Fort Hays State University vs. SWOSU
Deciding between Fort Hays State University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Fort Hays State University
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
-
Overview
- Fort Hays State University
- SWOSU
- Location
-
Fort Hays State University Hays, KS
-
SWOSU Weatherford, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
Fort Hays State University Remote Town
-
SWOSU Remote Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Fort Hays State University 12,878
-
SWOSU 5,186
-
-
- Type
-
Fort Hays State University Public 4 Year
-
SWOSU Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Fort Hays State University #880
-
SWOSU #1040
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Fort Hays State University -
-
SWOSU -
-
-
- Status
-
Fort Hays State University Non-profit
-
SWOSU Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Fort Hays State University
-
SWOSU
-
-
-
Cost
- Fort Hays State University
- SWOSU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Fort Hays State University $5,923
-
SWOSU $8,469
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Fort Hays State University $17,741
-
SWOSU $8,499
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Fort Hays State University $9,120
-
SWOSU $7,634
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Fort Hays State University $13,186
-
SWOSU $14,410
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Fort Hays State University $6,751
-
SWOSU $8,906
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Fort Hays State University 92%
-
SWOSU 88%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Fort Hays State University
- SWOSU
- Applied
-
Fort Hays State University 2,619
-
SWOSU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Fort Hays State University 2,364
-
SWOSU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Fort Hays State University 90.3%
-
SWOSU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Fort Hays State University 41.8%
-
SWOSU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Fort Hays State University 1060
-
SWOSU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Fort Hays State University 21
-
SWOSU 20
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Fort Hays State University 3.45
-
SWOSU 3.53
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Fort Hays State University B+
-
SWOSU A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Fort Hays State University Very Easy
-
SWOSU Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Fort Hays State University
-
SWOSU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Fort Hays State University 18/24
-
SWOSU 18/23
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Fort Hays State University 970/1140
-
SWOSU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Fort Hays State University Test optional
-
SWOSU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Fort Hays State University
-
SWOSU
-
-
-
Academics
- Fort Hays State University
- SWOSU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Fort Hays State University 15:1
-
SWOSU 19:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Fort Hays State University
- Business (37%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (24%)
- Education (11%)
- Health Professions (7%)
- Computer and Information Sciences (4%)
-
SWOSU
- Health Professions (28%)
- Business (16%)
- Education (12%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (8%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (5%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Fort Hays State University
- SWOSU
- Graduation Rate
-
Fort Hays State University 40%
-
SWOSU 33%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Fort Hays State University $41,400
-
SWOSU $48,600
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Fort Hays State University 60%
-
SWOSU 54%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Fort Hays State University $20,718
-
SWOSU $15,687
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Fort Hays State University $214
-
SWOSU $162
-
-
-
Diversity
- Fort Hays State University
- SWOSU
- % Men
-
Fort Hays State University 37%
-
SWOSU 35%
-
-
- % Women
-
Fort Hays State University 63%
-
SWOSU 65%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Fort Hays State University High
-
SWOSU Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
Fort Hays State University No
-
SWOSU No
-
-
- % White
-
Fort Hays State University 57%
-
SWOSU 67%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Fort Hays State University 1%
-
SWOSU 2%
-
-
- % Black
-
Fort Hays State University 4%
-
SWOSU 5%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Fort Hays State University 7%
-
SWOSU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Fort Hays State University 0%
-
SWOSU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Fort Hays State University 0%
-
SWOSU 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Fort Hays State University 2%
-
SWOSU 7%
-
-
- % International
-
Fort Hays State University 29%
-
SWOSU 5%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Fort Hays State University 1%
-
SWOSU 2%
-
-
-
Students
- Fort Hays State University
- SWOSU
- % In-State
-
Fort Hays State University 83%
-
SWOSU 90%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Fort Hays State University 17%
-
SWOSU 7%
-
-
-
Campus
- Fort Hays State University
- SWOSU
- Campus Housing
-
Fort Hays State University Yes
-
SWOSU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Fort Hays State University No
-
SWOSU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Fort Hays State University Yes
-
SWOSU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Fort Hays State University No
-
SWOSU Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Fort Hays State University Yes
-
SWOSU No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Fort Hays State University in Hays, KS with Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Fort Hays State University is larger than SWOSU based on total student enrollment (12,878 students vs. 5,186 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Fort Hays State University is located in Hays, KS (Remote Town setting); Southwestern Oklahoma State University is in Weatherford, OK (Remote Town setting).
- Fort Hays State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Oklahoma State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Fort Hays State University 15:1; Southwestern Oklahoma State University 19:1.
Fort Hays State University vs. SWOSU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Fort Hays State University or SWOSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Fort Hays State University than SWOSU ($13,186 vs. $14,410).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Oklahoma State University are 16.3% lower than at Fort Hays State University ($7,634 vs. $9,120).
- Southwestern Oklahoma State University is 43% more expensive for in-state tuition than Fort Hays State University (about $2,546 more per year; $8,469.00 vs. $5,923.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 108.7% higher at Fort Hays State University than at Southwestern Oklahoma State University (about $9,242 more per year; $17,741.00 vs. $8,499.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Fort Hays State University than at Southwestern Oklahoma State University (92% vs. 88%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Oklahoma State University students is 31.9% larger than aid received by Fort Hays State University students ($8,906 vs. $6,751).
Fort Hays State University vs. SWOSU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Fort Hays State University or SWOSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SWOSU and Fort Hays State University.
- Incoming Fort Hays State University students have a 1 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (21 vs. 20 at SWOSU).
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Fort Hays State University 970/1140.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Fort Hays State University 18/24; Southwestern Oklahoma State University 18/23.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Fort Hays State University - Test optional; SWOSU - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman SWOSU students have a 0.08 point higher average high school GPA (3.53) than students at Fort Hays State University (3.45).
Fort Hays State University vs. SWOSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Fort Hays State University and SWOSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Fort Hays State University's six-year graduation rate (40%) is higher than Southwestern Oklahoma State University's (33%).
- Graduates from Southwestern Oklahoma State University earn a median of about $7,200 more per year than Fort Hays State University graduates about ten years after starting college ($48,600 vs. $41,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Oklahoma State University graduates have a $5,031 lower median loan debt than Fort Hays State University graduates ($15,687 vs. $20,718).
- Among borrowers, SWOSU graduates have an estimated $52 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Fort Hays State University graduates ($162 vs. $214).
- More Fort Hays State University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SWOSU students, three years after graduation. (60% vs. 54%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.