Glenville State University vs. Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
Deciding between Glenville State University and Johnson & Wales University Charlotte? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Glenville State University
Johnson & Wales University Charlotte
-
Overview
- Glenville State University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Location
-
Glenville State University Glenville, WV
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Charlotte, NC
-
-
- Setting
-
Glenville State University Remote Rural
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Large City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Glenville State University 1,765
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 1,184
-
-
- Type
-
Glenville State University Public 4 Year
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte #806
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Glenville State University -
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte -
-
-
- Status
-
Glenville State University Non-profit
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Glenville State University glenville.edu
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte jwu.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
-
-
-
Cost
- Glenville State University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Tuition (In State)
-
Glenville State University $9,578
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $42,419
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Glenville State University $11,354
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $42,419
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Glenville State University $13,386
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $14,800
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Glenville State University $13,798
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $28,084
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Glenville State University $9,496
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $30,033
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Glenville State University 96%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Glenville State University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Admission Chances
-
Glenville State University Calculate
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Calculate
-
-
- Applied
-
Glenville State University -
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 4,105
-
-
- Admitted
-
Glenville State University -
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 3,279
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 79.9%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 13.7%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 1010
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 19
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Glenville State University 3.3
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte -
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Glenville State University B+
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte -
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Glenville State University Unavailable
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 16/23
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 880/1130
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Glenville State University Not reported
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Glenville State University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
-
-
-
Academics
- Glenville State University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Glenville State University 13:1
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 14:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Glenville State University
- Education (29%)
- Business (23%)
- Social Sciences (15%)
- Natural Resources Conservation (13%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (9%)
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Personal and Culinary Services (59%)
- Work and Family Studies (20%)
- Business (17%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (4%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Glenville State University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Graduation Rate
-
Glenville State University 31%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 49%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Glenville State University $34,900
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $40,100
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Glenville State University 36%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 66%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Glenville State University $24,025
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $26,900
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Glenville State University $248
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $278
-
-
-
Diversity
- Glenville State University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- % Men
-
Glenville State University 47%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 35%
-
-
- % Women
-
Glenville State University 53%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 65%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Glenville State University Low
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Glenville State University No
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte No
-
-
- % White
-
Glenville State University 68%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 43%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Glenville State University 1%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Glenville State University 19%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 37%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Glenville State University 2%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 6%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Glenville State University 0%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Glenville State University 0%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Glenville State University 1%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 7%
-
-
- % International
-
Glenville State University 0%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Glenville State University 10%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 5%
-
-
-
Students
- Glenville State University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- % In-State
-
Glenville State University 81%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 34%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Glenville State University 14%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 66%
-
-
-
Campus
- Glenville State University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Campus Housing
-
Glenville State University Yes
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Glenville State University No
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Glenville State University Yes
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Glenville State University No
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Glenville State University No
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Glenville State University in Glenville, WV with Johnson & Wales University Charlotte in Charlotte, NC on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Glenville State University is larger than Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte based on total student enrollment (1,765 students vs. 1,184 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Glenville State University is located in Glenville, WV (Remote Rural setting); Johnson & Wales University Charlotte is in Charlotte, NC (Large City setting).
- Glenville State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Johnson & Wales University Charlotte is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Glenville State University 13:1; Johnson & Wales University Charlotte 14:1.
Glenville State University vs. Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Glenville State University or Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Glenville State University than Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte ($13,798 vs. $28,084).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Glenville State University are 9.6% lower than at Johnson & Wales University Charlotte ($13,386 vs. $14,800).
- Johnson & Wales University Charlotte is 342.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Glenville State University (about $32,841 more per year; $42,419.00 vs. $9,578.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 273.6% higher at Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte than at Glenville State University (about $31,065 more per year; $42,419.00 vs. $11,354.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Johnson & Wales University Charlotte than at Glenville State University (100% vs. 96%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Johnson & Wales University Charlotte students is 216.3% larger than aid received by Glenville State University students ($30,033 vs. $9,496).
Glenville State University vs. Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Glenville State University or Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte and Glenville State University.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsJohnson & Wales University Charlotte 880/1130.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsJohnson & Wales University Charlotte 16/23.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Glenville State University - Not reported; Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte - Test optional.
Glenville State University vs. Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Glenville State University and Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Johnson & Wales University Charlotte's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than Glenville State University's (31%).
- Graduates from Johnson & Wales University Charlotte earn a median of about $5,200 more per year than Glenville State University graduates about ten years after starting college ($40,100 vs. $34,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Glenville State University graduates have a $2,875 lower median loan debt than Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte graduates ($24,025 vs. $26,900).
- Among borrowers, Glenville State University graduates have an estimated $30 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte graduates ($248 vs. $278).
- More Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Glenville State University students, three years after graduation. (66% vs. 36%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.