates about ten years after starting college ($57,800 vs. $42,600), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Walsh College graduates have a $1,418 lower median loan debt than GSU graduates ($15,832 vs. $17,250).
  • Among borrowers, Walsh graduates have an estimated $15 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than GSU graduates ($163 vs. $178).
  • More Walsh graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former GSU students, three years after graduation. (65% vs. 48%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.