Golden Gate University vs. Columbia College

Deciding between Golden Gate University and Columbia College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Golden Gate University San Francisco, CA
  • Columbia College Columbia, MO
  • Setting
  • Golden Gate University Large City
  • Columbia College Midsize City
  • Total enrollment
  • Golden Gate University 3,098
  • Columbia College 5,689
  • Type
  • Golden Gate University Private 4 Year
  • Columbia College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
  • Status
  • Golden Gate University Non-profit
  • Columbia College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Golden Gate University $30,988
  • Columbia College $25,826
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Golden Gate University $30,988
  • Columbia College $25,826
  • Room & Board
  • Golden Gate University $13,200
  • Columbia College $9,552
  • Average Net Price
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College $21,530
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Golden Gate University $0
  • Columbia College $15,882
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Golden Gate University 0%
  • Columbia College 91%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College -
  • Admitted
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College Open
  • Enrolled
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College Open
  • Typical SAT score
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
  • Typical ACT score
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
  • Average High School GPA
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College 3.59
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Golden Gate University Unavailable
  • Columbia College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
  • ACT Range
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
  • SAT Range
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Golden Gate University Not reported
  • Columbia College Open admission
  • Application Deadline
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Golden Gate University 7:1
  • Columbia College 20:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College
    • Business (42%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (29%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (9%)
    • Psychology (7%)
    • Human Services (4%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College 39%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Golden Gate University $76,400
  • Columbia College $41,800
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Golden Gate University 57%
  • Columbia College 40%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Golden Gate University $29,839
  • Columbia College $22,034
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Golden Gate University $308
  • Columbia College $227
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Golden Gate University 53%
  • Columbia College 41%
  • % Women
  • Golden Gate University 47%
  • Columbia College 59%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Golden Gate University Very High
  • Columbia College High
  • HBCU
  • Golden Gate University No
  • Columbia College No
  • % White
  • Golden Gate University 25%
  • Columbia College 55%
  • % Asian
  • Golden Gate University 15%
  • Columbia College 1%
  • % Black
  • Golden Gate University 8%
  • Columbia College 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • Golden Gate University 18%
  • Columbia College 8%
  • % Native American
  • Golden Gate University 0%
  • Columbia College 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Golden Gate University 4%
  • Columbia College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Golden Gate University 3%
  • Columbia College 3%
  • % International
  • Golden Gate University 4%
  • Columbia College 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Golden Gate University 22%
  • Columbia College 5%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College 63%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Golden Gate University -
  • Columbia College 37%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Golden Gate University No
  • Columbia College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College No
  • Meal Plan
  • Golden Gate University No
  • Columbia College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Golden Gate University Yes
  • Columbia College Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Golden Gate University
  • Columbia College No

Comparable Facts

Compare Golden Gate University in San Francisco, CA with Columbia College in Columbia, MO on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Columbia College is larger than Golden Gate University based on total student enrollment (5,689 students vs. 3,098 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Golden Gate University is located in San Francisco, CA (Large City setting); Columbia College is in Columbia, MO (Midsize City setting).
  • Golden Gate University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Columbia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Golden Gate University 7:1; Columbia College 20:1.

Golden Gate University vs. Columbia College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Golden Gate University or Columbia College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Columbia College are 27.6% lower than at Golden Gate University ($9,552 vs. $13,200).
  • Golden Gate University is 20% more expensive for in-state tuition than Columbia College (about $5,162 more per year; $30,988.00 vs. $25,826.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 20% higher at Golden Gate University than at Columbia College (about $5,162 more per year; $30,988.00 vs. $25,826.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Columbia College than at Golden Gate University (91% vs. 0%).

Golden Gate University vs. Columbia College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Golden Gate University or Columbia College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Columbia College and Golden Gate University.

  • Columbia College reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Golden Gate University - Not reported; Columbia College - Open admission.

Golden Gate University vs. Columbia College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Golden Gate University and Columbia College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Golden Gate University earn a median of about $34,600 more per year than Columbia College graduates about ten years after starting college ($76,400 vs. $41,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Columbia College graduates have a $7,805 lower median loan debt than Golden Gate University graduates ($22,034 vs. $29,839).
  • Among borrowers, Columbia College graduates have an estimated $81 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Golden Gate University graduates ($227 vs. $308).
  • More Golden Gate University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Columbia College students, three years after graduation. (57% vs. 40%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.