Frostburg State University vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore

Deciding between Frostburg State University and University of Maryland, Baltimore? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frostburg State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Frostburg State University Frostburg, MD
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Baltimore, MD
  • Setting
  • Frostburg State University Small Suburban
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • Frostburg State University 4,104
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 6,636
  • Type
  • Frostburg State University Public 4 Year
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Frostburg State University #693
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Frostburg State University -
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Status
  • Frostburg State University Non-profit
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Frostburg State University
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Admission Chances
  • Frostburg State University My Chances
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore My Chances
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Frostburg State University $10,220
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Frostburg State University $25,814
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Room & Board
  • Frostburg State University $12,932
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Average Net Price
  • Frostburg State University $17,669
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Frostburg State University $10,445
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Frostburg State University 94%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • Admissions

  • Admission Chances
  • Frostburg State University My Chances
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore My Chances
  • Applied
  • Frostburg State University 5,037
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Admitted
  • Frostburg State University 4,492
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Frostburg State University 89.2%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Enrolled
  • Frostburg State University 13.4%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Typical SAT score
  • Frostburg State University 1090
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Typical ACT score
  • Frostburg State University 21
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Average High School GPA
  • Frostburg State University 3.5
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Frostburg State University A-
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Admissions Standards
  • Frostburg State University Easy
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Frostburg State University
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • ACT Range
  • Frostburg State University 17/25
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • SAT Range
  • Frostburg State University 980/1200
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Frostburg State University Test optional
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Frostburg State University Feb 15, 2027
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Frostburg State University 13:1
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Frostburg State University
    • Business (16%)
    • Psychology (11%)
    • Education (11%)
    • Social Sciences (9%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Frostburg State University 45%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Frostburg State University $45,900
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $102,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Frostburg State University 59%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 85%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Frostburg State University $21,500
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $15,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Frostburg State University $222
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $155
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Frostburg State University 45%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 28%
  • % Women
  • Frostburg State University 55%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 72%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Frostburg State University High
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore High
  • HBCU
  • Frostburg State University No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • % White
  • Frostburg State University 55%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 56%
  • % Asian
  • Frostburg State University 2%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 13%
  • % Black
  • Frostburg State University 31%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 19%
  • % Hispanic
  • Frostburg State University 5%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5%
  • % Native American
  • Frostburg State University 0%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Frostburg State University 0%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Frostburg State University 4%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 3%
  • % International
  • Frostburg State University 1%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Frostburg State University 1%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Frostburg State University 83%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • % Out-of-State
  • Frostburg State University 16%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Frostburg State University Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Frostburg State University No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Meal Plan
  • Frostburg State University Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Frostburg State University No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Frostburg State University Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Learn More
  • Frostburg State University Details
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Frostburg State University in Frostburg, MD with University of Maryland, Baltimore in Baltimore, MD on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of Maryland, Baltimore is larger than Frostburg State University based on total student enrollment (6,636 students vs. 4,104 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Frostburg State University is located in Frostburg, MD (Small Suburban setting); University of Maryland, Baltimore is in Baltimore, MD (Large City setting).
  • Frostburg State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. University of Maryland, Baltimore is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Frostburg State University 13:1; University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1.

Frostburg State University vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Frostburg State University or University of Maryland, Baltimore? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Frostburg State University and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($10,220.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Frostburg State University and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($25,814.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Frostburg State University than at University of Maryland, Baltimore (94% vs. 0%).

Frostburg State University vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Frostburg State University or University of Maryland, Baltimore? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between University of Maryland, Baltimore and Frostburg State University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Frostburg State University 980/1200.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Frostburg State University 17/25.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Frostburg State University - Test optional; University of Maryland, Baltimore - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Frostburg State University Feb 15, 2027.

Frostburg State University vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Frostburg State University and University of Maryland, Baltimore? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Frostburg State University's six-year graduation rate is 45%. Comparable graduation rate data is not available for University of Maryland, Baltimore.
  • Graduates from University of Maryland, Baltimore earn a median of about $57,000 more per year than Frostburg State University graduates about ten years after starting college ($102,900 vs. $45,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have a $6,500 lower median loan debt than Frostburg State University graduates ($15,000 vs. $21,500).
  • Among borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have an estimated $67 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Frostburg State University graduates ($155 vs. $222).
  • More University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Frostburg State University students, three years after graduation. (85% vs. 59%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.